MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of Night Whispers by Judith McNaught

Night Whispers

by Judith McNaught

Night Whispers by Judith McNaught X
Night Whispers by Judith McNaught
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 1998, 383 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 1999, 451 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Breathtaking suspense and harrowing plot twists in a thrilling page-turner graced with the unforgettable characters and vivid, atmospheric details that flow from the rich imagination of such a gifted writer.

Eight New York Times bestsellers and more than twenty million books in print have affirmed Judith McNaught's stature as the reigning monarch of superb storytelling. Now, she creates breathtaking suspense and harrowing plot twists in her thrilling new page-turner graced with the unforgettable characters and vivid, atmospheric details that flow from the rich imagination of such a gifted writer. Welcome to Judith McNaught at high voltage -- in her most masterful, enthralling novel yet.

The heady social whirl of San Francisco and Palm Beach are utterly foreign to Sloan Reynolds. A dedicated and popular policewoman in a small Florida community, petite, blond Sloan values her investigative work more than a Dior dress. As a child, Sloan was aware that the small-town life she shared with her divorced mother was a long way from the rarefied world of privilege inhabited by her socialite father and her elegant sister, Paris. Yet, instead of resenting her sister, Sloan dreamed secretly of being reunited with the family she'd never known. Total strangers to her, they have never tried to contact Sloan -- until her father's heart attack is followed by a sudden invitation to meet him and Paris, and indulge in the Palm Beach social season.

Now, unmoved by his long overdue parental gesture, Sloan ignores the request, until FBI agent Paul Richardson informs her that her father and his associates are being investigated for fraud, conspiracy, and murder. Richardson persuades her to accept her father's invitation, and to bring him along as her "significant other."

Sloan's on top of the game, until she meets Noah Maitland, a powerfully attractive multinational corporate player, and one of the FBI's prime suspects. Instantly she senses that he is the kind of man she is most afraid of wanting, let alone loving. The intoxicating mix of wealth, glamour, and lush living turns sinister when an FBI informant is murdered and another killing takes a shocking personal toll on Sloan. The evidence points to her father, whom she wants so desperately to trust, and to Noah, whom she loves so completely against her will.

As Sloan's respect for justice and her growing trust in Paul Richardson battle with the deepest instincts of her heart, she must maneuver through a web of deceit and passion, hope and fear, to decipher the meaning of the images that haunt her nightmares, and the truth behind those terrifying whispers in the dark....

Chapter One

He'd been following her for three days, watching. Waiting.

By now, he knew her habits and her schedule. He knew what time she got up in the morning, whom she saw during the day, and what time she went to sleep. He knew she read in bed at night, propped up on pillows. He knew the title of the book she was reading, and that she laid it facedown on the nightstand to keep her place before she finally turned off the lamp.

He knew her thick blond hair was natural and that the startling blue-violet color of her eyes was not the result of the contact lenses she wore. He knew she bought her makeup at the drugstore and that she spent exactly twenty-five minutes getting ready to go to work in the morning. Obviously, she was more interested in being clean and neat than in enhancing her physical assets. He, however, was very interested in her considerable physical assets. But not urgently and not for the "usual" ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

People Magazine
A fast-paced romantic thriller.

Chicago Tribune
Judith McNaught comes close to an Edith Wharton edge.

Dallas Morning News
McNaught undoubtedly knows a thing or two about love.

Dallas Morning News
McNaught undoubtedly knows a thing or two about love.

USA Today
When it comes to romance, Judith McNaught is in a class by herself.

Reader Reviews

Yus Asreen Ayub

Judith McKnaught has always been known for her strong-heroine role of characters and Night Whispers is no exception. The thrilling and unexpected happenings are all too much to be endeared upon as well as to restlessly sleep at night knowing you ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Judith McNaught

If you liked Night Whispers, try these:

  • High Tide jacket

    High Tide

    by Jude Devereaux

    Published 2000

    About this book

    Only in the heart of the swamplands could Fiona get lost in a maze of intrigue and become the prime suspect for a shocking murder -- with Ace as her presumed accomplice.

  • All The Queen's Men jacket

    All The Queen's Men

    by Linda Howard

    Published 2000

    About this book

    More books by this author

    In a world of deception, one thing is clear: John Medina has once again set Niema on a freefall into danger and desire - and one can't exist without the other.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.