We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of Every Man A Tiger by Tom Clancy

Every Man A Tiger

by Tom Clancy, General Chuck Horner

Every Man A Tiger by Tom Clancy, General Chuck Horner X
Every Man A Tiger by Tom Clancy, General Chuck Horner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    May 2000, 576 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A ground-breaking exploration of the art of war - a look deep into modern air power, as seen through the eyes of one of its most outstanding commanders.

Every Man a Tiger is a ground-breaking exploration of the art of war -- a look deep into modern air power, as seen through the eyes of one of its most outstanding commanders.

Tom Clancy's Into the Storm, written with armor and infantry General Fred Franks, Jr., won unanimous praise for its masterful blend of military history, biography, you-are-there narrative, insights into the practice of leadership, and plain old-fashioned storytelling. Every Man a Tiger is even better, a book that, like its subject, soars into the sky.

General Chuck Horner was the right man in the right place at the right time. Combining a broad experience of all aspects of aerial warfare with a deep respect for and knowledge of Arab culture, Horner commanded the U.S. and allied air assets during Desert Shield and Desert Storm -- the forces of a dozen nations -- and was responsible for the design and execution of one of the most devastating air campaigns in history. Never before have the Gulf air war and its planning, a process filled with controversy and stormy personalities, been revealed in such rich, provocative detail.

Beyond that, however, Every Man a Tiger is the story of two revolutions: of how a service damaged by Vietnam reinvented itself through vision, determination, and brutally hard work -- in Horner's words, "We had to learn how to be an Air Force all over again" -- and of how war changed fundamentally in the last decade of the century, not only in the new dominance of air power, but in all its aspects. It is a story of speed, accuracy, efficiency, information, and initiative, as well as of smoke, fear, courage, and blood. It is a front-row seat to a man, an institution, a war, and a way of war that together make this an instant classic of military history.

Prologue: 3 August 1990

On Friday morning of the August week in 1990 when Iraq invaded Kuwait, Lieutenant General Chuck Horner was at 27,000 feet, cruising at .9 Mach (540 knots), and nearing the North Carolina coast. He was headed out to sea in the Lady Ashley, a recent-model Block 25 F-16C, tail number 216, that had been named after the daughter of his crew chief, Technical Sergeant José Santos. Horner's aide, Lieutenant Colonel Jim Hartinger, Jr., known as "Little Grr," was on Horner's left side, a mile out, slightly high. Horner and Hartinger were en route to a mock combat with a pair of F-15Cs out of the 1st Tactical Fighter Wing (TFW) at Langley Air Force Base in Tidewater Hampton, Virginia: a winner-take-all contest that would match wits and flying skills. After that, they were all scheduled to form up and return to Langley AFB as a flight of four aircraft.

It was a bright, clear day-a good day to be in the air. Horner felt the joy he always did when ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
An absorbing, detailed, and useful study of soldiers under stress and deadly events that tested their courage, determination and efficiency.

Library Journal
Given that Clancy is the best-selling writer of such novels as The Hunt for Red October and Red Storm Rising, one would expect lucidity of prose and a logical presentation of topics, and that's just what [we get].

Publishers Weekly
Clancy's second study in high command of the U.S. armed forces (after Into the Storm, written with Army general Fred Franks) focuses on Air Force general Chuck Horner, the fighter pilot who was overall air commander for Desert Shield/Desert Storm. This book is less about the Gulf War than about the making of a modern fighter general and the remaking of a modern air force.....The implication is clear: to succeed in an unpredictable international environment, America's armed forces will need tigers at their head. Tigers are dangerous. They challenge each other. They take issue with higher wisdom and higher authority. And, according to the authors, they can be replaced by safely neutered house cats only at the country's peril.

Reader Reviews

dave

this book rocks
d brown

I love the audio book...had me spell bound...gret for rush hour traffic...ty Gen horner for sharing with us Your story
Anonymous
From Norman I. Lee, III
An excellent book especially, for the student of Military History and Airpower. I have one comment; however, some of the charts from Jack Ryan Enterprises take away from the book's technical accuracy. For example, the chart ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Every Man A Tiger, try these:

  • Fire Ice jacket

    Fire Ice

    by Clive Cussler, Paul Kemprecos

    Published 2003

    About this book

    More by this author

    In the heart of the old Soviet Union, a mining tycoon has proclaimed himself czar of Russia. U.S. opposition doesn't bother him one bit. A little crisis of their own should distract the Americans for a while, and he knows just the thing. . . .

  • The Prometheus Deception jacket

    The Prometheus Deception

    by Robert Ludlum

    Published 2001

    About this book

    More by this author

    Nicholas Bryson spent years as a deep cover operative for an American secret intelligence group, The Directorate. After critical undercover mission went horribly wrong, Bryson was retired to a new identity. Years later, his cover is cracked and Bryson learns that the Directorate was not what it claimed.

We have 5 read-alikes for Every Man A Tiger, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Tom Clancy
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.