We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families by Philip Gourevitch

We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families

Stories From Rwanda

by Philip Gourevitch

We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families by Philip Gourevitch X
We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families by Philip Gourevitch
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1998, 356 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2000, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

In 1994 the Rwandan government implemented a policy that called on everyone in the Hutu majority to murder everyone in the Tutsi minority: 800,000 people were massacred. Read their story.

This extraordinary book concerns what happened when the Rwandan government in 1994 implemented a policy that called on everyone in the Hutu majority to murder everyone in the Tutsi minority. Though the massacres were low-tech - done largely by machete - they were carried out at dazzling speed, and 800,000 people were killed in a hundred days. Pastors in one Tutsi community sent a letter to their church president, a Hutu, that included the chilling phrase that gives Philip Gourevitch his title.

Mr. Gourevitch's haunting work is not only an anatomy of this genocide and what Rwandans call its "genocidal logic," but a vivid history of the background to the tragedy and an unforgettable account of its aftermath: the mass displacements, the temptations of revenge and the quest for justice, the replacement of elites and the plight of survivors, the impossibly crowded prisons and militant refugee camps. His intimate portraits of Rwandans in all walks of life as they cope with the psychological and political challenges of survival make their tragic situation unexpectedly immediate and familiar; his dramatic narrative also shows how resurgent genocidal forces threatened to plunge central Africa into total war and how this sparked the drive to oust Mobutu from power in the Congo. Lastly, he contrasts the Rwandans' provocatively original political response to the horror with the wholly inadequate reactions of international humanitarian organizations and foreign governments - not least the United States.

It is impossible to achieve full justice after genocide, but Rwanda faces the old anguish in new ways: how can people who have suffered so grievously manage to live together in a single cohesive society with those who have inflicted such suffering? Mr. Gourevitch's memorable book tells us much about the struggle everywhere on the globe to establish legitimate and sustainable nation-states when we share bloody and compromised histories. His powerful literary testament is a major document about ethical choice and political responsibility.

Excerpt
We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families

IN THE PROVINCE of Kibungo, in eastern Rwanda, in the swamp- and pastureland near the Tanzanian border, there's a rocky hill called Nyarubuye with a church where many Tutsis were slaughtered in mid-April of 1994. A year after the killing I went to Nyurabuye with two Canadian military officers. We flew in a United Nations helicopter, traveling low over the hills in the morning mists, with the banana trees like green starbursts dense over the slopes. The uncut grass blew back as we dropped into the center of the parish schoolyard. A lone solider materialized with his Kalashnikov, and shook our hands with stiff, shy formality. The Canadians presented the paperwork for our visit, and I stepped up into the open doorway of a classroom.

At least fifty mostly decomposed cadavers covered the floor, wadded in clothing, their belongings strewn about and smashed. Macheted skulls had rolled here and there. ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

The New York Times
Pol Pot .. . Hitler . . . Stalin . . . Idi Amin -- these have become familiar names in the directory of state criminality. ''We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families,'' Philip Gourevitch's harrowing account of the Rwandan massacres, makes one wonder if there will ever be a name that goes down indelibly in the mind as the master architect or agent of this -- even now -- unbelievable crime against humanity. Dr. Gerard? His father, Pastor Elizaphan Ntakirutimana? President Habyarimana? Or the formidable Mme. Agathe Kanzinga? The candidature is spread wide, though these are not names that cling easily to memory. The real problem with the Rwandan carnage, as Gourevitch, a staff writer for The New Yorker, makes clear, is that it was not restricted to a crime of state. True, the massacres were meticulously planned and ruthlessly executed by the state, but the instrumentation was widespread and criminality thus collectivized. To capture the uniqueness of the Rwandan crime, one must imagine that nearly the entirety of the German population participated in the liquidation of the Jews, or that the Russian masses responded to Stalin's war against the kulaks, armed themselves with picks and shovels and massacred the kulaks in village after village, instead of merely watching them being herded off to their eventual extermination.

Publishers Weekly
What courage must it have required to research and write this book? And who will read such a ghastly chronicle? Gourevitch who reported from Rwanda for the New Yorker, faces these questions up front The best reason I have come up with for looking more closely into Rwanda's stories is that ignoring them makes me even more uncomfortable about existence and my place in it. The stories are unrelentingly horrifying and filled with the idiocy, the waste, the sheer wrongness of one group of Rwandans (Hutus) methodically exterminating another (Tutsis). With 800,000 people killed in 100 days, Gourevitch found many numbed Rwandans who had lost whole families to the machete....As the Rwandans try to rebuild their lives while awaiting the slow-moving justice system, the careful yet passionate advocacy of reporters like Gourevitch serves to remind both Rwandans and others that genocide occurred in this decade while the world looked on.

Reader Reviews

Amanda Greer age: 19

Amazing book. Not only does Gourevitch put truth right into your face with quality and thoughtful writing, he makes you question what else we aren't being told. He solidly proves that things are often sugarcoated for the masses and to prevent ...   Read More
Soldat

Great book. Really puts a stick in the spokes of the wheels of people who believe in the "humanity" and rationality of the west. "Never again" is just stupid, it happened again in Rwanda and will happen again. If you want to go...   Read More
Aaron Hicks

Unbelievably astonishing wake up call. Eye opening, it will change your perspective. Gourevitch's passion is inspiring to say the least.
Kyleigh

No tip-toeing around what is a very difficult subject. Gives you the facts and the details which allow you to see the whole picture of the Rwandan genocide that has so often been misunderstood.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families, try these:

  • The Girl Who Smiled Beads jacket

    The Girl Who Smiled Beads

    by Elizabeth Weil, Clemantine Wamariya

    Published 2019

    About this book

    More by this author

    A riveting story of dislocation, survival, and the power of stories to break or save us.

  • Running the Rift jacket

    Running the Rift

    by Naomi Benaron

    Published 2012

    About this book

    Running the Rift follows Jean Patrick Nkuba, a gifted Rwandan boy, from the day he knows that running will be his life to the moment he must run to save his life, a ten-year span in which his country is undone by the Hutu-Tutsi tensions.

We have 15 read-alikes for We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Philip Gourevitch
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.