Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Business As Unusual by Anita Roddick

Business As Unusual

The Triumph of Anita Roddick

by Anita Roddick

Business As Unusual by Anita Roddick X
Business As Unusual by Anita Roddick
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2001, 287 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2002, 287 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Body Shop founder, Roddick, shares her vision of how businesses can successfully evolve in the new millennium without losing sight of the big picture, and offers a fresh plan for dealing with the demands of ethical business.

If you think you are too small to have an impact, try going to bed with a mosquito. Anita Roddick

Anita Roddick has put her money not only where her mouth is, but where her heart is! By refusing to sell (or buy) products that exploit the world and its inhabitants, Roddick, the founder of the internationally respected and successful corporation, The Body Shop, has set a higher standard for business around the world to achieve.

Business As Unusual charts the meteoric rise of this outspoken and controversial entrepreneur, and the landmark success of her company, The Body Shop, through the last decade. The creator of the twentieth most recognized brand worldwide, Roddick shares her vision of how businesses can successfully evolve in the new millennium without losing sight of the big picture.

Ranging from personal issues such as making it as a woman and the tyranny of the beauty business globalization to wider political issues such as the everyday human rights abuses associated with globalization Business As Unusual offers a fresh plan for dealing with the demands of ethical business.

Roddick stresses that the power of public pressure to create change should never be underestimated. From the 1995 boycott of Shell to the battle of Seattle at the World Trade Center in 1999, Roddick argues that waves of public consciousness are steadily forcing corporations to re-evaluate their actions. By promoting the concept of philanthropic entrepreneurism and the language of business and business ethics, Business As Unusual turns the tables on the corporate world's business as usual, compelling it to transform into a force for positive change.

Chapter One
What's Business All About

Now there will be commentators and politicians by the truckload over the next week accusing us of wanting to turn the clock back. They will say we are parochial, inward looking and xenophobic.

Don't accept it.

The truth is that 'free trade' as its Victorian forefathers promoted it was about the freedom of communities to trade equally with each other. It was never intended to be what it is today. A licence for the big, the powerful and the rich, to ride roughshod over the small, the weak and the poor…
Notes for a speech at the Seattle teach-in, written on the flight from London, November 1999
 

Seattle Diary: Friday 26 November 1999.

I finish off the speech I'm giving at the Word Trade Organsiation (WTO) protest meeting on the British Airways flight from Heathrow to Seattle. A usually dull journey is invigorating because the flight is an extraordinary experience in itself: everyone is on...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The media would have us believe that Roddick isn't quite as true to her beliefs as she states in her book, and that the Body Shop's business practices are not quite as squeaky clean as they might be. Whether this be so or not is not known to this reviewer, but what is certain is that Business as Unusual is an inspirational book, one part memoir and one part history of the Body Shop (the two being integrally linked) which illustrates how a business can be both profitable, moral and philanthropic. Roddick emphasizes the power of the individual to change politics and the direction of big corporations by becoming educated consumers.

Media Reviews

USA Today
The Body Shop isn't just a shop. It's an arena of education.

Vogue
…at the bottom of Estee Lauder's jar is the world of eternal youth. At the bottom of Anita's jar is the world itself.

INC. Magazine
This woman has changed business forever.

The Observer (London)
Most CEOs aren't fit to lick peppermint off Anita's feet.

The Independent (London)
She bristles with ideas, outrage and anecdotes.

Business Week
Few Entrepreneurs have tied their product to a social cause with better effect.

Library Journal
This book will provoke a thoughtful response from students, teachers, and the business world.

Publisher's Weekly
Roddick can be hard to take when she soapboxes about the need for businesses to change the world. Her keenest insights are on how passion and opportunism can launch a business; she also has much of value to say about how she refashioned her business in order to survive.

Reader Reviews

Kelly Munro

This book is amazing... Anita is amazing! She is so real. Entrepreneurs should learn from Anita.
Prachi Priya

Business as Unusual is an inspiring book for any Tom, dick and harry . It is inspiring for budding entrepreneur, for women , for any business man.
What i lked most about the book was Anita's view on beauty redefined. Beauty is not just skindeep but ...   Read More
Anna Smith

I am a proud employee of The Body Shop. This book has been an inspirational and educational, but it also gives us encouragement to question and appreciate our world.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Business As Unusual, try these:

  • In Pursuit of the Common Good jacket

    In Pursuit of the Common Good

    by Paul Newman, A. E. Hotchner

    Published 2008

    About this book

    With rare glimpses into their zany style and their compassion for those less fortunate, Newman and Hotchner (founders of Newman's Own all-natural foods) have written the perfect non-management book, at once playful, informative, and inspirational.

  • Animal, Vegetable, Miracle jacket

    Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

    by Barbara Kingsolver

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    Bestselling author Barbara Kingsolver returns with her first nonfiction narrative that will open your eyes in a hundred new ways to an old truth: You are what you eat.

We have 6 read-alikes for Business As Unusual, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.