Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

Dana Stabenow Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Dana Stabenow

Dana Stabenow

An interview with Dana Stabenow

In a short Q&A, Dana Stabenow discusses her Kate Shugak series and lists the things she wishes people knew about Alaska.

Why did you take a break from your series to write a thriller, and how does it feel to return to the Kate Shugak series?

To see if I could, to flex muscles between my ears that I didn’t even know were there. And because for research I got to go on patrol in the Bering Sea with the US Coast Guard. And after creating an entirely new world, it’s fun to go back and revisit the old one. What’s Kate getting up to now? What? What!

Can you discuss some of Kate's internal and external pressures/challenges in her community?

She’s being pushed to take a public place in the community, and she is an intensely private person. She’s not a person used to compromise, and compromise is what public governance is all about. It’s going to be interesting to see if she can succeed.

Are you anything like Kate? In what way?

She is an intensely private person. I’m like her in that. Otherwise, my mom’s friend Darlene says that Kate is me and my best friend Kathy “smooshed together” into one person. That’s about as close as anyone’s ever come to plucking out the heart of Kate’s mystery.

What do you wish people knew about Alaska, and the people who live there?

I wish they knew …

  • That it actually is a state; it’s been one since January 3, 1960.
  • That we are US citizens and you don’t need a visa to travel here.
  • That you can actually spend American money here.
  • That it isn’t dark and cold all year round.
  • That less than 10 percent is privately owned, that most of the rest of it is parks and refuges and wildernesses that belong to the American people and they should come visit it more often.
  • That a lot of us think the Ketchikan Bridge to Nowhere is just as dumb as they think it is,
  • That no one knows if there is a recoverable amount of crude oil under ANWR and we should find out before we start fighting over getting it out,
  • That yes, we do get a check from the state every year based on oil production from the North Slope but that not all of us think it’s such a good idea. Although nobody turns it down.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dana Stabenow at BookBrowse
Bad Blood jacket Restless in the Grave jacket Though Not Dead jacket A Night Too Dark jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Dana Stabenow but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Nevada Barr

    Nevada Barr

    Nevada Barr is an award-winning novelist and New York Times best-selling author. She has a growing number of Anna Pigeon mysteries to her credit as well as numerous other books, short stories, and articles. She currently ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Deeper Sleep

    Try:
    Hunting Season
    by Nevada Barr

  • C.J. Box

    C.J. Box

    C. J. Box is the author of thirty books, including the Joe Pickett series and the Cassie Dewell series, and a story collection. His books have been translated into twenty-seven languages. He has won the Edgar, Anthony, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Deeper Sleep

    Try:
    Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel
    by C.J. Box

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Another Word for Love
    Another Word for Love
    by Carvell Wallace
    "I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every...
  • Book Jacket
    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson
    Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred ...
  • Book Jacket: Craft
    Craft
    by Ananda Lima
    You may have heard about books that are letters to God, but what about books that are letters to the...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.