MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of The Lost Daughter of Happiness by Geling Yan

The Lost Daughter of Happiness

by Geling Yan

The Lost Daughter of Happiness by Geling Yan X
The Lost Daughter of Happiness by Geling Yan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2001, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2002, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The story of a love affair between an enigmatic Chinese prostitute and the Caucasian boy who worships her. Set in San Francisco in the aftermath of the Gold Rush - a time when millions came to seek their fortune and the city was plagued by anti-Chinese violence.

From one of China’s most acclaimed novelists, the award-winning screenwriter of Joan Chen’s film Xiu Xiu: The Sent-Down Girl, comes an unflinching, erotic, and exciting tale of forbidden love in turn-of-the-century San Francisco.

This powerful novel tells the story of a love affair between an enigmatic Chinese prostitute and the Caucasian boy who worships her. It is set in the aftermath of the Gold Rush era, when San Francisco was known as Gold Mountain to the millions who came seeking fortune. The book describes, in sometimes brutal detail, the anti-Chinese violence that plagued the city during this time, and portrays a seedy underworld of Chinatown brothels, gambling halls, and opium dens. Although the story is fictional, Fusang, the prostitute, is a real historical character.

The Lost Daughter of Happiness follows the main characters from childhood to old age, and is filled with a vivid cast of peripheral characters, from missionaries to gangsters. The book includes moments of tremendous cruelty (ranging from mob riots to gang bloodbaths to slave auctions) and incredible human tenderness. Narrated in a haunting voice that explores the past’s painful truths through the prism of the present, and filled with electrifying scenes that make its colorful history come alive, this mesmerizing story traces the lives of two individuals separated by prejudice and mistrust, but bound forever by love.

Excerpt
The Lost Daughter of Happiness

This is who you are.

The one dressed in red, slowly rising from the creaking bamboo bed, is you. The embroidery on your satin padded jacket must weigh ten catties; the parts stitched most densely are as hard as ice, or armor. From a distance of one hundred and twenty years, I am amazed by the needlework, so thoroughly beyond me.

Let me raise your chin a bit here, and bring your lips into the dim light. That's it, just right. Now I can see your whole face clearly. Don't worry--others will just find exotic the face you consider too square. To the novelty seekers of your day, your every flaw was a distinction.

Now turn around, just like all those times on the auction block. You're used to the auction; that's where pretty whores like you come to know their worth. I found pictures of those auctions in some books about Chinatown-- dozens of female bodies, totally naked, their beauty in sharp relief against the surrounding gloom.

You're ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!
  • award image

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publisher's Weekly
Fusang is a real historical figure about whom little is known; Yan's account does little to clarify Fusang's motives. Such opacity creates an intriguing mystery, but lack of resolution frustrates the reader. Yan's detached, dispassionate tone contributes to the sense of unreality pervading her narrative.

Library Journal
Though the historical setting is intriguing, Fusang never becomes a fully realized character, and it is unclear whether she survives her ordeals through the power of her personality or a lack of intellect.

Author Blurb Bharati Mukherjee, author of Jasmine
Cruel and sensual, Geling Yan's extraordinary novel is a dream enfolded within nightmare, and a nightmare enlightened by dream, an epic love story set in the brutal world of post-Gold Rush San Francisco and an American boy's love for a Chinese prostitute. And it is much more. The Lost Daughter of Happiness is finally a contemporary immigrant's testament to the fortitude of two historical characters, the Adam and Eve of a poisoned American garden.

Author Blurb David Henry Hwang, author of M. Butterfly
An erotic epic bursting with intelligence, forbidden emotions, and disregard for easy answers, The Lost Daughter of Happiness bravely unearths the secret fantasies and complex obsessions which pass between races, and between the sexes. With a work which suddenly makes terms like sexism and racism seem oddly quaint, Geling Yan has written the first great post-multicultural novel.

Author Blurb Aimee Liu; author of Cloud Mountain
Geling Yan is a courageous and immensely talented writer. Through a masterful interweaving of history and imagination, she has dared to face down the twin monsters of racism and sexual slavery, exposing both their vulnerability and, alas, their persistence. The result is one of the most unusual love stories I have ever read, in which the paradoxes of the human condition shimmer like threads of gold in a rich brocade.

Author Blurb Ha Jin, author of Waiting
Geling Yan stands as an eminent writer from the Chinese diaspora. Her fiction has gained a high reputation in and outside China. The Lost Daughter of Happiness is her major novel, which combines myth and history and opens a new perspective on the American immigrant experience. It is an ambitious, eloquent, and unique book.

Reader Reviews

Klaus Griesbach

The lost daughter of happiness
I am 67 years old, a passionate reader all my life, reading this book I ask myself how come that no writer from the west ever looked at love this so very true way, a masterpiece !

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Lost Daughter of Happiness, try these:

  • The Valley of Amazement jacket

    The Valley of Amazement

    by Amy Tan

    Published 2014

    About this book

    More books by this author

    A sweeping, evocative epic of two women's intertwined fates and their search for identity, that moves from the lavish parlors of Shanghai courtesans to the fog-shrouded mountains of a remote Chinese village.

  • Under Fishbone Clouds jacket

    Under Fishbone Clouds

    by Sam Meekings

    Published 2010

    About this book

    Sam Meekings's remarkable debut novel showcases his luminous, poetic writing, as well as insights that belong to a writer twice his age. Part love story and part historical narrative, Under Fishbone Clouds carries the weight and beauty of a lifetime's achievement.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: This Is Happiness
    This Is Happiness
    by Niall Williams
    Niall Williams's This Is Happiness offers an extraordinary portrait of a particular moment in the ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket: American Dirt
    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins
    Jeanine Cummins' American Dirt hasn't just been positively reviewed by BookBrowse First Impressions ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.