• Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The Long Call

    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves

    BookBrowse Review
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits into a standard template: there's a murder; someone investigates; clues ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Kim Kovacs
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Ann Cleeves' Five Mystery Series

    Ann Cleeves (b. 1954) is best known for her mystery novels set in rural Britain, which have sold over five million copies in the thirty-plus years she's been writing. Cleeves has penned four series before releasing The Long Call, the first entry in ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The Liar

    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen

    BookBrowse Review
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it follows a 17-year-old girl, Nofar, who is unremarkable in every way until ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Rachel Hullett
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Reality (and Rarity) of False Sexual Assault Allegations

    The Liar by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen features a character, 17-year-old Nofar, who makes a false claim of attempted rape as payback against a man who verbally abuses her in an ice cream parlor. Though it's a compelling premise that leads down a ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The Dutch House

    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    BookBrowse Review

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away behind you, and the future you mean to land on is not yet in place, and for ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Rory L. Aronsky
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Stories That Houses Can Hold

    Having moved 17 times in the wake of my late father being transferred at his job, I don't have a nostalgic connection to anywhere I've lived. The connection many people feel in their bones, heart and soul to a specific home is a mere curiosity to me&... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek

    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson

    BookBrowse Review
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger historical events through personal and regional experiences: These components ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Elisabeth Cook
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Pack Horse Library Project

    The WPA (Works Progress Administration) established the Pack Horse Library Project in Eastern Kentucky during the Great Depression. The program, which was championed by First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, employed librarians who delivered books and other ... Beyond the Book

This Week's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Marley
  • Book Jacket: A Spark of Light
  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
  • Book Jacket: A Well-Behaved Woman
  • Book Jacket: Melmoth
  • Book Jacket: Butterfly Yellow
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
  • Book Jacket: Guest House for Young Widows
  • Book Jacket: Cantoras
  • Book Jacket: The Stranger Diaries
  • Book Jacket: The Kites
  • Book Jacket: Beautiful Country Burn Again
  • Book Jacket: The Far Field
  • Book Jacket: The Last True Poets of the Sea
  • Book Jacket: The Great Alone
  • Book Jacket: Who Put This Song On?

Find a book

Find Your Next Great Read!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Members read and review books before they're published. See what they'll be reviewing soon.

  • BookBrowse Book Club
    Book Jacket

    Today We Go Home
    by Kelli Estes

    Illuminating and deeply human, Today We Go Home shines a light on the brave military women of the past and present.

    Join the discussion!

More Discussions

  1.  299The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek:
    Kim Michele Richardson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Book Club Recommendations
Featured Book Club

featured bookclub

Recent Reader Reviews
  • Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati

    I enjoyed this book, it is a great follow up to the Gilded Hour, and can't wait to read the 3rd book! At 600 pages, I was at first dubious on how the author could keep ...
    read more

  • The Stationery Shop
    by Marjan Kamali

    “Look, Zari, being in love is difficult to explain. When you know it’s right, you just know. There’s no avoiding it. It’s like … it’s like a tree has fallen on your head....
    read more

  • The Secrets We Kept
    by Lara Prescott

    Now a Reese's Book Club pick! Happy to see that this Cold War thriller with literature at its heart is generating so much interest. I had no idea of the controversy ...
    read more

  • The Invention of Wings
    by Sue Monk Kidd

    Sarah Grimke and Handful were complete opposites in the society of the 1800's. Sarah was the daughter of a plantation owner, and Handful was her maid. Both were ...
    read more

  • Inland
    by Téa Obreht

    Inland captivated me from the beginning. It is that rare story, one that once I reached the end I wanted to go back to the beginning and start again. There are so many ...
    read more

  • America for Beginners
    by Leah Franqui

    The voices of the characters were clear and strong. Each person from the widow, the owner of the travel agency, the tour guide, the companion and others offer ...
    read more

Give a BookBrowse Membership

A BookBrowse Membership is the ideal gift for your book loving friends and family.

Give a Gift Membership

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.