We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of Citizen Soldiers by Stephen Ambrose

Citizen Soldiers

The U.S. Army from the Normandy Beaches to the Bulge to the Surrender of Germany. June 7, 1944 to May 7, 1945

by Stephen Ambrose

Citizen Soldiers by Stephen Ambrose X
Citizen Soldiers by Stephen Ambrose
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1997, 512 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 1999, 255 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Once again, Stephen E. Ambrose shows that free men fight better than slaves, that the sons of democracy proved to be better soldiers than the sons of Nazi Germany.

From the  special advisor on Saving Private Ryan and the bestselling author of Undaunted Courage and D-Day, the definitive book on the most important day of World War II, comes the inspiring story of the ordinary men of the U.S. Army in northwest Europe from the day after D-Day until the end of the bitterest days of the war.

Citizen Soldiers opens at 0001 hours, June 7, 1944, on the Normandy beaches, and ends at 0245 hours, May 7, 1945. In between come the battles in the hedgerows of Normandy, the breakout at St.-Lô, the Falaise Gap, Patton tearing through France, the liberation of Paris, the attempt to leap the Rhine in Operation Market-Garden, the near-miraculous German recovery, the battles around Metz and in the Hurtgen Forest, the Battle of the Bulge -- the biggest battle in the history of the U.S. Army -- the capture of the bridge at Remagen, and finally the overrunning of Germany.

From the high command (including Eisenhower, Bradley. and Patton) on down to the enlisted men, Stephen E. Ambrose draws on hundreds of interviews and oral histories from men on both sides who were there. Ambrose once again recreates the experiences of the individuals who fought the battles. The women who served as nurses, secretaries, clerks, code-breakers, and flyers are part of the narrative, as are the Germans who fought against us. Within the chronological story, there are chapters on medics, nurses, and doctors; on the quartermasters; on replacements; on what it was like to spend a night on the front lines; on sad sacks, cowards, and criminals; on Christmas 1944; on weapons of all kinds.

Ambrose reveals the learning process of a great army -- how to cross rivers, how to fight in snow or hedgerows, how to fight in cities, how to coordinate air and ground campaigns, how to fight in winter and on the defensive, how citizens become soldiers in the best army in the world. Ambrose evokes the suffering of warfare, fighting in the cold and wet, gruesome wounds, combat exhaustion, looting, shooting prisoners, random destruction and more. Throughout, the perspective is that of the enlisted men and junior officers. Even when writing about Ike, Monty, Patton, and Bradley, Ambrose does so from the point of view of the men in the front lines and focuses on how the decisions of the brass affected them.

Citizen Soldiers is a biography of the U.S. Army in the European Theater of Operations, June 7, 1944, to May 7, 1945. Allied citizen soldiers overcame their fear and inexperience, the mistakes of the high command, and the enemy to win the war. Once again, Stephen E. Ambrose shows that free men fight better than slaves, that the sons of democracy proved to be better soldiers than the sons of Nazi Germany.

Chapter 14
Jerks, Sad Sacks, Profiteers, and Jim Crow

The GIs in ETO were highly selected in age and physical health, somewhat selected in intelligence, well disciplined. The Army's training system added inches to their chests and leg and arm muscles. It also instilled a sense of responsibility, along with a fear of the consequences of disobeying an order, not to mention criminal behavior: nicely summed up in the old drill sergeant's saying, "The Army can't make you do something, but it sure as hell can make you wish you had." It also did a good job of recognizing and promoting talented young men who were capable of standing the stress and leading effectively.

War brings out the best in many men, as the tiny sample of the men of ETO quoted or cited in this book testifies. To generalize, a large majority of the GIs in Northwest Europe in 1944-45 did their best at whatever they did, and ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

New York Times Book Review - Carlo D'Este
[A]n unforgettable testament to the World War II generation

New York Times Book Review - Carlo D'Este
[A]n unforgettable testament to the World War II generation

Time Magazine
Citizen Soldiers [is] a high point in Ambrose's long fascination with the nature of leaders and followers.

Time Magazine
Citizen Soldiers [is] a high point in Ambrose's long fascination with the nature of leaders and followers.

Publishers Weekly
It is good to be reminded of brave men's brave deeds with the eloquence and insight that the author brings to this splendid, generously illustrated and moving history.

Author Blurb Joseph Heller
Citizen Soldiers is just about the most gripping account of the Second World War that I have ever read. It is written with the art of a novelist, the clarity and immediacy of a journalist, and the meticulous intelligence of a sensible historian. I cannot imagine a motion picture that would be more thrilling than the individual vivid accounts of combat activity in Europe from the Normandy landings in June until the final surrender the following May.

Author Blurb Ken Burns
What a wonderful book, an emotionally powerful argument for our wonderful, flawed system and its homegrown heroics. I imagine Ambrose's writing room as supreme HQ where he is standing over a huge map of Europe, barking orders, dispatching terrified subordinates, surveying and understanding a vast, tragic human canvas at a glance. Ambrose's arsenal is imposing and effective; his pen is a machine gun detached, hot, and devastating.

Reader Reviews

Cathey Aultman

Citizen Soldiers, A Review
An excellent book. Amazing how he wove so many interviews together making the book flow. Anyone either in WWII, or with veterans among family and/or friends will appreciate this book.
whitepanter

Citizen sodgiers
Amazing!!!
J Zengler

Citizen Soldiers
One of the best books I have ever read. It really puts you there in the last year of WW2. I don't read many books, but I am so glad I read this one. This book makes you want to keep in remembrance the heroes of the war. I also liked how the book ...   Read More
Anonymous

I am 15 years old and I think Citizen Soldiers is an excellent book about World War II. Stephen E. Ambrose is one of my favorite authors and this book made me appreciate even more the sacrifices of the men who fought to preserve democracy. This ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Citizen Soldiers, try these:

  • The Conquerors jacket

    The Conquerors

    by Michael Beschloss

    Published 2003

    About this book

    More by this author

    Reveals one of the most important stories of World War II. As Allied soldiers fought the Nazis, Franklin Roosevelt and, later, Harry Truman fought in private with Churchill and Stalin over how to ensure that Germany could never threaten the world again.

  • The Greatest Generation jacket

    The Greatest Generation

    by Tom Brokaw

    Published 2001

    About this book

    More by this author

    Tells the stories of a generation, America's citizen heroes and heroines who came of age during the Great Depression and the Second World War and went on to build modern America.

We have 4 read-alikes for Citizen Soldiers, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Stephen Ambrose
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.