We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of Ignorance by Milan Kundera

Ignorance

by Milan Kundera

Ignorance by Milan Kundera X
Ignorance by Milan Kundera
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2002, 208 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2003, 208 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

"Kundera is so bounteously gifted with insight that even a slender story like that of Ignorance is edifying, filled with intellectual surprises and flashes of the imagination."

A man and a woman meet by chance while returning to their homeland, which they had abandoned twenty years earlier when they chose to become exiles. Will they manage to pick up the thread of their strange love story, interrupted almost as soon as it began and then lost in the tides of history? The truth is that after such a long absence "their memories no longer match." We always believe that our memories coincide with those of the person we loved, that we experienced the same thing. But this is just an illusion. Then again, what can we expect of our weak memory? It records only "an insignificant, minuscule particle" of the past, "and no one knows why it's this bit and not any other bit." We live our lives sunk in a vast forgetting, a fact we refuse to recognize. Only those who return after twenty years, like Odysseus returning to his native Ithaca, can be dazzled and astounded by observing the goddess of ignorance firsthand.

Milan Kundera is the only author today who can take such dizzying concepts as absence, memory, forgetting, and ignorance, and transform them into material for a novel, masterfully orchestrating them into a polyphonic and moving work.

Translated by Linda Asher.

Chapter One


"What are you still doing here?" Her tone wasn't harsh, but it wasn't kindly, either; Sylvie was indignant.

"Where should I be?" Irena asked.

"Home!"

"You mean this isn't my home anymore?"

Of course she wasn't trying to drive Irena out of France or implying that she was an undesirable alien: "You know what I mean!"

"Yes, I do know, but aren't you forgetting that I've got my work here? My apartment? My children?"

"Look, I know Gustaf. He'll do anything to help you get back to your own country. And your daughters, let's not kid ourselves! They've already got their own lives. Good Lord, Irena, it's so fascinating, what's going on in your country! In a situation like that, things always work out."

"But Sylvie! It's not just a matter of practical things, the job, the apartment. I've been living here for twenty years now. My life is here!"

"Your people have a revolution going on!"

Sylvie ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
Introduction
The collapse of the communist regimes of Eastern Europe in 1989 put an end not only to an ideology but to a perennial European character, the Émigré. After decades of being pitied as the Great Victim or despised as the Great Traitor [p. 30], he (or she) was now free to go back home, perhaps even morally obliged to do so. But what is home? Is it merely a place or something more tenuous and less easily attainable? And can someone who's spent half a life in the grip of nostalgia -- "the suffering caused by an unappeased yearning to return" [p. 5] -- emerge from it so easily? These are among the questions that Milan Kundera poses in Ignorance, a novel whose remarkably brief span encompasses two centuries of ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Boston Globe
Moving … There is a painful injustice and inequality to memory, which these encounters beautifully illustrate.

Maureen Howard, New York Times Book Review
Erudite and playful...An impassioned account of the émigré as a character on the stage of European history.

New York Times - Michiko Kakutani
Milan's Kundera's resonant new novel Ignorance ….[is] wonderfully nuanced …. affecting.

Newark Star Ledger
[A] beautifully written tale of desire and loss.

Newsweek
His language in this slim but elegant volume is nothing short of masterful.

Oregonian
Kundera is so bounteously gifted with insight that even a slender story like that of Ignorance is edifying, filled with intellectual surprises and flashes of the imagination.

Philadelphia Inquirer
A voice still masterful in its antennae for 'the human condition' … for Milan Kundera, life is plainly elsewhere and where it has always been in the eye of its fiercely intelligent, endlessly ruminative beholder.

Time Out New York
Elegant … the emotional and intellectual payoff is extraordinary.

Los Angeles Times Book Review
Literary excellence … [Kundera's] irony and wit are …on target, his characters vivid and convincing.

Los Angeles Times Book Review
By far his most successful [novel] since The Unbearable Lightness of Being.

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
An entertaining and thought-provoking work

Rocky Mountain News
Kundera is and elegant writer … He does a masterful job of reminding that the political is the personal.

San Francisco Chronicle
Haunting … cascading philosophical, historical and erotic mediations …[and] thunderclaps of insight, absurd metaphors and characters who haplessly misunderstand one another collide in his hypnotically repetitive and bitingly humorous prose.

Washington Post Book World
Kundera once more delivers a seductive, intelligent entertainment … [with] elegance and grace.

Publishers Weekly
Starred Review. With elegant detachment and measured passion, Kundera once again shows himself the master of both the erudite and the carnal in this Mozartain interlude.

Booklist - Gillian Engberg
Part intellectual postulating, part exquisite storytelling, Kundera's profound, unsettling, and expertly crafted novel examines the ultimate immigration--leaving behind what's inherited--and marvels at the power and impossibility of it.

Library Journal
Rendered with compassion and humor.

Library Journal
Though slightly thicker than Kundera's previous French offerings and hinting at the pre-Slowness fiction that won him a rabid following, Ignorance suffers from a seemingly hurried narrative whose end may produce in some fans a nostalgia for Kundera at his deepest and most playful.

Kirkus Reviews
An honorable failure. Kundera's taking himself too seriously is offset by his ability to change the subject again and again-though, at end, nothing adds up to much.

Reader Reviews

april

I hope my grandmother can find one of Milan Kundera's book in the US. She'll like this book too!

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Ignorance, try these:

We have 8 read-alikes for Ignorance, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Milan Kundera
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.