Dave King Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Dave King

Dave King

An interview with Dave King

Dave King explains the title of his first novel, The Ha-Ha, and why he chose to write about a character whose traumatic brain injury limits his communication with the world.

Probably the question most frequently asked of any author finishing a manuscript is where exactly did the book come from? In the case of The Ha-Ha, the question has two parts. The first part involves the origins of protagonist Howard Kapostash, a character whose traumatic brain injury limits his communication within the world of the book, though he speaks articulately and intimately to the reader, while the second part involves the genesis and significance of the ha-ha itself. I think that by answering each part individually I may illuminate the book's genesis.

Howard's most obvious antecedent is my older brother Hank, who was profoundly autistic throughout his life. When I was a child, my understanding of Hank's disability was complicated and unresolved, and my long interest in those who are different--and differently abled--undoubtedly stems from this childhood curiosity. In some ways, my boyhood vision of Hank was that of most little brothers: he was a robust and handsome presence, big and blond and athletic and gray-eyed. At the same time, it was clear that whatever interesting sibling relationship my friends and cousins enjoyed was not happening with us. My brother was unpredictable and unreachable, and he had the autistic's characteristically evasive glance. He was a person of mystery.

These were the days before autism had much entered the public discourse, and in New England, where we spent summers and holidays, even the word 'autistic' tended to prompt the question, "What type of art?" My parents were reasonably straightforward with my sister and me, but they relied on euphemisms ("different;" "not well") to explain Hank's condition to those outside the family. And because Hank's condition was such an absolute constant, I never felt my understanding of it developing or deepening. He was how he was, and at some point I grew old enough and responsible enough to keep an eye on him at the beach or on a bike ride. Only later did I realize how this upended the ordinary older brother/younger brother dynamic.

While he was alive, Hank was such a vivid presence that I didn't spend a lot of time wondering what his life would have been like if… (though surely my parents thought about it all the time). But after his death at age 44, I found myself returning again and again to that life he might have lived as a more normally abled person. And it was a shock to realize that one thing he'd have had to deal with was Vietnam. Vietnam was the great shadow hanging over my own adolescence, but because it was so thoroughly out of the question for Hank, I'd never considered it in terms of him. Of course, at six years older, he'd have been in the thick of the risk.

At this point, I'd like to state categorically that Howard Kapostash is not a thinly veiled portrait of my brother Hank. The roman á clef doesn't interest me at all, and with the exception of Vietnam itself, The Ha-Ha is very much a work of the imagination. Nevertheless, the character of Howard did grow from thinking around Hank's life--from considering my brother and myself in relation to Vietnam and in relation to disability, in relation to families, and even in relation to that nebulous quantity we think of generally as expectation. For The Ha-Ha is very much a book about expectation thwarted, and it's in this respect that Howard's injury differs most significantly from congenital conditions like the one Hank had. Because he's experienced "normality," Howard's world encompasses several qualities which Hank's presumably did not--in particular, loss.

If the development of Howard's character was the result of careful thought and calibration, the use of the ha-ha as a metaphor came about much more organically. A ha-ha is, in simplest terms, a sunken fence used to contain livestock without interrupting a view; the goal is to create an optical illusion so that the land appears to roll on continuously, with no evidence of this concealed division. In the novel, there's an actual ha-ha, of course, and it plays a major role in the story, but initially all I wanted was to present the convent grounds as an urban, rather than rural, paradise: a little compromised, a little artificial. I came up with the image of the interstate passing so close to this "landscaped Arden," as Howard calls it, that one could hear the sound of traffic from the rectory, and because I knew about ha-has from a college architecture class, I simply wrote one into the story as an interesting detail. Only as the drafts progressed did I recognize the metaphorical significance of a concealed break--not only in the land that Howard mows for a living, but also in the very landscape of his life. In The Ha-Ha, Howard's brain injury is itself the unaddressed rift he works so hard to conceal, and as the book progresses, this is the fissure he's forced increasingly to confront.


Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Little Brown & Co

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dave King at BookBrowse
The Ha-Ha jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dave King but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Mark Haddon

    Mark Haddon

    Mark Haddon is the author of the international bestseller, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time. He won the Whitbread Award, Guardian Prize, and a Commonwealth Writers Prize for that work. In addition to The ... (more)

  • Liz Jensen

    Liz Jensen

    Liz Jensen was born in Oxfordshire, to an Anglo-Moroccan librarian mother and a Danish violin-maker father. She studied English at Somerville College, Oxford and worked first as a journalist in Hongkong and Taiwan. She then ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Ha-Ha

    Try:
    The Ninth Life of Louis Drax
    by Liz Jensen

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Book of Goose
    The Book of Goose
    by Yiyun Li
    Yiyun Li's The Book of Goose is a story of childhood friendship between narrator Agnès, a one-...
  • Book Jacket: Big Red
    Big Red
    by Jerome Charyn
    Jerome Charyn made his name as an author of detective novels, and over the years he has taken his ...
  • Book Jacket: If I Survive You
    If I Survive You
    by Jonathan Escoffery
    In If I Survive You, author Jonathan Escoffery portrays a family falling apart with grace. Main ...
  • Book Jacket: Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    by Sidik Fofana
    'Everybody got a story, everybody got a tale / Question is: Is it despair or prevail?' ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Bell in the Lake
by Lars Mytting
The engrossing epic novel - a #1 bestseller in Norway - of a young woman whose fate plays out against her village's mystical church bells.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Our Missing Hearts
    by Celeste Ng

    From the author of Little Fires Everywhere, the inspiring new novel about a mother’s unbreakable love in a world consumed by fear.

Book Club Giveaway!
Win A Minor Chorus

A Minor Chorus

A debut novel from a rising literary star that brings the modern queer and Indigenous experience into sharp relief.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

G R T Bad R

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.