Dana Stabenow Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Dana Stabenow

Dana Stabenow

An interview with Dana Stabenow

In a short Q&A, Dana Stabenow discusses her Kate Shugak series and lists the things she wishes people knew about Alaska.

Why did you take a break from your series to write a thriller, and how does it feel to return to the Kate Shugak series?

To see if I could, to flex muscles between my ears that I didn’t even know were there. And because for research I got to go on patrol in the Bering Sea with the US Coast Guard. And after creating an entirely new world, it’s fun to go back and revisit the old one. What’s Kate getting up to now? What? What!

Can you discuss some of Kate's internal and external pressures/challenges in her community?

She’s being pushed to take a public place in the community, and she is an intensely private person. She’s not a person used to compromise, and compromise is what public governance is all about. It’s going to be interesting to see if she can succeed.

Are you anything like Kate? In what way?

She is an intensely private person. I’m like her in that. Otherwise, my mom’s friend Darlene says that Kate is me and my best friend Kathy “smooshed together” into one person. That’s about as close as anyone’s ever come to plucking out the heart of Kate’s mystery.

What do you wish people knew about Alaska, and the people who live there?

I wish they knew …

  • That it actually is a state; it’s been one since January 3, 1960.
  • That we are US citizens and you don’t need a visa to travel here.
  • That you can actually spend American money here.
  • That it isn’t dark and cold all year round.
  • That less than 10 percent is privately owned, that most of the rest of it is parks and refuges and wildernesses that belong to the American people and they should come visit it more often.
  • That a lot of us think the Ketchikan Bridge to Nowhere is just as dumb as they think it is,
  • That no one knows if there is a recoverable amount of crude oil under ANWR and we should find out before we start fighting over getting it out,
  • That yes, we do get a check from the state every year based on oil production from the North Slope but that not all of us think it’s such a good idea. Although nobody turns it down.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dana Stabenow at BookBrowse
Bad Blood jacket Restless in the Grave jacket Though Not Dead jacket A Night Too Dark jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dana Stabenow but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Nevada Barr

    Nevada Barr

    Nevada Barr is an award-winning novelist and New York Times best-selling author. She has a growing number of Anna Pigeon mysteries to her credit as well as numerous other books, short stories, and articles. She currently ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Deeper Sleep

    Try:
    Hunting Season
    by Nevada Barr

  • C.J. Box

    C.J. Box

    C. J. Box is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of 27 novels including the Joe Pickett series. He won the Edgar Alan Poe Award for Best Novel (Blue Heaven, 2009) as well as the Anthony Award, Prix Calibre 38 (France), ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Deeper Sleep

    Try:
    Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel
    by C.J. Box

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Final Revival of Opal & Nev
    The Final Revival of Opal & Nev
    by Dawnie Walton
    Within the general arc of many well-established and chronicled historical events is oral history's ...
  • Book Jacket: Monkey Boy
    Monkey Boy
    by Francisco Goldman
    Francisco Goldman's Monkey Boy exists in the liminal space between memoir and fiction. Like Goldman ...
  • Book Jacket: The Girl in His Shadow
    The Girl in His Shadow
    by Audrey Blake
    The Girl in His Shadow by Audrey Blake is a fast-paced historical novel set in Victorian-era England...
  • Book Jacket: Whereabouts
    Whereabouts
    by Jhumpa Lahiri
    Jhumpa Lahiri's Whereabouts has seen numerous comparisons to Second Place by Rachel Cusk. These two ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Book of Lost Names
by Kristin Harmel
A heartrending novel of survival, inspired by an astonishing true story from World War II.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Morningside Heights
    by Joshua Henkin

    A tender and big-hearted novel about love in the face of loss, from the award-winning author of The World Without You.

Who Said...

We have to abandon the idea that schooling is something restricted to youth...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

H I T Best P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.