Read advance reader review of You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley, page 2 of 7

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

You Were There Too

by Colleen Oakley

You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley X
You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley
  • Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Publishes in USA 
    Jan 7, 2020
    352 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 2 of 7
There are currently 44 member reviews
for You Were There Too
Order Reviews by:
  • Barbara B. (Holbrook, NY)


    You were there too
    I cannot say exactly what was so special about this book but it struck a chord in me and made me love it. The premise is most definitely original but the writing is exquisite. Every smell that was described I could smell as well, I could hear the sounds from the garden. It was an amazing read. I loved it.
  • Linda Z. (Melville, NY)


    Do Dreams Come True?
    Colleen Oakley, author of "You Were There Too" writes an emotional, compassionate, thought-provoking, suspenseful and intriguing novel. The Genres for this Novel are Contemporary Fiction, Fiction, Romance and Suspense. The timeline for this story is set in the recent present and goes to the past when it pertains to the characters or events in the story. The author describes her dramatic characters as complex and complicated.

    How many of us can remember a dream, yet a recurring one that keeps us wondering why this occurs? Is this from the sub-conscious? Perhaps overeating and drinking before sleeping? Something predicting a future event? Symbolic occurrence? Is this a form of anxiety or emotional disturbance? Mia Graydon often has dreams that star a man she has yet to meet.

    Mia is happily married and hoping to have children. She is very artistic and has a nice house. When she and her husband move to this community, she meets the man she has been dreaming about. When they start talking, he tells her that he has had dreams with Mia in his as well. As they try to discover what the dreams mean, they have no idea what danger lies ahead.

    I like the way the author vividly describes the characters, landscape, and setting. I also appreciate the importance of thinking things through, following your heart, the importance of family, friends, love, and hope. I would highly recommend this thought-provoking and emotional novel.
  • Miriam B. (Lakewood Ranch, FL)


    You Were There Too
    I loved You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley. This book has a very strange premise which drew me in from the start. I really liked Mia and felt her struggles were true to life. This story had a depth which I did not expect and I loved how it all worked out. I will be thinking and talking about this book for a while - the mark of a good read. Highly recommended.
  • Nancy D. (Raleigh, NC)


    Different Kind of Love Story
    You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley is an absolutely wonderful but different love story. I loved all the main characters and was hard pressed to decide who I liked best and how I wanted the book to end. All of the secondary characters were well developed and added to the story-line. Ms. Oakley used the "eternal triangle" relationship, but without any of the sharp edges. This is a romance with a touch of dream interpreting, heartache, miscarriages and violence. It is about the struggles that often exist in every marriage. The characters attempt to understand themselves and others.

    Miss Oakley takes all of life's ups and downs, the happiness, tragedies, successes. sadness and failures and ties them up in a story that is not only enjoyable but thought provoking and very different. It is all about life's possibilities, how we interpret them and how these possibilities impact the decisions we make. The story asks the question, are our decisions and choices simply fated or do we truly have control over of our lives.
  • Marion C. (Peabody, MA)


    Love With a Mystery
    What do recurring dreams mean? Mia wants to know and understand her strange dream, especially the man in front of the carousel. Where is that circus located? Mia's adventure in uncovering the meaning of her dream has some captivating twists. She loves her husband, but the strange man in the dream puzzles her. You Were There Too kept me from foreseeing the ending, a surprise I did not think would happen. Oakley's prose is lively and moves the reader seamlessly through all the twists and turns. You Were There Too was a pleasurable story, and I plan to read Oakley's other two acclaimed novels.
  • Iris F. (West Bloomfield, MI)


    You were there too
    I began this book reluctantly as I felt the writing style was juvenile and trite. There were very long and rambling run-on sentences and an abundance of trite, needless metaphors.

    At some point the writing style improved and the story had my full attention. There was much to think about regarding the trials of marriage which included an attraction of another and the threat of infidelity as the marriage hit a significant stalemate which would have long-lasting significance. One of the things I really appreciated was that none of the main characters were likeable and none were vilified. I didn't know how this romantic triangle would end though I did have my preference.

    All in all, this was a very satisfying read that totally engrossed me
  • Louise E. (Ocean View, DE)


    Suprised
    I thoroughly enjoyed You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley. I didn't want to put it down which surprised me. The twists and turns kept me going, wanting to know if Mia would discover the meaning of her dreams. And then when she met the man in her dream what would she do about it. Mia and Oliver, the man in her dreams, went to great and interesting lengths to find out what their dreams meant. At the same time there was also a lot going on with Mia and her husband Harrison, a doctor - her miscarriage and the death of one of Harrison's patients. I was not expecting the ending but was not disappointed. I will be recommending this to my book club.

More Information

Readalikes

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.