Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Hearse of a Different Color by Tim Cockey

Hearse of a Different Color

A Novel

by Tim Cockey

Hearse of a Different Color by Tim Cockey X
Hearse of a Different Color by Tim Cockey
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2001, 320 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2002, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

When a murdered waitress is unceremoniously dropped off at his door, charming mortician-about-town Hitchcock Sewell investigates and his delving takes him down an increasingly twisted and wicked trail.

It's a dark and stormy night in Baltimore, and snow isn't the only thing piling up on the front steps of Sewell & Sons Family Funeral Home. There's also trouble. Specifically, a murdered waitress is unceremoniously dropped off at the door while a wake is under way inside. Bad form, no two ways about it. In this witty, page-turning follow-up to Tim Cockey's highly praised first novel, The Hearse You Came In On, charming mortician-about-town Hitchcock Sewell has just one question: Why my place? His meteorologist girlfriend, Bonnie, has bigger fish to fry. The murder is her chance to make the leap from the weather game -- which she stinks at anyway -- to hard news. A few well-timed bats of Bonnie's big blues, and Hitch is ready to roll.

Starting at the seedy airport lounge restaurant where Helen, the murdered woman, worked, and with the reluctant assistance of her estranged sister, Hitch and Bonnie begin to learn more about the woman's past than they really care to know. Daughter of a stripper, nude model, small-time porn actress, single mother of a three-year-old son. Apparently Helen was determined to shake her tawdry past, but did her past catch up with her anyway? Could her son's father -- identity unknown -- have been the killer? Or maybe her "business manager" in the sex trade? How about one of those lonely business travelers who trawl the airport lounge? Maybe the big guy on the keyboards in the lousy lounge band? Or, for that matter, his jealous wanna-be partner?

Hitch's investigation takes him down an increasingly twisted and wicked trail -- from Baltimore's low-life strip joints to its high-tone mansions -- where he discovers the full scope of the nasty impulses that led to Helen's death. Having planned only to dabble, he's getting in over his head. Luckily, Hitch is a fast learner. At least, he'd better be.

Chapter One

The dead waitress had beautiful eyes. Large, chocolate and lovely. Of course, this was something I couldn't possibly know until some time later, once I had the chance to see them in a photograph. As usual with me, I get them when the spark has gone out and they're already losing their looks. Aunt Billie has a term for this. She calls it "occupational disappointment."

The waitress couldn't have arrived at a more inopportune moment. Baltimore was right in the middle of an unscheduled pre-Christmas blizzard and Aunt Billie and I were right in the middle of a wake. A heart surgeon from nearby Johns Hopkins Hospital had gone out in a blaze of irony two days previous, struck down by a heart attack, no less, while in the middle of performing a triple bypass. His name was Richard Kingman. Dr. Kingman had been in his late fifties, played tennis several times a week, hadn't touched a cigarette for decades, ate sensibly, drank politely and all the rest, and yet ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Book Page
[E]asily the equal of its clever predecessor . . . where Cockey shines . . . is with his insights about the human condition.

Publisher's Weekly
[Cockey's] breezy, casual tone, hilarious situations, very quirky, sharply drawn characters and neighborhoods will appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich. Cockey has a more serious side too, offering insightful commentary on family relationships and sibling rivalry.

Library Journal
Delightful prose, provocative humor, and engaging characters move this right to the top. Most appealing.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Hearse of a Different Color, try these:

  • Relative Danger jacket

    Relative Danger

    by Charles Benoit

    Published 2006

    About this book

    More by this author

    'A smashingly good, action-packed first novel....Benoit is a rare discovery, and one hopes that he plans to produce more adventure-oriented mysteries with the same skill and energy that propel this excellent debut' - Publishers Weekly

  • Dating Dead Men jacket

    Dating Dead Men

    by Harley Jane Kozak

    Published 2005

    About this book

    More by this author

    Lots of action, quirky characters, an engaging new sleuth who designs greeting cards, and a ferret named Margaret -- what more could any reader want? Dating Dead Men is a superb debut.

We have 4 read-alikes for Hearse of a Different Color, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Tim Cockey
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.