Summary and book reviews of Right As Rain by George Pelecanos

Right As Rain

by George Pelecanos

Right As Rain by George Pelecanos X
Right As Rain by George Pelecanos
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2001, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2002, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A masterwork of psychological intrigue and dramatic plotting leading up to an explosive, unforgettable climax.

George Pelecanos, "one of those dangerous writers who aren't afraid to take risks" (New York Times), delivers a brilliant and blazingly fast-paced novel about family secrets and retribution set on the dark side of Washington, D.C.—the side that politicians and diplomats never dare to enter.

Derek Strange is an ex-cop who's making a good living with his own business, a detective agency called Strange Investigations. A new case hits him close to home: A police officer has been slain by another policeman in a confusing late-night clash, and the dead officer's mother asks Strange to help her make sense of his killing. That mother's request sends Strange into the darkest chasms of the D.C. underworld, where police officers and criminals operate by their own secret laws, and where human life is sometimes of less consequence than cash, drugs, and other forms of currency. Strange is joined in his quest by Terry Quinn, the officer who was exonerated in the police inquiry into the shooting but who is still haunted by that terrifying night. Together Strange and Quinn confront the ravages of an unquenchable drug trade, the realities of race in the capital police force, and some of the most implacable, dead-eyed killers ever to haunt the pages of a novel.

The storytelling brilliance and emotional force of George Pelecanos's novels have led other masters of crime fiction to hail him as "one of the best crime novelists alive" (Dennis Lehane) and "the best-kept secret in crime fiction—maybe all fiction" (Michael Connelly). In Right as Rain he has written his most immediate and powerful book ever, a masterwork of psychological intrigue and dramatic plotting leading up to an explosive, unforgettable climax. It is a novel that confirms George Pelecanos's place among the giants of crime fiction.

Chapter One

What Derek Strange was worried about, looking at Jimmy Simmons sitting there, spilling over a chair on the other side of his desk, was that Simmons was going to pick some of Strange's personal shit up off the desktop in front of him and start winging it across the room. Either that or get to bawling like a damn baby. Strange didn't know which thing he wanted to happen less. He had some items on that desk that meant a lot to him: gifts women had given him over the years, tokens of gratitude from clients, and a couple of Redskins souvenirs from back in the 1960s. But watching a man cry, that was one thing he could not take.

"Tell me again, Derek." Simmons's lip was trembling, and pools of tears were threatening to break from the corners of his bloodshot eyes. "Tell me again what that motherfucker looked like, man."

"It's all in the report," said Strange.

"I'm gonna kill him, see? And right after that, I'm gonna kill his ass again."

"You're talkin' no sense,...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Library Journal
Anybody looking for nonstop adventure should be steered elsewhere (a Redskins game, maybe), but if readers like their action interspersed with conversations about the neighborhood and the good old days, Pelecanos delivers.

Publisher's Weekly
Nearly a decade after Pelecanos (Shame the Devil; Nick's Trip) introduced Nick Stefanos to the private eye scene, the hard-boiled specialist has come up with a new urban gumshoe who's just as tantalizing to watch in action..

Library Journal
Anybody looking for nonstop adventure should be steered elsewhere (a Redskins game, maybe), but if readers like their action interspersed with conversations about the neighborhood and the good old days, Pelecanos delivers.

Author Blurb Harlan Coben, author of Darkest Fear
Right As Rain is flat-out the best PI novel I've read this year-a massively entertaining, high-octane page-turner from George Pelecanos, one of our best writers.

Author Blurb Elmore Leonard, author of Pagan Babies
A terrific book, full of characters I wish I had thought of. With Right As Rain Pelecanos goes high on my list of writers I have to read.

Author Blurb Harlan Coben, author of Darkest Fear
Right As Rain is flat-out the best PI novel I've read this year-a massively entertaining, high-octane page-turner from George Pelecanos, one of our best writers.

Author Blurb Elmore Leonard, author of Pagan Babies
A terrific book, full of characters I wish I had thought of. With Right As Rain Pelecanos goes high on my list of writers I have to read.

Author Blurb James Crumley, author of The Last Good Kiss
Right As Rain is a fine book, a terrific read, a hard look at the underbelly of Washington, D.C., and a compelling story. It sparkles with intelligence, good humor, and a wonderful decency.

Author Blurb Robert Ferrigno, author of Heartbreaker
Right As Rain is Pelecano's best book yet, full of vivid characters, dead-on dialogue, and an intricate plot that never seems false or forced. I loved every page.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by George Pelecanos

If you liked Right As Rain, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    More News Tomorrow
    by Susan Richards Shreve

    An irresistible portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Fly Girls
by Keith O'Brien

How five daring women defied all odds and made aviation history.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.