We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of Fever by Sean Rowe

Fever

by Sean Rowe

Fever by Sean Rowe X
Fever by Sean Rowe
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2005, 272 pages

    Paperback:
    Sep 2006, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

'Sean Rowe's Fever is as fresh and blistering and relentless a thriller as any tropical noir I've read. Rowe knows this territory well--especially the creatures that slither about it when the sun goes down. Jump on board, hang on tight.'

Matt "Loose Cannon" Shannon is an ex-FBI agent turned head of security for the world's largest cruise line. It's a career move that owes more to his predilection for the bottle and a few well hidden skeletons than his fondness for the Miami sun.

In the novel's explosive opening, Shannon's stepbrother, Jack Fontana, puts his back against the wall. At a waterfront reunion, Fontana gives Shannon what looks like a game controller - and before he knows what he's done, Shannon has sunk a freighter in Miami's shipping lane and his fingerprints are all over the device that sent the signal. Only once he's cornered does Shannon learn his stepbrother's real plan - a cruise ship job that could make enough money to last their lifetimes. Shannon thinks he's only providing backup and intelligence. And by the time he learns what's really going on, he's in too deep: the cruise ship has been hijacked and several people are already dead.

Fever is the story of Shannon's race to unravel the deadly labyrinth. With the help of a mysterious woman and his own instincts, he finds the one path that might allow him to survive.

1

SOME GUYS DON'T KNOW when to quit. That's your problem."

It was Fontana's voice. I heard the voice before I felt the hand on my shoulder. When I looked up he was standing behind me, hazy in the smoked glass of the mirror on the back bar, out of prison three years early.

"You think you've seen it all," he said, the hand gone. "You think you've run your course, but you can't quite bring yourself to cash it in. So on you go: another day, another drink. What you really need is to find some noble exit. Some way of going out in a big blaze of glory."

The kid behind the bar had been filling sample glasses and letting me taste each one. The place made its own beer: raspberry, India pale ale, one that tasted like molasses. You could see big copper vats behind a glass wall.

"Let's grab a table outside," Fontana said. "You have to get ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

The Washington Post - Patrick Anderson
… a nifty thriller about some crooks who set out to hijack a cruise ship … it shines brightly as his taut little tale comes rolling down the tracks.

Author Blurb George Pelecanos
Fever is a rock-steady, hard-edged thriller, elevated by humor and genuine humanity. A notable debut from Sean Rowe.

Author Blurb James Patterson
I read an awful lot of books, hoping for, waiting for, one like Fever to come along. Sean Rowe does just about everything right in this novel. If it helps you, think Ocean's Eleven meets Carl Hiaasen, except Fever is actually better than that.

Author Blurb Jeffery Deaver
A compelling thriller from a great new talent. With Fever, author Rowe gives us lucky readers a story that's both a sweaty-palm nautical thriller and a tale echoing the Florida crime writing tradition at its best, all told in his own hard-hitting, stylish voice. Read the first page with caution; you better not have any plans for the rest of the day.

Author Blurb Les Standiford
Sean Rowe's Fever is as fresh and blistering and relentless a thriller as any tropical noir I've read. Rowe knows this territory well--especially the creatures that slither about it when the sun goes down. Jump on board, hang on tight.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Fever, try these:

  • The Vaccine Race jacket

    The Vaccine Race

    by Meredith Wadman

    Published 2018

    About this book

    The epic and controversial story of a major breakthrough in cell biology that led to the conquest of rubella and other devastating diseases.

  • A Window in Copacabana jacket

    A Window in Copacabana

    by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza

    Published 2006

    About this book

    More by this author

    A ruthless group of corrupt cops is playing a lethal game of cat and mouse in the latest installment in Garcia-Roza's Brazilian crime series.

We have 5 read-alikes for Fever, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.