Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of For Matrimonial Purposes by Kavita Daswani

For Matrimonial Purposes

by Kavita Daswani

For Matrimonial Purposes by Kavita Daswani X
For Matrimonial Purposes by Kavita Daswani
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2003, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2004, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

An unconventional heroine defies tradition by making a marriage between the strict customs of India and the wild freedoms of America to find her own happy ending.

Hilarious and heartwarming, For Matrimonial Purposes proves that while the search for love takes many forms, the heartbreak and exhilaration are universal. In a sensual whirl of silk and spices, Kavita Daswani takes us from Bombay to New York and back again - in what is sure to be one of the most welcomed debuts of the summer.

Unmarried at twenty-four - and with no prospects in sight - Anju is a great source of worry to her family. Despite the best efforts of relatives, fortune-tellers, and matchmakers to arrange a marriage, she can't seem to find a husband - or at least one she's willing to marry.

Quickly becoming a spinster by her culture's standards, she is eager to escape the community that views her as a failure. After pleading with her parents for permission, she boards a plane bound for the United States and a dream of a career. And although husband-hunting isn't any easier in New York City, at least she's got company

Chapter One

The normal religious marriage was and still is arranged by the parents of the couple, after much consultation, and the study of omens, horoscopes and auspicious physical characteristics. . . . While a husband should be at least twenty, a girl should be married immediately before puberty.
- A.L. Basham, The Wonder that was India


My grandmother was married off two days shy of her tenth birthday.

My mother found a husband when she was twenty. I thus reckoned that if every generation increased by a decade the acceptable age for marriage, I should have become a wife by thirty.

But at thirty-three, I was nowhere close to being married. And it was this that brought much consternation to all, tainting the joy and inciting hitherto-suppressed family politics, at the wedding of my twenty-two-year-old cousin, Nina.

I was at a family wedding in Bombay, the city where I was born and had spent most of my life. My parents and two brothers still lived here, in the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

USA Today
Daswani...can make readers shriek with laughter. Save this enchanting novel for an uncrowded beach.

Kirkus Reviews
Appealing story, with a fine ear for dialogue and a tender wit an auspicious debut for Los Angeles-based fashion correspondent Daswani.

Library Journal - Shirley N. Quan
Writing with dry wit and liberal doses of humor, Daswani goes back in time to follow Anju's search for matrimonial bliss from age 21, in the process offering insight into Indian culture and traditions as well as a behind-the-scenes peek at the fashion industry. Recommended for all fiction collections and essential for libraries serving Indian populations.

Reader Reviews

Anonymous

Funny, witty book.. all Indian girls, esp living in America can relate to all the episodes the character has to go through.. well written, and real!
christine

Kavita Daswani does a great job throughout this amazing tale. Being Asian, I can find myself relating to similar situations that Anju experiences. Anju is such an amazing character and ought to be admired! She's smart, funny, lovely, loving, and ...   Read More
anjali

Hi, I am 18 going on 19 this month!!!
The Book felt like scenes from my own life - teen life, and what to expect as i go on my 20's. Its what every Indian girl goes through. or will go through at some point in life. It prepares you for martimony.   Read More
angelin

an amazing book! i'm a 17 year old student who chose this book for my english cpt, and i loved it! you wanna know more about indian culture and marriage? read this book! its full of humour and truth. kavita daswani explores the intimate details of a ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked For Matrimonial Purposes, try these:

  • Queen of Dreams jacket

    Queen of Dreams

    by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

    Published 2005

    About this book

    More by this author

    In lush and elegant prose, Divakaruni has crafted a vivid and enduring dream, one that reveals hidden truths about the world we live in, and from which readers will be reluctant to wake.

  • The Seduction of Silence jacket

    The Seduction of Silence

    by Bem Le Hunte

    Published 2004

    About this book

    Both magical and utterly compelling, this spellbinding novel interweaves family sagas with the richness of Indian mysticism, creating an intimate portrait of an unforgettable family.

We have 4 read-alikes for For Matrimonial Purposes, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Who Said...

The purpose of life is to be defeated by greater and greater things.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.