Announcing our 2021 Award Winners and Top 20 Books of the Year

Stephanie Kallos Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Stephanie Kallos

Stephanie Kallos

An interview with Stephanie Kallos

Stephanie Kallos discusses the story behind her second novel, Sing Them Home, a sweeping tale set in the American heartland.

How did you come up with the idea for Sing Them Home? Not that tornados are so unusual in Nebraska, but the circumstances of this particular one are so peculiar and interesting.

The initial idea for Sing Them Home arose from a photo in the March 1974 National Geographic – and from my family's personal connection to that photo.

Until I was five, my parents and I lived in Wymore, Nebraska, and among my folks' best friends at that time were Ed and Hope McClure. They lived a few miles outside of town in a 19th century farmhouse that had great historical significance to the community and that Hope had lovingly restored and furnished with period antiques. I still remember a great deal about that house – even though the last time I saw it was in 1960, which is when we moved away.

In 1974, in one of those examples of freakish tornadic behavior, a funnel cloud came through, passing by the farmhouse across the road, bouncing over the highway, and landing on the McClure house. Hope, who had MS and was in a wheelchair at the time, was home alone with the youngest of her five children, who was at that time a toddler. The baby was found wandering the fields wearing her diaper, having suffered nothing but a few scratches and (one would assume) a terrible scare; Hope was badly hurt, but survived. The house – and everything in it – was gone.

The National Geographic photo was taken a few miles away, near Blue Springs Nebraska. It shows a vast, flattened, muddied milo field with a farmer leaning over the remains of Hope's baby grand piano. It was the only thing that came down in any kind of recognizable form. My mom used to say, "How can a deep freezer just disappear? How can a washing machine disappear? All those things – where did they go?" These questions – and their implications – have haunted me ever since.

I always envisioned the book as the story of three siblings whose mother went up but never came down, and the grief surrounding such a loss – so in that sense the story didn't change. But the book took on a new and deeper significance when I lost both of my folks during the writing process – my dad in January 2005 and my mom a year later, almost to the day. For that reason, Sing The Home evolved into a much more personal book. The gift of my own loss I suppose is that it allowed me to stand with more authenticity, humility, and empathy in my characters' shoes. For years I believed that this book would be my first novel; I'm glad it wasn't. 


Other than the connections you mentioned above, are any of the characters based on your personal experience?
 
As far as the ways my personal experience intersects with the book...There are many similarities between the way writers and actors inhabit/imagine characters. (My twenty years in the theatre taught me almost everything I know about writing, and that's my frame of reference.) As an actor, one has to excavate the places of connection, the shared experiences and emotions that provide a common ground with the character; from thence. However, once that connection is established, it's essential that a creative elaboration occur.

A lot of what actors do when moving beyond their personal connection to a character is to ask the question "What if?" Because personal experience will only get you so far if one hopes to inhabit the big, transcendent characters.  For example, when you're playing a role like, let's say, Lady Macbeth or Juliet, you have to expand beyond your limited connection and fill up the demands of roles like that with something much larger than yourself.  "What if?" is a powerful question for writers to ask as well - and a crucial one, if one hopes to write fiction that isn't thinly disguised autobiography.

I do have a long history as a musician. As a young person, I trained as a classical pianist. I also sang and played in bars for many years before I started acting.  But, even though we share some common ground, none of the characters are me.


What are you working on now?

You can probably tell that I'm fascinated with relationships between the dead and the living.  My third novel will explore that territory more directly, through an examination of the American Spiritualist movement and some of its key historical figures. Being a writer feels very much at times like being a medium. I've also described writing as a benign form of schizophrenia. There's definitely something magical about all these people who show up in my head. Where do they come from? Perhaps they're spirits, yearning to tell their stories.

Here's a quote I've loved for years, one that will serve as an epigraph for the next novel:

"There are just thousands of people inside my head, and if they're ghosts, they sure shriek real loud. All waiting to tell me their stories. I just transcribe. At my best I'm a transcriber of those eerie voices." - Bharati Mukherjee. 

I couldn't say it better!

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Stephanie Kallos at BookBrowse
Sing Them Home jacket Broken For You jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Stephanie Kallos but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa, and grew up in northern Ontario and Quebec, and in Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Broken For You

    Try:
    The Blind Assassin
    by Margaret Atwood

  • Trezza Azzopardi

    Trezza Azzopardi

    Trezza Azzopardi was born in Cardiff, UK. She is a graduate of the Creative Writing Program at the University of East Anglia and is an external examiner for Creative and Cultural Studies at Norwich School of Art and Design.

    ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Broken For You

    Try:
    Remember Me
    by Trezza Azzopardi

We recommend 15 similar authors

View all 15 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: The Lincoln Highway
    The Lincoln Highway
    by Amor Towles
    Voted 2021 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Things look bleak for Emmett ...
  • Book Jacket: The Code Breaker
    The Code Breaker
    by Walter Isaacson
    Voted 2021 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    What makes humans human? It's ...
  • Book Jacket: Firekeeper's Daughter
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Million Things
    by Emily Spurr
    Voted 2021 Best Debut Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Our First Impressions reviewers were...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Beasts of a Little Land
    by Juhea Kim

    An epic story of love, war, and redemption set against the backdrop of the Korean independence movement.

Win This Book!
Win Taste Makers

Taste Makers
by Mayukh Sen

America's modern culinary history told through the lives of seven pathbreaking chefs and food writers.

Enter

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.