Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022 and Award Winners

Stephanie Kallos Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Stephanie Kallos

Stephanie Kallos

An interview with Stephanie Kallos

Stephanie Kallos discusses the story behind her second novel, Sing Them Home, a sweeping tale set in the American heartland.

How did you come up with the idea for Sing Them Home? Not that tornados are so unusual in Nebraska, but the circumstances of this particular one are so peculiar and interesting.

The initial idea for Sing Them Home arose from a photo in the March 1974 National Geographic – and from my family's personal connection to that photo.

Until I was five, my parents and I lived in Wymore, Nebraska, and among my folks' best friends at that time were Ed and Hope McClure. They lived a few miles outside of town in a 19th century farmhouse that had great historical significance to the community and that Hope had lovingly restored and furnished with period antiques. I still remember a great deal about that house – even though the last time I saw it was in 1960, which is when we moved away.

In 1974, in one of those examples of freakish tornadic behavior, a funnel cloud came through, passing by the farmhouse across the road, bouncing over the highway, and landing on the McClure house. Hope, who had MS and was in a wheelchair at the time, was home alone with the youngest of her five children, who was at that time a toddler. The baby was found wandering the fields wearing her diaper, having suffered nothing but a few scratches and (one would assume) a terrible scare; Hope was badly hurt, but survived. The house – and everything in it – was gone.

The National Geographic photo was taken a few miles away, near Blue Springs Nebraska. It shows a vast, flattened, muddied milo field with a farmer leaning over the remains of Hope's baby grand piano. It was the only thing that came down in any kind of recognizable form. My mom used to say, "How can a deep freezer just disappear? How can a washing machine disappear? All those things – where did they go?" These questions – and their implications – have haunted me ever since.

I always envisioned the book as the story of three siblings whose mother went up but never came down, and the grief surrounding such a loss – so in that sense the story didn't change. But the book took on a new and deeper significance when I lost both of my folks during the writing process – my dad in January 2005 and my mom a year later, almost to the day. For that reason, Sing The Home evolved into a much more personal book. The gift of my own loss I suppose is that it allowed me to stand with more authenticity, humility, and empathy in my characters' shoes. For years I believed that this book would be my first novel; I'm glad it wasn't. 


Other than the connections you mentioned above, are any of the characters based on your personal experience?
 
As far as the ways my personal experience intersects with the book...There are many similarities between the way writers and actors inhabit/imagine characters. (My twenty years in the theatre taught me almost everything I know about writing, and that's my frame of reference.) As an actor, one has to excavate the places of connection, the shared experiences and emotions that provide a common ground with the character; from thence. However, once that connection is established, it's essential that a creative elaboration occur.

A lot of what actors do when moving beyond their personal connection to a character is to ask the question "What if?" Because personal experience will only get you so far if one hopes to inhabit the big, transcendent characters.  For example, when you're playing a role like, let's say, Lady Macbeth or Juliet, you have to expand beyond your limited connection and fill up the demands of roles like that with something much larger than yourself.  "What if?" is a powerful question for writers to ask as well - and a crucial one, if one hopes to write fiction that isn't thinly disguised autobiography.

I do have a long history as a musician. As a young person, I trained as a classical pianist. I also sang and played in bars for many years before I started acting.  But, even though we share some common ground, none of the characters are me.


What are you working on now?

You can probably tell that I'm fascinated with relationships between the dead and the living.  My third novel will explore that territory more directly, through an examination of the American Spiritualist movement and some of its key historical figures. Being a writer feels very much at times like being a medium. I've also described writing as a benign form of schizophrenia. There's definitely something magical about all these people who show up in my head. Where do they come from? Perhaps they're spirits, yearning to tell their stories.

Here's a quote I've loved for years, one that will serve as an epigraph for the next novel:

"There are just thousands of people inside my head, and if they're ghosts, they sure shriek real loud. All waiting to tell me their stories. I just transcribe. At my best I'm a transcriber of those eerie voices." - Bharati Mukherjee. 

I couldn't say it better!

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Stephanie Kallos at BookBrowse
Sing Them Home jacket Broken For You jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Stephanie Kallos but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa, and grew up in northern Ontario and Quebec, and in Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Broken For You

    Try:
    The Blind Assassin
    by Margaret Atwood

  • Trezza Azzopardi

    Trezza Azzopardi

    Trezza Azzopardi was born in Cardiff, UK. She is a graduate of the Creative Writing Program at the University of East Anglia and is an external examiner for Creative and Cultural Studies at Norwich School of Art and Design.

    ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Broken For You

    Try:
    Remember Me
    by Trezza Azzopardi

We recommend 16 similar authors

View all 16 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Voted 2022 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Geraldine Brooks creates a ...
  • Book Jacket: In Love
    In Love
    by Amy Bloom
    Voted 2022 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. In 2019, author Amy Bloom and her...
  • Book Jacket: Remarkably Bright Creatures
    Remarkably Bright Creatures
    by Shelby Van Pelt
    Voted 2022 Best Debut Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Shelby Van Pelt's debut novel, ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Scatterlings
    by Resoketswe Martha Manenzhe

    The debut novel of a gifted storyteller who has become a sensation in her native South Africa.

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.
Who Said...

If there is anything more dangerous to the life of the mind than having no independent commitment to ideas...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.