MLA Platinum Award Press Release
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Children of the Land

    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo

    BookBrowse Review
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young man and a poet. His childhood is complicated by being born in Zacatecas, ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Karen Lewis
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)

    In his memoir Children of the Land, author Marcelo Hernandez Castillo recounts applying for and receiving DACA. This is a temporary immigration status that alleviates some of his worst fears about being deported as an undocumented college student. ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood

    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler

    BookBrowse Review
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved Woman, 2018), Therese Anne Fowler has returned to the kind of contemporary ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Rebecca Foster
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Tree Law in the United States

    In Therese Anne Fowler's A Good Neighborhood, a lawsuit over a tree precipitates a series of tragic events. It is not uncommon for a tree to be the basis of a dispute between neighbors. Fallen trees or branches often affect neighbors, but remain the ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Little Gods

    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin

    BookBrowse Review
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which physicist Su Lan gives birth in Beijing in 1989. Through the eyes of a ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Rachel Hullett
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Tiananmen Square Massacre

    One of the largest public squares in the world, Tiananmen Square lies in the heart of Beijing. It's named after a monumental gate built in the 1400s leading into the Forbidden City; Tiananmen means 'Gate of Heavenly Place.' Despite the serene ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The Truants

    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg

    BookBrowse Review
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, experiencing a bout of bad luck. A nasty stomach flu has limited her ability to ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Elisabeth Cook
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Disappearance of Agatha Christie

    In Kate Weinberg's The Truants, the main character, Jess Walker, suggests to her professor, Lorna Clay, that famed author Agatha Christie's 'hardest to crack' mystery may have emerged not in her writing, but in her life. Jess is referring to the time... Beyond the Book

This Week's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
  • Book Jacket: Sounds Like Titanic
  • Book Jacket: Daisy Jones & The Six
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
  • Book Jacket: A Dredging in Swann
  • Book Jacket: The Illness Lesson
  • Book Jacket: Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen
  • Book Jacket: Watch Us Rise
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
  • Book Jacket: A Woman Is No Man
  • Book Jacket: Black Leopard, Red Wolf
  • Book Jacket: Lost Children Archive
  • Book Jacket: The Stationery Shop
  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
  • Book Jacket: The Girls with No Names

Find a book

Find Your Next Great Read!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

Members read and review books before they're published. See what they'll be reviewing soon.

  • BookBrowse Book Club
    Book Jacket

    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

    Join the discussion!

More Discussions

  1.  288American Dirt:
    Jeanine Cummins

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Book Club Recommendations
  • News of Our Loved Ones Book Jacket
    News of Our Loved Ones
    by Abigail DeWitt

    Set in France and America, News of Our Loved Ones is a haunting and intimate examination ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Jordan Lynch

  • Finding Dorothy Book Jacket
    Finding Dorothy
    by Elizabeth Letts

    This richly imagined novel tells the story behind The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, the book ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Jordan Lynch

  • The Paragon Hotel Book Jacket
    The Paragon Hotel
    by Lyndsay Faye

    The new and exciting historical thriller by Lyndsay Faye, which follows Alice "Nobody" ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Donna Chavez

Featured Book Club

featured bookclub

Recent Reader Reviews
  • American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    American Dirt is a book that embraces you in a tango of drama, love and strong emotions during a time of turbulence and unrest. It's hard to put the book down once you ...
    read more

  • American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    Politics and controversy aside, let me tell you about this amazing book I just read. It is one of those rare gems that you think of all day, looking forward to when you ...
    read more

  • The End of the Ocean
    by Maja Lunde

    I came upon The End of the Ocean by happy accident. This book was a captivating read from page one. The stories of the two main characters seemingly unrelated and their ...
    read more

  • Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    This is nonfiction: the true story of the evacuation of the Mosul Zoo. Imad, also known as Abu Laith which means Father of Lions, is a car mechanic and the self-...
    read more

  • The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    I was so sad to reach the end of this book …. sniff, sniff...I always feel like crying a little when this book ends. Especially, this one. I always want great reads to ...
    read more

  • Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    This was a very compelling true account of love and loyalty during the time of war. The author did a great job of setting the scene of what these people were facing from...
    read more

Give a BookBrowse Membership

A BookBrowse Membership is the ideal gift for your book loving friends and family.

Give a Gift Membership

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.