• Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The World That We Knew

    The World That We Knew
    by Alice Hoffman

    BookBrowse Review
    Alice Hoffman's sparkling prose and immersive descriptions of place summon readers into World War II. Chapters are place- and time-marked from 1941-1944, to guide readers ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Karen Lewis
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Children's Art of the Holocaust

    In Alice Hoffman's novel The World That We Knew, Julien, 14, escapes occupied Paris and finds temporary refuge at a rural chateau-turned-orphanage. He tutors math and participates in art workshops there. The displaced children survive day-to-day, and... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead

    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk

    BookBrowse Review
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead both dazzles and defies categorization. Olga Tokarczuk's seventh ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Rachel Hullett
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Women in Translation

    Translated fiction is something of a rarity in the English-speaking world. It's been widely reported that only about 3% of books published in the United States were originally written in a language other than English – a statistic that led ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You

    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott

    BookBrowse Review
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So it comes as quite a shock to the system to encounter the genuine article. ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Dean Muscat
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Play of Slave Children

    One of the stories in The World Doesn't Require You is inspired by the games of slave children. Given the harsh and miserable social realities forced upon slaves, it almost seems antithetical to think there was opportunity for play and games. However... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The Long Call

    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves

    BookBrowse Review
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits into a standard template: there's a murder; someone investigates; clues ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Kim Kovacs
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Ann Cleeves' Five Mystery Series

    Ann Cleeves (b. 1954) is best known for her mystery novels set in rural Britain, which have sold over five million copies in the thirty-plus years she's been writing. Cleeves has penned four series before releasing The Long Call, the first entry in ... Beyond the Book

This Week's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Great Alone
  • Book Jacket: Marley
  • Book Jacket: Guest House for Young Widows
  • Book Jacket: The Stranger Diaries
  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
  • Book Jacket: A Well-Behaved Woman
  • Book Jacket: The Far Field
  • Book Jacket: The Kites
  • Book Jacket: Butterfly Yellow
  • Book Jacket: Who Put This Song On?
  • Book Jacket: Melmoth
  • Book Jacket: Cantoras
  • Book Jacket: The Last True Poets of the Sea
  • Book Jacket: Beautiful Country Burn Again
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
  • Book Jacket: A Spark of Light

Find a book

Find Your Next Great Read!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

Members read and review books before they're published. See what they'll be reviewing soon.

  • BookBrowse Book Club
    Book Jacket

    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson

    A story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere.

    Join the discussion!

More Discussions

  1.  211Today We Go Home:
    Kelli Estes

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Book Club Recommendations
Featured Book Club

featured bookclub

Recent Reader Reviews
  • Everything Inside
    by Edwidge Danticat

    Edwige Danticat in these delicately told stories faces head on the lives of immigrants from Haiti facing hardship there and here, people between two cultures, the high ...
    read more

  • Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati

    I enjoyed this book, it is a great follow up to the Gilded Hour, and can't wait to read the 3rd book! At 600 pages, I was at first dubious on how the author could keep ...
    read more

  • The Stationery Shop
    by Marjan Kamali

    “Look, Zari, being in love is difficult to explain. When you know it’s right, you just know. There’s no avoiding it. It’s like … it’s like a tree has fallen on your head....
    read more

  • The Secrets We Kept
    by Lara Prescott

    Now a Reese's Book Club pick! Happy to see that this Cold War thriller with literature at its heart is generating so much interest. I had no idea of the controversy ...
    read more

  • The Invention of Wings
    by Sue Monk Kidd

    Sarah Grimke and Handful were complete opposites in the society of the 1800's. Sarah was the daughter of a plantation owner, and Handful was her maid. Both were ...
    read more

  • Inland
    by Téa Obreht

    Inland captivated me from the beginning. It is that rare story, one that once I reached the end I wanted to go back to the beginning and start again. There are so many ...
    read more

Give a BookBrowse Membership

A BookBrowse Membership is the ideal gift for your book loving friends and family.

Give a Gift Membership

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.