Summary and book reviews of Special Ops by W.E.B. Griffin

Special Ops

by W.E.B. Griffin

Special Ops by W.E.B. Griffin X
Special Ops by W.E.B. Griffin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2001, 544 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2002, 784 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Griffin has some surprises up his sleeve, and as he takes us through the twists and turns of Special Ops, he spins a story of devilish cunning and thrilling adventure.

W.E.B. Griffin first burst upon the national scene with his Brotherhood of War series of the U.S. Army. In 1988, he published the last Brotherhood novel, The Aviators, yet there was always one more story he wanted to tell - and here it is. Craig Lowell, Sandy Felter, Jack Portet, Geoff Craig, Robert Bellmon, George Washington "Father" Lunsford, Master Sergeant Doubting Thomas - they're all back, with the women who love them, in the crackling new novel Special Ops.

In November 1964, Cuban revolutionary Che Guevara went to the Congo with two hundred men, intent on making it his first step in taking over Africa and South America. He failed, thanks in large part to the efforts of an intrepid band of Green Berets. Licking his wounds, he retreated to Cuba to recruit more men and try the same thing in Bolivia. He failed there, too. In fact, he died there, and thus, despite his incompetence, became a glorious martyr to the cause. But who was trying to kill him, really?...and who was trying to keep him alive?

There, Griffin has some surprises up his sleeve, and as he takes us through the twists and turns of Special Ops, he spins a story of devilish cunning and thrilling adventure.

ONE

TOP SECRET
THE JOINT CHIEFS OF STAFF
WASHINGTON, D.C.
Duplication Forbidden Copy 4 of Seven.
For Distribution By Officer Courier Only

8 November 1964

Commanding General, United States Strike Command
Commanding General, European Command
Commanding General, United States Air Force, Europe
Commanding General, Seventh United States Army

1. By Direction of the President; by Command of His Royal Highness, the King of the Belgians; and at the request of the government of the Republic of the Congo, a Joint Belgian-American Operation, "Operation Dragon Rouge," will take whatever military action is necessary to effect the rescue of American, Belgian and other European nationals currently being held hostage in Stanleyville, Republic of the Congo, by forces in rebellion against the legal and duly constituted government of the Republic of the Congo.

2. By Direction of the President, Counselor to the President Sanford T. Felter (Colonel, General Staff Corps, USA) is ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly
His writing enriched by new, fully developed characters...renders an intricately layered, epic novel machinations of international politics....

Kirkus Reviews
Mammoth...immensely canny...gripping...Griffin fans will dance with delight.

Reader Reviews

Byrne

Way too much empty conversation.
I don't know why I keep reading Griffin's novels. I guess because I hope this one will be better than the last.... If you take out all the Officers Club conversation the book would shrink to maybe 10 pages. And please, Mr. Griffin, get somebody ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by W.E.B. Griffin

If you liked Special Ops, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    More News Tomorrow
    by Susan Richards Shreve

    An irresistible portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.