Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Birthright by Nora Roberts

Birthright

by Nora Roberts

Birthright by Nora Roberts X
Birthright by Nora Roberts
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2003, 480 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2004, 512 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

When five-thousand-year-old human bones are found at a construction site archaeologist Callie Dunbrook is dragged into a whirlwind of adventure, danger, and romance.

When five-thousand-year-old human bones are found at a construction site in the small town of Woodsboro, the news draws archaeologist Callie Dunbrook out of her sabbatical and into a whirlwind of adventure, danger, and romance.

While overseeing the dig, she must try to make sense of a cloud of death and misfortune that hangs over the project—fueling rumors that the site is cursed. And she must cope with the presence of her irritating—but irresistible—ex-husband, Jake. Furthermore, when a stranger claims to know a secret about her privileged Boston childhood, she is forced to question her own past as well.

Birthright follows an inspiring heroine, an intriguing hero, and a cast of fascinating characters whose intertwined lives remind us that there is much more going on under the surface than meets the eye.

Chapter One

The Antietam Creek Project came to a rude halt when the blade of Billy Younger's backhoe unearthed the first skull.

It was an unpleasant surprise for Billy himself, who'd been squatting in the cage of his machine, sweating and cursing in the vicious July heat. His wife was staunchly opposed to the proposed subdivision and had given him her usual high-pitched lecture that morning while he'd tried to eat his fried eggs and link sausage.

For himself, Billy didn't give a rat's ass one way or the other about the subdivision. But a job was a job, and Dolan was paying a good wage. Almost good enough to make up for Missy's constant bitching.

Damn nagging had put him off his breakfast, and a man needed a good breakfast when he was going to be working his tail off the rest of the day.

And what he had managed to slurp up before Missy nagged away his appetite was sitting uneasily in his gut, stewed, he thought bitterly, in the goddamn wet ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Booklist - John Charles
With its compelling, realistically flawed hero and heroine, whose clever banter is spiced with just the right amount of acerbic wit, and a sleek plot that unwinds to a wonderfully satisfactory conclusion...Roberts' latest combination of romance and suspense is pure reading magic.

Kirkus Reviews
The plot thickens, with suspects appearing—and supporting characters disappearing—as fast as mechanical ducks in a shooting gallery.

Publishers Weekly
...it is not the wild denouement but the pursuit itself--studded with scrumptious romantic encounters--that is the real dessert.

Reader Reviews

B. Locke

Very intriguing, captivating book.
I enjoyed "Birthright" tremendously and am hoping there's a sequel I can find. 11/2023
Sue Calvaresi

Nora out did herself again
This story was captivating from the start. Beginning with character development, story line, scene settings, plot & human interaction were undeniably cause for "I can't put this down". I read it first in 2006 then again last month &...   Read More
Rachel

Birthright
I loved this book mostly because of the relationship between all of the characters. You can feel for all of them and understand where they are coming from. My heart went out to the mother who waited all those years knowing without a doubt that her ...   Read More
pen

great need more like this one

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Birthright, try these:

We have 4 read-alikes for Birthright, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Nora Roberts
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Under This Red Rock
    Under This Red Rock
    by Mindy McGinnis
    Since she was a child, Neely has suffered from auditory hallucinations, hearing voices that demand ...
  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.