MLA Platinum Award Press Release
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket

    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo

    BookBrowse Review
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine Evaristo's Booker Prize-winning novel Girl, Woman, Other, her thoughts flow ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Elisabeth Cook
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Bernardine Evaristo's Booker Prize Win

    In October of 2019, Bernardine Evaristo took home the Booker Prize in a win that garnered special attention for multiple reasons. Specifically, Evaristo was the first Black woman to win the prize, and she didn't have the win all to herself; the ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The Revisioners

    The Revisioners
    by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

    BookBrowse Review
    The chapters of Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's second novel, The Revisioners, alternate between three timelines. In present-day Louisiana, 34-year-old Ava Jackson and her 12-year...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Lisa Butts
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Income inequality in New Orleans

    In Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's The Revisioners, mixed race protagonist Ava moves into her aging white grandmother's ostentatious New Orleans mansion in order to help out, and also to save money so she can one day afford to buy a home of her own. ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen

    Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    by Dexter Palmer

    BookBrowse Review
    The year is 1726 and the sleepy town of Godalming has been rocked by scandal. Called to the bedside of Mary Toft, surgeon John Howard watches in horror as she appears to give ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Callum McLaughlin
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Exploiting the Unknown: Entertainment in the Georgian Era

    A taste for blood and an unfortunate willingness to exploit those considered 'Other' are not wholly unique to the Georgian period, but their prevalence during the era cannot be ignored. By 1726, when the subject of Dexter Palmer's novel Mary Toft; or... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Life Undercover

    Life Undercover
    by Amaryllis Fox

    BookBrowse Review
    Life Undercover, a riveting true-adventure memoir, reveals how and why a young woman decides to work for the Central Intelligence Agency. In clear, elegant prose, Amaryllis ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Karen Lewis
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Nuclear Disarmament and World Peace

    In Life Undercover, CIA recruit Amaryllis Fox is tasked with disrupting the trade in black-market weapons of mass destruction, including nuclear materials. Since the first (and, to date, only) nuclear bombs to be used in war were dropped on the ... Beyond the Book

This Week's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: All-American Muslim Girl
  • Book Jacket: Vita Nostra
  • Book Jacket: Finding Dorothy
  • Book Jacket: The Revisioners
  • Book Jacket: Little
  • Book Jacket: In Extremis
  • Book Jacket: Celestial Bodies
  • Book Jacket: Girl, Woman, Other
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
  • Book Jacket: The Spy of Venice
  • Book Jacket: Babel
  • Book Jacket: The Paragon Hotel
  • Book Jacket: Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
  • Book Jacket: Life Undercover
  • Book Jacket: The Great Pretender
  • Book Jacket: News of Our Loved Ones
  • Book Jacket: The Starless Sea
  • Book Jacket: The Heavens

Find a book

Find Your Next Great Read!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    You Were There Too
    by Colleen Oakley

    Acclaimed author Colleen Oakley delivers a heart-wrenching and unforgettable love story.
    Reader Reviews

Members read and review books before they're published. See what they'll be reviewing soon.

  • BookBrowse Book Club
    Book Jacket

    The Paris Diversion
    by Chris Pavone

    A pulse-pounding thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Expats.

    Join the discussion!

More Discussions

  1.  230The Lost Man:
    Jane Harper

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Book Club Recommendations
  • The Great Alone Book Jacket
    The Great Alone
    by Kristin Hannah

    From the author of The Nightingale, comes a story of a family in crisis and a young girl ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Kim Kovacs

  • The World That We Knew Book Jacket
    The World That We Knew
    by Alice Hoffman

    In 1941, during humanity's darkest hour, three unforgettable young women must act with ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Karen Lewis

  • Where the Light Enters Book Jacket
    Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati

    From the international bestselling author of The Gilded Hour comes Sara Donati's ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Tara Mcnabb

Featured Book Club

featured bookclub

Recent Reader Reviews
  • Olive, Again
    by Elizabeth Strout

    As with the first book, Olive Kitteridge, this is the story of a singular woman living her brief life on the coast of Maine, creating wreckage with her acerbic tongue and...
    read more

  • The Starless Sea
    by Erin Morgenstern

    I loved this book just as I loved THE NIGHT CIRCUS. Two different reads but Erin Morgenstern is a wonderful writer. THE STARLESS SEA is a book you need to read daily or...
    read more

  • Inland
    by TĂ©a Obreht

    I am not surprised to see that this strange and wondrous novel has generated a wide range of opinions, that it is found by some to be opaque or even pointless. As with ...
    read more

  • News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles

    Captain Kidd had experience traveling uncharted lands as he read his newspapers in different towns to spread the news of the world, but traveling with a ten-year-old girl...
    read more

  • Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    This book is much more than a book about a zookeeper and his animals. Callaghan writes of the occupation of Mosul by Daesh, the new laws invoked that make daily life very...
    read more

  • American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    American Dirt will be published January 21, 2020. It has already made my 2020 Best List as I was fortunate to be an early reader thanks to Amy Einhorn, and Flatiron Books...
    read more

Give a BookBrowse Membership

A BookBrowse Membership is the ideal gift for your book loving friends and family.

Give a Gift Membership

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.