Summary and book reviews of Mind, Body and Soul by Nancy Dahm

Mind, Body and Soul

A Guide To Living With Cancer

by Nancy H. Dahm

Mind, Body and Soul
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Jan 2001, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

If you or someone you love has cancer, this book is for you. It is a thought provoking, inspirational, and powerful paradigm on how to live with the many challenges confronted by cancer patients and their families.

If you or someone you love has cancer... This book is for you.

When people are diagnosed with cancer they desperately want answers to their many questions, and they need those answers now. A cancer diagnosis is an immediate call to action. Nancy Hassett Dahm gives an action plan that is easy to understand. Cancer patients, family members, and friends will have everything they need for their minds, bodies, and souls as they live through the cancer experience.

The book is presented as a thought provoking, inspirational, and powerful paradigm on how to live with the many challenges confronted by cancer patients and their families. Each chapter is a dynamic illustration in dealing with issues such as attitudes, fear, stress, pain, patient care, and matters of preserving dignity as a patient. Mind, Body, and Soul; A Guide to Living with Cancer gives practical, serious information and help that empowers readers to regain control of their lives. The book also contains a comprehensive appendix of resources for readers to access information on how to obtain free hospitalization, low-cost or free medications, free travel to clinical trials, supplies, support organizations, and much more.

Mind, Body and Soul; A Guide to Living with Cancer, was written by an experienced nurse, who has seen the entire spectrum of the many forms of cancer. She has cared for patients in the beginning, advanced, and terminal stages of their disease. This book contains the collective wisdom she has acquired over the years.

This 336-page hardcover book is beautifully designed with fine cloth, platinum foil stamping, and gloss lamination.

Includes:

  • Introduction
  • Foreword
  • Table of Contents
  • Chapter 9

Introduction

"I feel I know you very well. You don’t know me, but I have watched you. I have walked your journey many times before. You don’t know me, yet I was there…Mind, Body, and Soul".

I have dealt with the entire spectrum of cancer and its effects on the minds, bodies and souls of hundreds of cancer patients and their families. I wrote this book so that you can benefit from the knowledge and experience I have acquired over the years. It contains everything you need to know about living with cancer. It is a guide for everyone: all patients, beginning with the newly diagnosed, and all family members. It is for the cancer patients who will recover and survive, and for those who will survive in another way.

For the newly diagnosed cancer patient, I know you have a host of questions you want answered, starting with the most basic: will you get the support you need? Can you trust your doctor to "...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

New Hope International Review On-Line - Tony Grist

Hassett Dahm believes that the best place for a patient to be treated is in their own home. She shows how the process of dying can be eased and accorded dignity. She gives information on pain relief, nursing, and relevant support agencies, some of it specific to the USA. A catholic herself, she sees the process of dying as a journey into eternal life. In a striking chapter she takes the reader on a path working back to the classical world to hear the Pagan philosophers, Socrates and Marcus Aurelius, discourse on death and immortality. Her religious speculations are kept carefully non-denominational. Without holding out unrealistic hope, she affirms her belief in miracles and the power of prayer. The book is written in an easy, accessible style, with plenty of case histories and personal stories. I would strongly recommend it anyone suffering from advanced cancer or charged with the care of a cancer patient.

Author Blurb  James D'Olimpio, M.D., Director of Palliative Medicine Service
This book is unique in that it spans the entire potential of treatment and course of illness. It is written with a refined technical expertise but also has a wonderful spiritual and humanistic perspective. This enhances its value to all patients and their families who are searching for an easy to understand and uplifting resource. The chapters on pain and symptom control are especially well written, as are the clinical cases and personal vignettes Ms. Dahm shares with her readers. The section on end of life care is superb and unlike anything I have read that is available for the lay public. I recommend this book as an invaluable resource and companion for any patient faced with cancer.

Author Blurb Allan Katz, former Director of management and regional services at the Northeastern Ontario Regional Cancer Centre.
Your work is an insightful and exceptionally well organized touchstone for cancer patients and their family members and friends. Attention to even the most seemingly trivial detail to people who have never encountered the disease makes it obvious that it is based on many years of experience caring for many cancer patients and personal interaction with their extended families at the closest level and at the most vulnerable time. For those who are starting their personal journey with cancer-as the book points out- have faith. Miracles do happen and by reading the book you will be encouraged to learn that a cancer diagnosis is by no means an automatic death sentence. Without a doubt the disease and its treatment create significant life change for all involved. However the book is an incredible resource that teaches that those with the physical and mental and spiritual strength can learn to live with the disease.

Author Blurb Jennifer Hoadley
You have written a truly wonderful book. It is so incredibly helpful. There is so much information that I really needed-I can tell you that if I had been able to use your book from the very beginning of my Dad's illness, things would have been much easier and less terrifying for me. Also, I really can't think of where anyone could go to have a resource like your book which is written from such an "advocacy" point of view. As you know, this has been a very difficult time for my Dad, me and my family and this is the first thing I've read, (and I've done a lot of reading and research), that has been not only able to provide the information I need in a language I can understand, but to reach me and touch me on an intellectual and emotional level. I really can't thank you enough for sending your fabulous book. It must be such a gratifying feeling to know how many thousands or millions of people you will help with your caring and thoughtful work

Author Blurb Paolo L. Manfredi, M.D., Pain and Palliative Care Service, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Ms. Dahm has succeeded in the challenging accomplishment of delivering a well-rounded book for patients and families confronted with cancer. She guides the reader through a holistic approach to the numerous problems faced by patients with cancer and at the same time she delivers up-to-date scientific information. Through this book patients and families will come to an understanding of how to face the continuous and upcoming challenges associated with advanced cancer. Ms. Dahm's background as an experienced nurse transpires from her attention to the "important" symptoms such as pain, nausea and shortness of breath, as well as the small details of patient care...Although the true value of the book is probably as a whole, segments of it can be used as a reference manual in the care of patients with advanced cancer. It is natural to recommend this book to patients and families with advanced cancer

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Mind, Body and Soul, try these:

  • When Breath Becomes Air jacket

    When Breath Becomes Air

    by Paul Kalanithi

    Published 2016

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Winner of the 2016 BookBrowse Nonfiction Award

    For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

  • The Spare Room jacket

    The Spare Room

    by Helen Garner

    Published 2010

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    A powerful, witty, and taut novel about a complex friendship between two women—one dying, the other called to care for her—from an internationally acclaimed and award-winning author.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: All We Have Left
    All We Have Left
    by Wendy Mills
    September 11, 2001 is a date that few Americans will ever forget. It was on this day that our ...
  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

A few books well chosen, and well made use of, will be more profitable than a great confused Alexandrian library.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.