Write your own review of La Belle Sauvage by Philip Pullman, read other people's reviews and browse a book excerpt from La Belle Sauvage.

La Belle Sauvage

The Book of Dust #1

by Philip Pullman

La Belle Sauvage by Philip Pullman X
La Belle Sauvage by Philip Pullman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2017, 464 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2019, 464 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Michelle Anya Anjirbag
Buy This Book

What do you think? Write a review of this book!

Reader Review

Please focus your review on what you think of the book and why you recommend/don't recommend it. Please do not summarize the plot or give plot spoilers of any type or we will not be able to post your review. Please click here to read the review guidelines.

Teachers: Please do not assign your class to post book reports on BookBrowse. We cannot accept book reports. See guidelines for more on this.

  • A valid email address is required in order to post a review, but it will not display online
  • Please read and check the box below to indicate your agreement:

    • The name I have used in this review is my real name (or my preferred screen name). I am not attempting to pass myself off as another person.
    • This review expresses my own personal opinion. I have not been asked to post it by the author, their publishing company or anyone connected with the book or author.
    • My email address is valid. I understand that it will not be displayed but agree that, if necessary, BookBrowse can contact me at the address to verify a review.
    • I understand that all reviews are posted at the discretion of BookBrowse, and may be edited or deleted. BookBrowse's aim is to display all reviews exactly as they are posted, but there are exceptions. Click for details.
    • By submitting this review I give BookBrowse the right to display & distribute this review, and my displayed name, in any media, royalty-free.

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Hello Beautiful
    Hello Beautiful
    by Ann Napolitano
    Ann Napolitano's much-anticipated Hello Beautiful pulls the reader into a warm, loving familial ...
  • Book Jacket: The West
    The West
    by Naoíse Mac Sweeney
    It's become common for history books and courses to reconsider the emphasis on "Western Civilization...
  • Book Jacket
    A Death in Denmark
    by Amulya Malladi
    Can a mystery novel be informative, intriguing and deeply comforting all at once? Amulya Malladi ...
  • Book Jacket
    Shrines of Gaiety
    by Kate Atkinson
    A few years ago, magazines ran pieces about how the 2020s were likely to be the 1920s all over again...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Clytemnestra
    by Costanza Casati

    Madeline Miller's Circe meets Cersei Lannister in this propulsive and richly drawn debut.

  • Book Jacket

    Paper Names
    by Susie Luo

    A propulsive and sweeping story of family, identity and the American experience—for fans of Jean Kwok and Mary Beth Keane.

Win This Book
Win Such Kindness

30 Copies to Give Away!

Few writers paint three-dimensional characters with such verve and humanism.
Booklist (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.