Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Dead of Winter by P.J. Parrish

Dead of Winter

by P.J. Parrish

Dead of Winter by P.J. Parrish X
Dead of Winter by P.J. Parrish
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Jan 2001, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

In the quaint tourist town of Loon Lake, a killer is taking his vengeance. One by one police officers are found brutally executed. Detective Louis Kincaid has landed in the middle of an investigation that is more than a mystery, it's a terrifying journey into the nightmare mind of a madman.

Some Fears Are Never Laid to Rest. In the quaint tourist town of Loon Lake, Michigan, a killer is taking his vengeance. One by one, the bodies of Loon Lake’s police officers are found, brutally executed, with mysteriously coded death cards placed beside each corpse — the gruesome signature of a psychopath. And the only sound louder than doors and windows being locked against evil is the sound of hearts beating in terror.

Detective Louis Kincaid had returned to Michigan to forget the horrors of what happened to him in Mississippi. But now, he has landed in the middle of an investigation that is more than a mystery. It is a warning of bad things to come...of a terrifying journey through a town’s fiercely protected heart of darkness…and into the nightmare mind of a madman.

It was just a dull thud, a sound that drifted down to him as he lay in the deepest fathoms of his sleep. He struggled up to the surface and opened his eyes with a start. Darkness, and then, emerging from the shadows, a bulky form and a glint of light. He let out a breath. Just the oak bureau, and his badge laying on top.

The sound had probably come from his dream, and the thought made him relax back into the pillows. But his ears remained alert for foreign sounds amid all the familiar groans and squeaks of the house.

He glanced over at Stephanie, snoring softly by his side. She always kidded him about his excellent hearing. "Tommy, baby, you can hear the snow falling," she laughed. Hell, sometimes he thought so, too. He pulled the quilt up over his wife’s shoulder and swung his legs over the side of the bed.

He rose, shivering in the cold air, and went to the window. He pulled back the drape. Sure enough, it was snowing. Already covered the yard, leaving pillows of ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Baltimore Sun
Snow falls and so do the sinister hints. Things loom but they're never what they seem -- especially not for a black man in a mostly white town. Unfamiliar with Loon Lake, Kincaid nevertheless manages to work out who's killing his fellow police officers and why. Along the way, he makes some discoveries about his own prejudices and burdens. Dead of Winter moves briskly, pulling the reader along for an invigorating ride.

Chicago Tribune - Chris Petrakos
This brisk, tight police procedural is set in the bucolic but obviously dangerous town of Loon Lake, Mich. It's clear somebody is holding a major league grudge against the Loon Lake police and it's up to Louis Kincaid to find out who and why. His search forms the bulk of this fast-paced, well-conceived yarn.

Publishers Weekly
Parrish deftly depicts the empty winter landscape and the relentless intensity of the killer's pursuit. A suspenseful tale of a man who must question his principles and loyalties, Parrish's latest will appeal to those seeking a fast-paced thriller propelled by a cast of charismatic characters.

Reader Reviews

Walt

A potentially good story with low high school level dialogue.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Dead of Winter, try these:

  • The Art of Detection jacket

    The Art of Detection

    by Laurie R. King

    Published 2007

    About this book

    More by this author

    Kate Martinelli is investigating the death of Philip Gilbert, an avid Holmes collector who even transformed his home into a copy of 221B Baker Street, when she discovers what could be the motive: a previously unpublished story from Arthur Conan Doyle that could be worth millions

  • St Albans Fire jacket

    St Albans Fire

    by Archer Mayor

    Published 2006

    About this book

    More by this author

    In his 15th case, Joe Gunter will meet one of his deadliest opponents to date, and he will need far more than his skills as a policeman to protect the people closest to his heart.

We have 5 read-alikes for Dead of Winter, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by P.J. Parrish
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.