Summary and book reviews of A Monk Swimming by Malachy McCourt

A Monk Swimming

A Memoir

by Malachy McCourt

A Monk Swimming by Malachy McCourt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 1998, 290 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 1999, 255 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Darkly funny, shockingly raw, and everywhere making the English language do tricks the British never intended, Malachy tells this story with passion, wit, irreverence, and charm

In 1952, travelling steerage, Malachy McCourt left a childhood of poverty in Limerick, Ireland, heading for the promise of America. This is the story of what he brought with him, and what he thought he left behind.

Larger than life, a world-class drinker, McCourt carved out a place for himself in New York City: in the saloons, as the first celebrity bartender, mixing with socialites, writers, and movie stars, on stage and on television, where the tales he spun made him a Tonight Show regular.

He had money and women and, eventually, children of his own; and that's when he found he had not left his memories as far behind as he had thought. He had no choice but to stop and turn and face his past.

Darkly funny, shockingly raw, and everywhere making the English language do tricks the British never intended, Malachy McCourt, a true original, tells this story with passion, wit, irreverence, and charm.

Excerpt from Chapter One

There is a story in our family that one day my mother was strolling along with my brother Frank and myself, and pushing our twins in a pram. A huge black motorcar stopped at the kerb, and out hopped a smartly dressed chauffeur, who opened the rear door for a bejeweled, befurred grande-dame type of woman who, putting the well-shod feet on the ground, commanded the mother to stop, which she did promptly. Then the grande dame waxed lyrical on the subject of myself--how, she had never seen a more beautiful little boy: the blonde hair, the gleaming teeth, the gorgeous skin, and the smile--and bow she would pay any amount of money to the mother to allow her to adopt me.

The mother, as the story is told, thought, and thought, and thought, and said it was an attractive proposition, but she couldn't think of a way to explain my disappearance to my father, who had not yet disappeared himself, so she reluctantly declined the offer.

In later years, &...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

New York Times

Where Angela's Ashes is about the McCourts' childhood in Limerick, A Monk Swimming picks up the story after the brothers return to America. Where the older brother writes in the modulated lyricism of an Irish-American looking back to a distant time and place, the younger brother speaks in the raucous brogue of a native freshly landed on a foreign shore.

People Magazine

Irresistible...equal parts pathos and belly laughs.

People Magazine

Irresistible...equal parts pathos and belly laughs.

Author Blurb Jim Sheridan, filmmaker, My Left Foot
'If you don't like laughing, you'll hate this book.' -

Author Blurb Jim Sheridan, filmmaker, My Left Foot
'If you don't like laughing, you'll hate this book.' -

Reader Reviews

Mark Williams

normal
Hugely funny with very real descriptions of life's ups and downs. I was impressed with the writing style, wit and cleaver use of phrases. It was entertaining even though I don't drink alcohol and think alcohol overuse is idiotic. I think most ...   Read More

Michael Draper

Those who do not like this book are, quite possibly, of the same distemperent disposition of the tight-xxxxxx brit-oriented Anglophiles whom Mr. McCourt so jovially dissects in this hillariously dark memoir. Those who despise this book must suffer a ...   Read More

Anonymous
Daniel McDermount
I found this book to be above average at parts, but as a whole, I was not entirely pleased. Yes, Mr. McCourt shared many interesting accounts of his life with the readers, but I must agree with Ms. McIlraith. His use of language ...   Read More

Anonymous
Eric Carlsson
My dear Erin, nothing could be further from the truth. "A Monk Swimming" is a devilishly funny, and outrageously entertaining book. To try and compare it to "Angela's Ashes" is like drawing parallels between apples ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked A Monk Swimming, try these:

  • The Tender Bar jacket

    The Tender Bar

    by J.R. Moehringer

    Published 2006

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs - a classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

  • Tis jacket

    Tis

    by Frank McCourt

    Published 2000

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The story of Frank's American journey from impoverished immigrant to brilliant teacher and raconteur.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.