Reader reviews and comments on A Monk Swimming, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Monk Swimming

A Memoir

by Malachy McCourt

A Monk Swimming by Malachy McCourt X
A Monk Swimming by Malachy McCourt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 1998, 290 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 1999, 255 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 5 reader reviews for A Monk Swimming
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Mark Williams

normal
Hugely funny with very real descriptions of life's ups and downs. I was impressed with the writing style, wit and cleaver use of phrases.
It was entertaining even though I don't drink alcohol and think alcohol overuse is idiotic. I think most people miss one point -maybe the biggest point that McCourt was trying to make - that he became the father/husband he did not like, and in the end the father that he could not have was what his children could not have, and he owed it mostly to huge amounts of alcohol.
Michael Draper

Those who do not like this book are, quite possibly, of the same distemperent disposition of the tight-xxxxxx brit-oriented Anglophiles whom Mr. McCourt so jovially dissects in this hillariously dark memoir. Those who despise this book must suffer a terminal case of 'the fear of recognition', for who else but the social nosferatu, head planted firmly in xxxx, self-righteous indignation in tow, could ever dislike a novel of such honesty, passion, and humor. To you, the Anglomaniac psychic vampires and culture vulture alike, I say a hearty, "God Save The Queen!" Those who refuse to laugh or smile must, by penalty of law, give their lips to someone more deserving.


Daniel McDermount
I found this book to be above average at parts, but as a whole, I was not entirely pleased. Yes, Mr. McCourt shared many interesting accounts of his life with the readers, but I must agree with Ms. McIlraith. His use of language could be a bit offensive at times. I also felt that the man's abuse of women was unnecessarily vulgar and lude. However, it could also be hilariously funny at times. So though there are many shortcomings to this book, there are also a great many successes.


Eric Carlsson
My dear Erin, nothing could be further from the truth. "A Monk Swimming" is a devilishly funny, and outrageously entertaining book. To try and compare it to "Angela's Ashes" is like drawing parallels between apples and oranges. For one is the dark, evoking memoir of a horribly harsh childhood, and the other; a memoir of the lighter, sometimes equally as dark, times in the life of younger brother Malachy. The book remains a complete enjoyment from start to finish, and I recommend you re-open it (I hesitate "re-" b/c it appears by your review, as though you have yet to open it once) and read the book. Not as a person looking to discover more of the hardship childhood in Limerick, but someone who simply desires to read a great book.


Erin McIlraith
I personally despised this book. It was the worst memoir I have ever read! I find Mr. McCourt's language disturbing and his accounts with pretty "young things" sickening. He gives the Irish a bad name. Not to mention, most of the time while reading his book, I wasn't sure what he felt he was accomplishing by writing it. It was all pointless babble. He should learn how to write from his brother Frank. Now HE can write.
  • Page
  • 1

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World That We Knew
    The World That We Knew
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's sparkling prose and immersive descriptions of place summon readers into World War II...
  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.