Read advance reader review of Cartier's Hope by M. J. Rose, page 2 of 3

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Cartier's Hope

A Novel

by M. J. Rose

Cartier's Hope by M. J. Rose X
Cartier's Hope by M. J. Rose
  • Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Publishes in USA 
    Jan 28, 2020
    334 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 2 of 3
There are currently 19 member reviews
for Cartier's Hope
Order Reviews by:
  • Judy B. (Santa Fe, NM)


    A Good Story
    I found this book excellent reading. I have always enjoyed the history behind the Hope Diamond and Mr. Cartier and wondered about the truth behind the diamond's history being a jeweler's daughter! Is it really possible to have bad luck just owning a particular "rock"?? The story in this book is about that possibility! The characters are well portrayed and interesting: a young "modern" woman and her family-mother, father, and sister. The young Russian jeweler working for Mr. Cartier! It was a good, well written story!
  • Margaret R.


    Cartier's Hope
    Good historical fiction teaches at a gut level and Cartier's Hope does not disappoint. As we follow our main character, a woman with two identities, one inherited the other invented, through the streets, townhouses and tenements of New York City in the early 20th century, our senses and emotions are bombarded with visceral detail. For example, you experience the growing anxiety, then outright terror, of women marching in protest, followed by a group, then a gang, of men taunting them initially with words then with physical brutality.
    That said, there is a disappointing glut of stale language, as well, and early in the book my eyes were rolling with sentences like, "...I try to pretend I am not really crying. That what looks like tears are simply snowflakes melting on my cheeks."
    There is also a Wikipedia-like narrative when M. J. Rose gives the reader necessary plot information, such as the history of the Hope Diamond. Her fine ability to create realistic dialog fails her when she needs to give us facts.
    Overall, this book is a good read and would appeal to many audiences. The mystery, gender issues, emotional appeal, and historical re-creation make it ripe for book club discussions.
  • Shirley P. (Colorado Springs, CO)


    In Spite of the Cover...
    ...I enjoyed this book very much. I am a big fan of M.J. Rose's books, and was thrilled to get an advance copy of "Cartier's Hope".
    This book differs somewhat from her previous books which usually featured magical/mystical themes like witches/uber-sensitive perfumers, and the like - all of which I liked very much.
    This novel features a more prosaic central character of Vera Garland, a member of New York's high society, and Vera's alter ego, Vee Swann, a newspaper reporter in the early 1900's, Vee reports on the underbelly of New York, in the footsteps of Nellie Bly. Vee becomes interested in the alleged curses associated with the infamous Hope diamond recently acquired by the jeweler Pierre Cartier which she has been lucky enough to view as Vera, and is intrigued by the stories told by Mr. Cartier.
    This book is well written, as are all M.J. Rose's books, and includes interesting historical facts to add gravitas to the story. To add even more texture, there is a romance factor which complicates Vera/Vee's task in uncovering the truth about the Hope.
    About that lurid cover...better suited to a "bodice ripper" than this competent historical novel.
  • Janet SC


    Cartier' Hope
    Very good book! Great character development and details of NYC in the early 1900's.
  • Cynthia C. (Chula Vista, CA)


    Hope Reigns
    This book is set against the lush society of the wealthy NYC society of 1910. The main character, Vera Garland, is in her own way a very modern woman. She happens to be at odds with her leading society matriarch mother, and is also very concerned with those less fortunate. She wants equality for women, and is willing to fight for it.

    Vera has a separate identity as an investigative reporter where, in her determination to expose society's ills, often risks her own life.

    This book is much more than a story of the 44 carat Hope Diamond, with stories of its supposed curse. Author M.J. Rose gives us a well-written slice-of-life account of the turn of the century elite juxtaposed with those struggling for their lives who live on the fringes.

    Rose reminds us that Hope is what we have from one day to the next. Hope is what powers our desires and actions to create better lives for all.

    An enjoyable read, filled with intrigue and romance.
  • Patty S. (Towson, MD)


    Secrets abound
    I love historical fiction, and CARTIER'S HOPE didn't disappoint. It was a little slow going at first, but I'm glad I stuck with it because at one point I found myself not wanting to put it down! I cared about M.J. Rose's characters. If you like stories based in New York City during the early 1900s, I'm pretty sure you'll like this one.
  • Nancy K. (Perrysburg, OH)


    Slow start- great finish!
    Please stick with this book as it gets ever so much better once the author decides which theme she wants to emphasize,
    It could have been just a romance story, or a brief history of the famous Hope diamond, or a study of gems; instead the author chooses a path and the book captures the reader.( I won't tell which theme as that would be a spoiler) The characters come to life and by the end the reader can feel the anguish each of the two main figures go through when they must make a decision.
    Recommended for book clubs as there are many points to discuss,
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.