MLA Platinum Award Press Release
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Little Gods

    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin

    BookBrowse Review
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which physicist Su Lan gives birth in Beijing in 1989. Through the eyes of a ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Rachel Hullett
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Tiananmen Square Massacre

    One of the largest public squares in the world, Tiananmen Square lies in the heart of Beijing. It's named after a monumental gate built in the 1400s leading into the Forbidden City; Tiananmen means 'Gate of Heavenly Place.' Despite the serene ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The Truants

    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg

    BookBrowse Review
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, experiencing a bout of bad luck. A nasty stomach flu has limited her ability to ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Elisabeth Cook
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Disappearance of Agatha Christie

    In Kate Weinberg's The Truants, the main character, Jess Walker, suggests to her professor, Lorna Clay, that famed author Agatha Christie's 'hardest to crack' mystery may have emerged not in her writing, but in her life. Jess is referring to the time... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The End of the Ocean

    The End of the Ocean
    by Maja Lunde

    BookBrowse Review
    In The History of Bees, her debut novel for adults, internationally bestselling Norwegian writer Maja Lunde imagined a dystopian future in which the world's bees—...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Elisabeth Herschbach
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Climate Change and Water Scarcity

    Alternating between two storylines set in the recent past and the very near future, Maja Lunde's The End of the Ocean is a chilling reminder of how alarmingly fast the effects of climate change can snowball out of control. In one storyline, set in ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Heart of Junk

    Heart of Junk
    by Luke Geddes

    BookBrowse Review
    In Luke Geddes' debut novel, The Heart of America is the largest year-round antique mall in Kansas, composed of 189,000 square feet of quality antiques and collectibles. But ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Jordan Lynch
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Collecting, Hoarding and Minimalism: America's Obsession with Stuff

    Heart of Junk, the debut novel from Luke Geddes, is set in the fictional Heart of America antique mall in Kansas. The vendors in the mall hope to make some money selling off bits of their collections—Barbies, postcards, glassware, furniture... Beyond the Book

This Week's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Lady Clementine
  • Book Jacket: The World According to Fannie Davis
  • Book Jacket: Unmarriageable
  • Book Jacket: The Night Tiger
  • Book Jacket: Heart of Junk
  • Book Jacket: The Third Rainbow Girl
  • Book Jacket: Inheritance
  • Book Jacket: Bad Blood
  • Book Jacket: The Volunteer
  • Book Jacket: We Set the Dark on Fire
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
  • Book Jacket: The Hocus Girl
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
  • Book Jacket: The End of the Ocean

Find a book

Find Your Next Great Read!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Members read and review books before they're published. See what they'll be reviewing soon.

  • BookBrowse Book Club
    Book Jacket

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    "American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
    —Don Winslow

    Join the discussion!

More Discussions

  1.  243Father of Lions:
    Louise Callaghan

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win Sounds Like Titanic

"The definition of an overdeliver." —Vox

"A tricky, unnerving, consistently fascinating memoir."
Kirkus, starred review

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I You've G I, F I

and be entered to win..

Book Club Recommendations
Featured Book Club

featured bookclub

Recent Reader Reviews
  • American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    American Dirt is a book that embraces you in a tango of drama, love and strong emotions during a time of turbulence and unrest. It's hard to put the book down once you ...
    read more

  • American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    Politics and controversy aside, let me tell you about this amazing book I just read. It is one of those rare gems that you think of all day, looking forward to when you ...
    read more

  • The End of the Ocean
    by Maja Lunde

    I came upon The End of the Ocean by happy accident. This book was a captivating read from page one. The stories of the two main characters seemingly unrelated and their ...
    read more

  • Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    This is nonfiction: the true story of the evacuation of the Mosul Zoo. Imad, also known as Abu Laith which means Father of Lions, is a car mechanic and the self-...
    read more

  • The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    I was so sad to reach the end of this book …. sniff, sniff...I always feel like crying a little when this book ends. Especially, this one. I always want great reads to ...
    read more

  • Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    This was a very compelling true account of love and loyalty during the time of war. The author did a great job of setting the scene of what these people were facing from...
    read more

Give a BookBrowse Membership

A BookBrowse Membership is the ideal gift for your book loving friends and family.

Give a Gift Membership

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.