MLA Gold Award Site

Summary and book reviews of Parents' & Teachers' Guide to Helping Young Children Learn by Betty Farber, M.Ed

Parents' & Teachers' Guide to Helping Young Children Learn

Creative Ideas from 35 Respected Experts

by Betty Farber, M.Ed

Parents' & Teachers' Guide to Helping Young Children Learn
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    May 1998, 364 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Information on how young children learn, including emerging literacy, creativity and imagination, music, art etc. An invaluable resource for parents, preschools and all involved with early childhood.

This book provides information on how young children learn, and offers activities to encourage emerging literacy, promote creativity and imagination, and enhance knowledge and development in music, art, science, movement, and computers. Each section concludes with a list of resources.

This is one in a series of 3 books all edited by Better Farber, M.Ed. The other two books are:

- My Self, My Family, My Friends: 26 Experts Explore Young Children's Self-esteem.

- Guiding Young Children's Behavior: Helpful Ideas for Parents and Teachers from 28 Early Childhood Experts.

Chapter 12
Encouraging a Positive View of Reading & Writing
Nancy F. Browing

In many ways, your child is already both a reader and a writer. When your preschooler turns the pages, looking at a book, he is a reader, and when he can tell you, "That's McDonald's," because he knows the symbol of the golden arches, he is also a reader. Your child is a writer when she tells a story for you to write down, or when she makes marks or letters on paper to tell her own story.

To help your child see himself as a reader and writer from the start, involve him with books at an early age: read to your infant from birth, look at picture books with your child and provide books made of plastic and cardboard for your baby to manipulate. As your child gets older, provide a variety of books for him to look at by himself and with others.

Importance of a Positive View of Reading and Writing
Most activities that will help your preschooler to love both reading and writing do not ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Author Blurb Harriet Heath Ph.D, Director of The Parent Center, Thorne School Child Study Inst.
The articles are readable, concise and full of ideas. Parents, teachers, and child care providers can easily look up an area of interest. They will find a theoretical discussion about the issue with practical ideas for dealing with it....This is the beauty of the book.... It draws from the everyday activities that go on in home or in preschool settings. It connects the two and explains how everyday activities prepare the child. Each section includes a list of references, relevant books and activities.... The philosophy of child development behind these articles is one that needs to be reiterated for every generation of parents. It views children as curious and parents as having an important role in satisfying their curiosity. Children are seen as seeking to explore their world and to understand how it works. Parents -- following their children's explorations and understanding how children develop -- expand their children's experiences.

Author Blurb Harriet Friedes, educational consultant
An extraordinary, all encompassing resource that will have parents, educators and child care providers cheering.

Author Blurb Nancy Balaban, Ed.D. Director, Infant and Parent Development, Bank Street College, NY.
Within these pages lies a cache of riches for you and your preschool child whether you are a parent or a teacher, or both

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Parents' & Teachers' Guide to Helping Young Children Learn, try these:

  • How We Learn jacket

    How We Learn

    by Benedict Carey

    Published 2015

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives.

  • Queen Bee Moms & Kingpin Dads jacket

    Queen Bee Moms & Kingpin Dads

    by Rosalind Wiseman, Elizabeth Rapoport

    Published 2007

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Essential reading for parents today. Offering us the tools to become wiser, more relaxed parents – and the inspiration to speak out, act according to our values, show humility, and set the kind of example that will make a real difference in our children's lives.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: If I Was Your Girl
    If I Was Your Girl
    by Meredith Russo
    Who defines us? Do we ourselves, or does the society in which we live? Meredith Russo's ...
  • Book Jacket: If I Was Your Girl
    If I Was Your Girl
    by Meredith Russo
    Who defines us? Do we ourselves, or does the society in which we live? Meredith Russo's ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Lost Child
    by Caryl Phillips
    The Lost Child is a modern novel constructed within a historical frame, invoking one of the most ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Since She Went Away
    by David Bell

    A chilling novel of guilt, regret, and a past which refuses to die...

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Sweet Caress
by William Boyd

William Boyd's Sweet Caress captures an entire lifetime unforgettably within its pages. It captivates.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Charmers

The Charmers by Elizabeth Adler

"This tale of romantic suspense makes the perfect beach read."
—Library Journal

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

C To T Q

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.