Read advance reader review of You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley, page 3 of 7

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

You Were There Too

by Colleen Oakley

You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley X
You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley
  • Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Publishes in USA 
    Jan 7, 2020
    352 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 3 of 7
There are currently 44 member reviews
for You Were There Too
Order Reviews by:
  • Beth M. (New York, NY)


    Surprising love story.
    What a great summer read. The writing was terrific, the characters were relatable and well developed and the plot twists were unpredictable. I kept reading late into the night to find out how and why Mia and Oliver are connected. And what does she decide to do with that knowledge. This story has stayed with me and gotten me thinking about the choices we make and the role of fate in our lives. Read this book. You won't be disappointed.
  • Darrell W. (Hillsboro, OR)


    A Human Tapestry
    In You Were There Too, Colleen Oakley skillfully weaves intense matters of sincere love, complicated human relationships, and emotional crises into a beautiful tapestry. Through mastery of dialogue the characters become real. Applying thoughtful imagination the unusual circumstances gain authenticity. By facing difficult topics with honest observations the narrative achieves reality without losing any creative, imaginative threads. Author Oakley has moved into my list of favorite authors. This book deserves a broad audience.
  • Patricia L. (Seward, AK)


    The reality of dreaming...
    You Were There Too, while essentially about dreams, their meanings and effect on us, takes place under the omnipresent cloud of what may have become a new normal, mass shootings. That overtone coupled with issues of miscarriage, marriage fidelity and uncertain relationships means Oakley’s story while at times romantic and endearing easily turns to messy and complicated.

    Mia and Harrison are living what many would consider an idyllic existence. He’s a doctor, she is an artist. At the outset they seem to be handling the vagaries of their careers successfully. Except that Mia has recurring dreams, not always idyllic yet frequently pleasantly sensual. And the main character in these dreams is a beautiful man who is not Harrison. In their waking hours, she and Harrison have experienced multiple miscarriages in their attempt to have a child which is fraying their relationship.

    The emotional toll that these issues begin to take on the couple is exacerbated when Mia sees the man of her dreams in the local grocery store. Serendipitously, they become friends and confidants. Thus, begins a journey part déjà vu part Sherlock Holmes as Mia and Oliver try to find the puzzle piece that will fill in the picture.

    Oakley has done a great job explaining dream research through storytelling. You Were There Too is a fast read, informative and timely. Recommended for those who seek a fascinating story that will linger long after the last page is read.
  • Diane D. (Blairstown, NJ)


    Wonderful book!
    This book kept me reading, with all its great characters and their life experiences. I had an ending in mind, but it wasn't quite what I expected. There were surprises along the way...and especially at the end. I don't want to give anything away, so I'll just say you won't be disappointed in it. It's an excellent read!
  • Sharon R. (Deerfield, IL)


    Marriage Layers
    There is a moment in this thought provoking story that compares marriage to a TV. Sometimes the connections get loose and the TV sputters and flickers and then you fiddle with it and everything suddenly works again.

    This novel is definitely about the highs and lows of a marriage, the anxieties of are you doing the right thing and the thoughts of whether you are good enough to sustain the life you have promised to your wife or husband.

    All marriages and relationships have their flaws and this author explores how wonderful and frightening it can be. There are many moments while reading the story that you will want tissues nearby, but in the end life goes on and it is beautiful.
  • Cheryl S. (Redmond, WA)


    Colleen Oakley's latest novel, You Were There Too
    Thank you BookBrowse for an early reader's copy of Colleen Oakley's latest novel, You Were There Too. The storyline was not one I would ordinarily be drawn to, but I enjoyed this book. Well written, interesting characters, and some unpredictable twists, I did not see coming. I would definitely read another novel by this author.
  • Clare M. (Naperville, IL)


    A great beach read
    I found this book very enthralling. I could not put it down. This book explored the concept of fate in a new and fresh way. What kept me from fully loving this book was the main character, Mia. I felt that Colleen Oakley could have done a better job of fleshing out her character. As Mia was written I had difficulty relating to her selfishness and lack of interest in or compassion for Harrison. When she finally reaches out to him it felt like too little too late in my opinion. Otherwise, this book was thought-provoking, deeper than it appeared, and captivating. Would recommend to a friend.

More Information

Readalikes

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.