We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of Right As Rain by George Pelecanos

Right As Rain

by George Pelecanos

Right As Rain by George Pelecanos X
Right As Rain by George Pelecanos
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2001, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2002, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A masterwork of psychological intrigue and dramatic plotting leading up to an explosive, unforgettable climax.

George Pelecanos, "one of those dangerous writers who aren't afraid to take risks" (New York Times), delivers a brilliant and blazingly fast-paced novel about family secrets and retribution set on the dark side of Washington, D.C.—the side that politicians and diplomats never dare to enter.

Derek Strange is an ex-cop who's making a good living with his own business, a detective agency called Strange Investigations. A new case hits him close to home: A police officer has been slain by another policeman in a confusing late-night clash, and the dead officer's mother asks Strange to help her make sense of his killing. That mother's request sends Strange into the darkest chasms of the D.C. underworld, where police officers and criminals operate by their own secret laws, and where human life is sometimes of less consequence than cash, drugs, and other forms of currency. Strange is joined in his quest by Terry Quinn, the officer who was exonerated in the police inquiry into the shooting but who is still haunted by that terrifying night. Together Strange and Quinn confront the ravages of an unquenchable drug trade, the realities of race in the capital police force, and some of the most implacable, dead-eyed killers ever to haunt the pages of a novel.

The storytelling brilliance and emotional force of George Pelecanos's novels have led other masters of crime fiction to hail him as "one of the best crime novelists alive" (Dennis Lehane) and "the best-kept secret in crime fiction—maybe all fiction" (Michael Connelly). In Right as Rain he has written his most immediate and powerful book ever, a masterwork of psychological intrigue and dramatic plotting leading up to an explosive, unforgettable climax. It is a novel that confirms George Pelecanos's place among the giants of crime fiction.

Chapter One

What Derek Strange was worried about, looking at Jimmy Simmons sitting there, spilling over a chair on the other side of his desk, was that Simmons was going to pick some of Strange's personal shit up off the desktop in front of him and start winging it across the room. Either that or get to bawling like a damn baby. Strange didn't know which thing he wanted to happen less. He had some items on that desk that meant a lot to him: gifts women had given him over the years, tokens of gratitude from clients, and a couple of Redskins souvenirs from back in the 1960s. But watching a man cry, that was one thing he could not take.

"Tell me again, Derek." Simmons's lip was trembling, and pools of tears were threatening to break from the corners of his bloodshot eyes. "Tell me again what that motherfucker looked like, man."

"It's all in the report," said Strange.

"I'm gonna kill him, see? And right after that, I'm gonna kill his ass again."

"You're talkin' no sense,...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Library Journal
Anybody looking for nonstop adventure should be steered elsewhere (a Redskins game, maybe), but if readers like their action interspersed with conversations about the neighborhood and the good old days, Pelecanos delivers.

Library Journal
Anybody looking for nonstop adventure should be steered elsewhere (a Redskins game, maybe), but if readers like their action interspersed with conversations about the neighborhood and the good old days, Pelecanos delivers.

Publisher's Weekly
Nearly a decade after Pelecanos (Shame the Devil; Nick's Trip) introduced Nick Stefanos to the private eye scene, the hard-boiled specialist has come up with a new urban gumshoe who's just as tantalizing to watch in action..

Author Blurb Elmore Leonard, author of Pagan Babies
A terrific book, full of characters I wish I had thought of. With Right As Rain Pelecanos goes high on my list of writers I have to read.

Author Blurb Elmore Leonard, author of Pagan Babies
A terrific book, full of characters I wish I had thought of. With Right As Rain Pelecanos goes high on my list of writers I have to read.

Author Blurb Harlan Coben, author of Darkest Fear
Right As Rain is flat-out the best PI novel I've read this year-a massively entertaining, high-octane page-turner from George Pelecanos, one of our best writers.

Author Blurb Harlan Coben, author of Darkest Fear
Right As Rain is flat-out the best PI novel I've read this year-a massively entertaining, high-octane page-turner from George Pelecanos, one of our best writers.

Author Blurb James Crumley, author of The Last Good Kiss
Right As Rain is a fine book, a terrific read, a hard look at the underbelly of Washington, D.C., and a compelling story. It sparkles with intelligence, good humor, and a wonderful decency.

Author Blurb Robert Ferrigno, author of Heartbreaker
Right As Rain is Pelecano's best book yet, full of vivid characters, dead-on dialogue, and an intricate plot that never seems false or forced. I loved every page.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Right As Rain, try these:

We have 4 read-alikes for Right As Rain, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by George Pelecanos
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.