Summary and book reviews of Reading Group Journal by Martha Burns

Reading Group Journal

Notes In The Margin

by Martha Burns

Reading Group Journal
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Oct 1999, 192 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

This charming fill-in journal will be an invaluable resource and keepsake for anyone who already belongs to a reading group, and an inspiration to anyone who wants to join or organize one.

Reading group members show up at meetings with their books highlighted and dog-eared. Some carry battered spiral notebooks; others dig through their handbags for scribbled notes. Reading Group Journal now offers a handy and handsome alternative. Filled with useful information and stimulating quotes, this attractive notebook also provides ample space to record all the practical information needed to participate in a reading group.

An introduction providing tips about how to make the group both pleasurable and productive is followed by inspiring lists of recommended reading and winners of important literary prizes, from the National Book Award to the Booker. Additional pages provide places to jot down names and addresses, meeting schedules, and information about the next book to read. Each book read by the group is allotted several pages for note taking and record keeping, with plenty of room for personal reflections and group observations. And finally, there are fill-in pages for the reader to use in creating a personal record: a list of books to read, a log of books already read, a record of books lent, a compendium of interesting words, and a selection of memorable quotes.


(192 pages, 7 inches square, spiral bound - with room for 18 books.)


From the Authors
My sister and I live on opposite sides of the country but we did not let that stop us when we came up with the idea for our journal for reading group members. The actual idea come to us while we were attending the Southwest Writers Workshop Conference in our hometown of Albuquerque. We couldn't wait to get back to our respective coasts to get to work on our project which we knew we would name, "Notes in the Margin."

We knew that readers have a need to articulate where a book has taken them and we knew that countless people were getting together in reading groups and could use a journal to keep account of their groups, their meetings, their reading list and their reflections.

So we set out to create a place where the avid reader could keep track of all their book related information. But more importantly, we wanted to create a place for the reader to keep track of their reflections on a book read and a book shared. We think that in keeping the journal the reader becomes the writer and the journal becomes a keepsake.

In "Smillia's Sense of Snow" Peter Hoeg wrote, "You can learn a lot about your fellow human beings from what they write in the margin." We agree and we also believe that a person who reads, shares, and then writes comes to a fuller understanding. We believe that "Notes in the Margin" allows the reader to more fully participate in the reading circle. We wish you each the joy of a book read and a book shared.

Because this book is a journal for you to complete it does not lend itself to being excerpted here!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Reader Reviews

Vicki

Great idea- a true readers journal with space to keep reflections on your reading. And it is a beautiful little keepsake. As a bonus the journal includes unique reading lists--and hard to find lists. It also includes lists for the reader to ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Reading Group Journal, try these:

  • The Know-It-All jacket

    The Know-It-All

    by A. J. Jacobs

    Published 2005

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Part memoir and part education (or lack thereof), The Know-It-All chronicles NPR contributor A.J. Jacobs's hilarious, enlightening, and seemingly impossible quest to read the Encyclopaedia Britannica from A to Z.

  • A Word A Day jacket

    A Word A Day

    by Anu Garg

    Published 2003

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Written by the founder of the wildly popular A Word A Day web site (www.wordsmith.org), this collection of unusual, obscure, and exotic English words will delight writers, scholars, crossword puzzlers, and word buffs of every ilk.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.