Advance reader reviews of The Book of Illumination

The Book of Illumination

A Novel from the Ghost Files

by Mary Ann Winkowski

The Book of Illumination
  • Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Oct 2009
    320 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 17 member reviews
for The Book of Illumination
Order Reviews by:
  • Rosario D. (South El Monte, CA)


    I couldn't put it down!
    I highly recommend this book to anyone. If you enjoy thrillers and mysteries you have to read this book, throw in the paranormal and you have a very enjoyable read. I just couldn't put it down. It was fun and refreshing. Perfect ghost story.
  • Crystal F. (CA)


    Drawn into the story by the very first sentence
    The Book of Illumination is an interesting, clean cut book, and a swift read. Single mother, Speranza (Anza for short) O’Malley, tells the story. I experienced the events as Anza had and liked the way timelines were weaved.

    Drawn into the story by the very first sentence, “I should not have answered the phone,” made me immediately wonder why and want to know more.

    I instantly fell for Johnny “Woolsie” Graby, the charming old butler. His part involved a second book, a children's book that was misplaced. His story was separate from the main course but his resolution allowed for an easier ending, brought calm to the chaos of the entire story.

    My favorite part with the monks was in chapter twenty-two, when they explained the creation of the book…“A spell for the eye weaved we, letters of magic to sanctify the page as the flower sanctifies the meadow and of the bird the air”…

    There were ghost but this was not a tale of horror in the slightest. This was a mystery with a supernatural twist, a whodunit kind of mystery/drama. There was no sex or gore/graphic violence, which was extremely nice.

    Cop and robber, FBI, and similar stories are usually not my kind. This book kept this at a distance, Anza is not a cop so her involvement in catching the robber’(s) was as a common citizen. An A for me.

    The TV show, Ghost Whisper does come into mind when reading. One difference is that Anza can not only see the, “light,” but can summon it to allow earth-bound spirits entrance.

    The Book of Illumination was a great read with well-formed characters. I quite enjoyed it and would recommend it as a must read. I look forward to more fiction from, Mary Ann Winkowski and Maureen Foley.
  • Penny N. (Saginaw, MI)


    Ghosts and Illuminations
    A clever and "spirited" mystery about ghosts and an ancient book that takes place in modern Cambridge, MA. Anza O'Malley, a single mom and ghost-whisperer, solves the mysterious disappearance of a beautiful, illuminated manuscript. With the help of three ghosts O'Malley not only solves the crime she also brings an estranged family together. The book is also an interesting introduction to the art of bookbinding.
  • Dianne S. (Shelton, connecticut)


    A Wonderful Surprise of a Read!
    As it says on the back of the cover “the criminal underworld collides with the spiritual otherworld” describes this book perfectly! And for once what you read on the back cover and the blurbs is exactly what you get. Anza O’Malley is a ghost whisperer who can help those who need to go over to the “other side”. Her friends all believe in what she can do and so she is called to help out when ghosts take a liking to making life miserable for Sylvia Cremaldi who is working on re-binding this important document. But soon this Illumination gets stolen and things take a turn for the worse.

    This was a surprisingly enjoyable read for me. I wasn’t sure about reading yet another novel about ghosts and the people that talk to them, but this book wasn’t just another paranormal read for me. This book was many things; it was a mystery book, a wonderful story about friendship and family and a knowledgeable glimpse into the inner workings of rare book acquisitions and to those that maintain the books.

    The story and characters are wonderfully written and came alive for me. I actually wished that I had family and friends like the ones here! The mystery had enough red herrings that it made it difficult to figure out who really stole the manuscript and the writing made me think that perhaps I should rethink the existence of ghosts living among us.

    A very fine start to what looks to be a new series. I can’t wait for another.
  • Donna W. (Hamilton, NJ)


    The Book of Illumination
    The Book of Illumination: A Novel from the Ghost Files has all the things I like; ghosts, mystery, libraries, archives with precious things, clever art thieves, art history, book binding, unrequited love, Boston Brahmins, and an illuminated manuscript with ghost monks from the 16th century attached. What more could I want? This is a lovely, light Sunday read.
  • Barb W. (Mechanicsburg, PA)


    an enjoyable read
    I enjoyed this book more than I expected to, although the ending seemed a bit hurried and anti-climactic. The main characters were all believable, and the story itself kept me wondering what would happen next. I hope this is the first in a series, as I would love to read more about Anza and Henry!
  • Catherine H. (Nashua, NH)


    It was the night before Halloween...
    Don't expect to be scarred but rather spent a good time with some friendly and sometimes quite humorous ghosts, along with learning some interesting insights about book binding.

    I did like Anza - the main character - a down to earth everyday mom. My only regret: not enough ghosts actions.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.