Advance reader reviews of Next Year in Havana, page 4

Next Year in Havana

by Chanel Cleeton

Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton X
Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Feb 2018
    400 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 4 of 4
There are currently 23 member reviews
for Next Year in Havana
Order Reviews by:
  • Rosanne S. (Franklin Square, NY)


    Next Year in Havana
    This is a very timely book. There was a lot of news coming from Cuba today. While this novel starts after the death of Fidel (present day) much of it relates the Cuban history from Batista to Fidel. It gave the reader a very good impression of what it was like to live in Cuba during these very tough times. There was a romantic component both on the present day telling and in the reliving of the past. While I enjoyed this novel, I think I could have done with a bit less of the history. It seemed very heavy at times.

    Overall I would recommend the book especially to historical fiction readers. It checks all the boxes and delivers well. It appears there is a sequel in the works. I'm not so sure I'd be interested.
  • Elizabeth L. (Salem, OR)


    Disappointing
    I requested this book because my in-laws left Cuba much in the early 60s and I was curious to see a book written by someone who would have grown up like my husband.

    I enjoyed the chapters narrated by Elisa. While the actions and words of the characters were dramatic, it was a dramatic time and they were at that dramatic age.

    Despite some beautiful writing in places, I found the Marisol chapters to be a combination of overwrought statements and long exposition. For example, perhaps Varadero beach does have "the most beautiful clear water" but after so many "best evers" I was skeptical. The expository statements by Luis and Pablo were really quite fair in giving voice to why people stayed and what is like in Cuba today but they made the book seem like a history lesson.

    I feel the author would have been better served focusing on the story.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.