Charles Chadwick Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Charles Chadwick
© Robin Farquhar-Thompson

Charles Chadwick

An interview with Charles Chadwick

Charles Chadwick discusses his fascinating first novel It's All Right Now and reveals what he's working on now.

It's All Right Now is your first novel. How long did it take to write and what was your process? Do you feel your work would be less rich or different in some way if you had not maintained a full career?

Beginning in the early 70s, it was written over a period of about 30 years in four installments at about eight year intervals when I began wondering what might have happened to Ripple, what people he had met, how he might have changed. I had no choice but to follow a career. Unlike Ripple's, my life was mainly overseas. We have nothing in common in background or education, nor do any of the characters bear any resemblance to people I've known in real life. The connection between life and work is one I find it very difficult to make. Literature draws as much from literature itself as from life, I think.

The structure of the book is almost a non-structure -- undisciplined but highly effective. Can you discuss how you put this book together? How did you create this informal structure -- one with very little plot -- that perfectly suits the tone and voice of the narrator?

My aim was, very simply, truth to life. Lives do not have structures or plots -- these are mythic artifices. Ripple himself has thoughts about this. See page 671: fiction doesn't have to do justice to real people. He writes about his life as anyone might.

Have there been comparisons between Tom Ripple and other everyman characters? It would seem fair to compare Tom to Walter Mitty or Bartleby the scrivener. Were there any literary creations you looked to when forming Tom Ripple?

I began the book after reading Joseph Heller's Something Happened. The style and perspective of the book are apparent from that, though Ripple soon acquired a life of his own. I'd tried other (mainly third-person) approaches but it was Heller's book that set me off. There have been as many women as men who have liked the book, so I like to think Ripple speaks quite generally for all sorts of people. I tried to broaden his experience and the range of people he met to fill his life as much substance as possible.

Writing about his life is something Tom Ripple finds as a way to make sense of his life and other people's lives. How was your experience of writing this novel the same or different from Tom's?

This is a connection I find it hard to make. The book hasn't helped me to make sense of my life, but in doing it I might have discovered a little about how lives might develop and deepen and be made sense of (or not as the case may be).

You have written four other novels as well as short stories. Will we be seeing any of this work in the near future?

I have now just about finished a further part of the novel covering Ripple's last years. As before, I was curious to know what happened to him next and up to the end. Other work is being looked at.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Charles Chadwick at BookBrowse
It's All Right Now jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Charles Chadwick but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • William Boyd

    William Boyd

    William Boyd has received world-wide acclaim for his novels. They are: A Good Man in Africa (1981, winner of the Whitbread Award and the Somerset Maugham Prize) An Ice Cream War (1982, shortlisted for the 1982 Booker Prize ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    It's All Right Now

    Try:
    Any Human Heart
    by William Boyd

  • John Lanchester

    John Lanchester

    John Lanchester was born in Hamburg in 1962. He grew up in the Far East, but was educated in England. A former editor at the publishers Penguin, he is a member of the editorial board of the London Review of Books and is a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    It's All Right Now

    Try:
    Mr. Phillips
    by John Lanchester

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Whereabouts
    Whereabouts
    by Jhumpa Lahiri
    Jhumpa Lahiri's Whereabouts has seen numerous comparisons to Second Place by Rachel Cusk. These two ...
  • Book Jacket: Swimming Back to Trout River
    Swimming Back to Trout River
    by Linda Rui Feng
    Linda Rui Feng's first novel, Swimming Back to Trout River, is a powerful meditation on the ties ...
  • Book Jacket: The Unfit Heiress
    The Unfit Heiress
    by Audrey Farley
    During the American eugenics movement (see Beyond the Book), involuntary sterilization was used to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Daughters Of Smoke & Fire
    by Ava Homa
    Ava Homa's debut novel begins with an epigraph by Sherko Bekas, a Kurdish poet, the last lines of ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Book of Lost Names
by Kristin Harmel
A heartrending novel of survival, inspired by an astonishing true story from World War II.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ariadne
    by Jennifer Saint

    A mesmerizing debut novel about Ariadne, Princess of Crete for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe.

  • Book Jacket

    Everybody
    by Olivia Laing

    "Impassioned and provocative...[an] intensely moving, vital and artful book."
    —The Guardian

Who Said...

There is no worse robber than a bad book.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

H I T Best P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.