Advance reader reviews of The House of Broken Angels

The House of Broken Angels

by Luis Alberto Urrea

The House of Broken Angels by Luis Alberto Urrea X
The House of Broken Angels by Luis Alberto Urrea
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Publishes in USA 
    Mar 6, 2018
    336 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 2
There are currently 10 member reviews
for The House of Broken Angels
Order Reviews by:
  • Mary Anne R. (Towson, MD)


    The House of Broken Angels
    When I came to the last page I asked myself if if the story really ended. I wanted more.

    I became very fond of Big Angel and his complicated family and their complicated lives. Big Angel is vulnerable man who is full of life, energy and kindness despite life events that could have crippled him.

    This is a novel that I didn't read quickly. The art of the author is not to be rushed over. His words create not only a visual image his words transported me to places with a multitude of scents as and sounds.

    This is a story that at times made me cringe, at other times laugh or cry. I especially loved Big Angel's faithfulness in writing the things he was grateful for. He started out being grateful for mangoes and later on he shows his poet side: the heart breaks open and little bright seeds fall out.
  • Anne G. (Austin, TX)


    The House of Broken Angels
    One of my favorite authors has a new novel about a big, unruly, multi-generational Mexican American family on the eve of their patriarch's final birthday.

    Here are a couple of quotes that I think really reflect the beauty of the writing in this book:

    "La Gloriosa was up early. She didn't know why everybody thought she was late to everything. Cabrones. She was usually up before almost everybody else. It took time to be this fine--you didn't just jump out of bed looking like the living legend of the family."

    and

    "Mexican fathers made speeches. He wanted to leave her with a blessing, with beautiful words to sum up a life, but there were no words sufficient to this day. But still he tried. 'All we do, mija,' he said, 'is love. Love is the answer. Nothing stops it. Not borders. Not death.'"
  • Mary H. (Ocala, FL)


    A Beautiful Immigrant Story
    This well-crafted story of a Mexican American family centers around an eventful weekend. The de la Cruz family members travel from far and wide to attend 100-year-old America's funeral and the final birthday party for Big Angel, the dying patriarch of the clan.

    Funerals and final birthdays inspire reflection, storytelling and connecting with others in special ways. Big Angel and other family members relate tales of how they came to America and developed into the clan they are today. Through the voices of several generations, we see how mores, character and ambitions have changed and evolved through the years. The weekend causes Big Angel to reflect on how he has lived his life. Some of this he does privately and some he shares with a select few. As family and friends speak at his birthday celebration, we see him from many different perspectives. Ultimately, we come to know and appreciate Big Angel as a complex, loving leader of a beautiful family.

    Through this novel the author has brought us into the world of Mexican family life. The de la Cruzes are loud, passionate, bossy and loving. Above all, they know that family is everything.

    Immigrant stories are particularly timely today. They remind us that no matter where we are from, we are all an important part of the mosaic that defines who we are as a nation.
  • Jill S. (Chicago, IL)


    About our better angels: another winner by Urrea
    Luis Alberto Urrea's latest book is about our better angels and how the guide us to purpose and meaning. "All we do, mija," the oldest brother, Big Angel, says, "is love. Love is the answer. Nothing stops it. Not borders. Not death."

    Miguel Angel de la Cruz - aka Big Angel - is dying and he wants one last big birthday party. His entire huge and rambunctious family, including Little Angel - the son from his father's second life and a stand-on for Luis Alberto Urrea - are there for the merging of celebration and impending death.

    Complicated family dynamics are at play as the borders that separate us - literally and figuratively - are explored and resentments and secrets are revealed. The unruliness of the family - particularly at first - can sometimes seem overwhelming as many characters - sons, daughters, tios and tias - are introduced quickly, and I do believe that Mr. Urrea intended to create that effect. Mr. Urrea is a superb writer and he has captured a family at the precipice of a major transition and how, at the end of the day, love prevails.

    Poignancy and humor interject here - as they do in life -for a most satisfying reading experience. Definitely recommended.
  • Dottie B. (Louisville, KY)


    The House of Broken Angels
    Luis Alberto Urrea's The House of Broken Angels is a novel as large and large-hearted as the Mexican-American family it depicts. Ostensibly it is about two days in the life of the family's dying patriarch Big Angel--his mother's funeral and his last birthday party. But it also highlights the sadness and joy of each character in Big Angel's extended family. In this novel Urrea demonstrates the great hopes and losses of Chicanos who have moved north across the border. The novel should be read by anyone who wants to understand the ambiguity of the immigrant experience in general and the Mexican-American experience in particular.
  • Sherilyn R. (St George, UT)


    Great Storytelling
    Louis Alberto Urrea is a master storyteller. This book The House of Broken Angels, however had some technical problems. First let me tell you everything I loved. Big Angel, Little Angel, Perla, La Gloriosa, and even the minor characters were wonderful. The stories, the food, the humor, drew me into the lives of this incredibly complex family. But, the writing style was disjointed and made it difficult for me to follow the story and characters. I put the book down and up and down many times because I found myself getting frustrated. I wanted the story to flow. As it was I would still recommend the book but know it will take some work to get through.
  • Sara P. (Longview, WA)


    The House of Broken Angels
    This is a good story about growing up in one culture and then living as an adult in another culture. It is told mostly from the point of view of the patriarch of a Mexican family who now lives in San Diego. His children grow up in the USA and are not as Mexican as their parents. The grandchildren are a background noise in the story. I think that it is a good read to understand living in two cultures.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.