Read advance reader review of Housebreaking by Colleen Hubbard

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Housebreaking

by Colleen Hubbard

Housebreaking by Colleen Hubbard X
Housebreaking by Colleen Hubbard
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Apr 2022, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 25 member reviews
for Housebreaking
Order Reviews by:
  • Maggie R. (Canoga Park, CA)
    Deconstructing
    When Elizabeth Strout and Ottessa Moshfegh are referenced in media reviews - as in "if you like ..." I have possibly unrealistically high expectations. Which were met! The requisite off kilter, unlikable yet believable family members, the impossible task ... I couldn't even clean out my closets given an entire year hidden at home. I'm looking forward to more from this first time author.
  • Barb G. (FL)
    Be ready for sleepless nights ....
    Housebreaking! I had no idea when I started this book that it would be about such strong and courageous women. Women who were bored at various stages of life and who unknowingly helped each other through their actions. What a wonderful book that will amaze you by bringing out many of your emotions as you cheer these women on. As I read page after page, I was left wondering if I could ever undertake a complete housebreaking literally with a project deadline like this.

    Colleen Hubbard captured me from the beginning. The book is filled with hurdles that families lived through in small and large towns. It highlights many social issues while making the hurdles very believable. It was entertaining and definitely a book I can highly recommend.
  • Ann B. (Kernville, CA)
    Deconstructing as a means of building self
    A bildungsroman with a twist, this "new adult" coming-of-age novel's premise is both fascinating and multifaceted. Young, rude, aimless, loner Del challenges herself to demolish her childhood home, and in the process of deconstructing the house and her family's stuff, she builds herself. This book will make for lively discussion among book groups.
  • Mary B. (St Paul, MN)
    Housebreaking
    Del is a 24 years old, soon to be 25, who can not get her life on track. After her mother's death at age 17, she left everything behind, including the house her mother owned in a small New England town. She lives with her father until his death, only a few years later. One day she receives a phone call from an estranged cousin about the property she left behind years ago. Although she has no desire to return this place and family members she wants no contact with, she does so to finalize her ties with said family and place. This starts an adventure of huge interactions and seemingly insurmountable events that at times are humorous and at times heartbreaking. Most of the people she is forced to interact with are irritating, frustrating, and annoying to her. But as time goes on she learns a lot about herself and these others as she goes about trying to prove a point.

    The story has a wonderful set of wonderful characters, all with messy lives. The landscape also provides a backdrop that is central to story. I found the book very enjoyable and had to put down always wondering what could happen next and what could go wrong.
  • Mary O. (Boston, MA)
    Debut
    A great debut novel! First books are always my favorite. Excellent storyline and interesting characters. I highly recommend it!
  • Mary Ann S. (Virginia Beach, VA)
    Many things for book clubs to unpack!
    I honestly didn't think I'd like this book. A 20 something who can't hold a job and apparently doesn't have any thoughts about the future just isn't something that appeals. However, I quickly grew enchanted with Del and her story and had a hard time putting the book down. Turned out she had a lot more going on than someone scrounging for rent. Loved her determination, her detection and response to BS, and her humanity. Loved how we learn about Del's past and that, for some of it, there were no pat answers or tidy explanations.

    I found the other characters in the book realistically characterized - likable, not likable and sometimes both. I LOLed while reading the Christmas party chapter. I can see this being a movie. Great debut novel. I hope we see more from this author.
  • Windell H. (Rock Hill, SC)
    Housebreaking
    Great debut novel. Fun to read and ideal for book club discussion. Lots of quirky characters that keep you wanting to see what happens next. The main character Del comes of age when she feels her life needs more than it has been in the past (not a great childhood). She creates a challenge to redeem a past of failures and disappointments by saving her old childhood home (piece by piece ) from a greedy uncle who wants to develop her property. In the end she finds that giving is far greater than taking.

Beyond the Book:
  Novels About Inheritance

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of the Flower Fragrant Garden
    by Zhuqing Li

    A beautifully woven family memoir that coalesces into a vivid history of two very different Chinas.

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.