Summary and book reviews of The Change Before The Change by Laura Corio

The Change Before The Change

Everything You Need to Know to Stay Healthy in the Decade before Menopause

by Laura E. Corio, Linda G. Kahn

The Change Before The Change
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2000, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2001, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

You're in the prime of life. As far as you know, menopause could be years away. So why is your body sending you such weird messages? You could be in perimenopause--the change that precedes the change by as many as ten years.

"What's happening to me?"

You're in the prime of life. As far as you know, menopause could be years away. So why is your body sending you such weird messages?

  • Irregular periods you haven't seen since your teen years
  • Mood swings, irritability, and worrisome memory glitches
  • Stubborn extra pounds you just can't shed
  • Hot flashes and insomnia that leave you tired all day
  • And sex--remember how it used to be?

If even one of these sounds familiar, you could be in perimenopause--the change that precedes the change by as many as ten years. Has your doctor mentioned it? Shockingly, many still don't. But Dr. Laura Corio has "the talk" with every one of her patients when they reach age 35. And now, in this lively and solution-packed book, she shares her experience helping thousands of women navigate these years in peak physical and emotional health.

You'll learn the how's--up-to-the-minute options for getting your symptoms under control. You'll also learn the fascinating why's--from the subtle hormonal shifts that affect every part of your body to the impact of stress and diet. You'll get precise details on:

  • Hormone treatment before menopause, including all the new, natural, and low-dose forms that are making this a safe choice for more women.
  • Herbs, soy, and other alternative therapies that are backed by solid medical research.
  • How perimenopause affects fertility--and what to do if you want to get pregnant.
  • How your skin, hair, and nails reflect deeper changes--and how to make them vibrant again.
  • Ways to combat cancer fears--and what tests you absolutely must have.
  • Whether a high-protein diet is right for you--and what vitamins and minerals you should be taking.
  • What to do now to protect your breasts, uterus, bones, and heart in the years to come

Above all, The Change Before the Change puts you back in charge, with the confidence and resources you need to make the right decisions during these pivotal years.

There was a huge snowstorm raging outside, and we'd been receiving cancellation calls all day. So I was surprised to open the door to one of our examining rooms and find Marian perched on the end of the table. Marian started seeing me twelve years ago, when she was single and living in the city. A husband and two children later, she now lived in the suburbs but still remained a loyal patient.

"Why didn't you reschedule?" I asked. "You took your life in your hands driving all the way in from Long Island."

"I couldn't wait another day, Dr. Corio," she replied.

"What's wrong?"

"What isn't? I feel like my whole body is falling apart--in fact, it doesn't even feel like my own body anymore!" Marian went on to list a host of symptoms: migraines, hot flashes, insomnia, dry itchy skin, urinary tract infections, irregular periods, and decreased libido. "Poor Skip," she continued, referring to her sweetheart of a husband. "My moods have been all over the place...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Author Blurb Barry Sears, Ph.D., author of The Zone
The science presented by Dr. Corio is clearly distilled and compelling. This book is a must read for every woman who wants to take control of her hormonal destiny.

Author Blurb Adele Puhn, M.S.C.N.S., author of The 5-Day Miracle Diet
Dr. Laura Corio is the gynecologist every woman should have in her corner. Written in her compassionate and friendly voice, The Change Before the Change is brimful with expert information and advice.

Author Blurb Elizabeth Stewart, M.D., Brigham and Women's Hospital
Dr. Corio captures the many concerns of women at a time of life that has lacked identity until now. How marvelous to have a physician who has listened.

Author Blurb Adele Puhn, M.S.C.N.S., author of The 5-Day Miracle Diet
Dr. Laura Corio is the gynecologist every woman should have in her corner. Written in her compassionate and friendly voice, The Change Before the Change is brimful with expert information and advice.

Author Blurb Lee Ellen Morrone, M.D., The Mount Sinai Medical Center
A tour de force that may become the benchmark in its field...Dr. Laura Corio tells you everything you need to know about the years before menopause, anticipates your questions, and answers them in warm, accessible language.

Author Blurb Lee Ellen Morrone, M.D., The Mount Sinai Medical Center
A tour de force that may become the benchmark in its field...Dr. Laura Corio tells you everything you need to know about the years before menopause, anticipates your questions, and answers them in warm, accessible language.

Author Blurb Barry Sears, Ph.D., author of The Zone
The science presented by Dr. Corio is clearly distilled and compelling. This book is a must read for every woman who wants to take control of her hormonal destiny.

Author Blurb Carol Birnbaum, M.D., Instructor in Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School
Dr. Corio integrates established medical wisdom with a savvy, holistic approach. She affirms as well as informs women who notice their bodies are changing even before laboratory tests confirm menopause is near.

Author Blurb Miriam Nelson, Ph.D., author of Strong Women Stay Young
Women flourish when they are given state-of-the-art health information and a practical plan for putting it to work in their own lives. The Change Before the Change is a gift to midlife women everywhere.

Reader Reviews

Ronda

I am a nurse and needed some CEU's and was interested in this topic since I could relate all too well to it. I am 32 and have a complicated menstral history and found a lot of answers to my problems here. So, it was interesting and informative. I ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Change Before The Change, try these:

  • The Wisdom of Menopause jacket

    The Wisdom of Menopause

    by Christiane Northrup

    Published 2002

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Instead of dreading menopause as a time of loss, women will hear the real message their bodies are sending--that this is a time of personal empowerment and positive energy . . . and a time for women to break free and thrive.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.