MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of Parents' & Teachers' Guide to Helping Young Children Learn by Betty Farber, M.Ed

Parents' & Teachers' Guide to Helping Young Children Learn

Creative Ideas from 35 Respected Experts

by Betty Farber, M.Ed

Parents' & Teachers' Guide to Helping Young Children Learn by Betty Farber, M.Ed X
Parents' & Teachers' Guide to Helping Young Children Learn by Betty Farber, M.Ed
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    May 1998, 364 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Information on how young children learn, including emerging literacy, creativity and imagination, music, art etc. An invaluable resource for parents, preschools and all involved with early childhood.

This book provides information on how young children learn, and offers activities to encourage emerging literacy, promote creativity and imagination, and enhance knowledge and development in music, art, science, movement, and computers. Each section concludes with a list of resources.

This is one in a series of 3 books all edited by Better Farber, M.Ed. The other two books are:

- My Self, My Family, My Friends: 26 Experts Explore Young Children's Self-esteem.

- Guiding Young Children's Behavior: Helpful Ideas for Parents and Teachers from 28 Early Childhood Experts.

Chapter 12
Encouraging a Positive View of Reading & Writing
Nancy F. Browing

In many ways, your child is already both a reader and a writer. When your preschooler turns the pages, looking at a book, he is a reader, and when he can tell you, "That's McDonald's," because he knows the symbol of the golden arches, he is also a reader. Your child is a writer when she tells a story for you to write down, or when she makes marks or letters on paper to tell her own story.

To help your child see himself as a reader and writer from the start, involve him with books at an early age: read to your infant from birth, look at picture books with your child and provide books made of plastic and cardboard for your baby to manipulate. As your child gets older, provide a variety of books for him to look at by himself and with others.

Importance of a Positive View of Reading and Writing
Most activities that will help your preschooler to love both reading and writing do not ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Author Blurb Harriet Heath Ph.D, Director of The Parent Center, Thorne School Child Study Inst.
The articles are readable, concise and full of ideas. Parents, teachers, and child care providers can easily look up an area of interest. They will find a theoretical discussion about the issue with practical ideas for dealing with it....This is the beauty of the book.... It draws from the everyday activities that go on in home or in preschool settings. It connects the two and explains how everyday activities prepare the child. Each section includes a list of references, relevant books and activities.... The philosophy of child development behind these articles is one that needs to be reiterated for every generation of parents. It views children as curious and parents as having an important role in satisfying their curiosity. Children are seen as seeking to explore their world and to understand how it works. Parents -- following their children's explorations and understanding how children develop -- expand their children's experiences.

Author Blurb Harriet Friedes, educational consultant
An extraordinary, all encompassing resource that will have parents, educators and child care providers cheering.

Author Blurb Nancy Balaban, Ed.D. Director, Infant and Parent Development, Bank Street College, NY.
Within these pages lies a cache of riches for you and your preschool child whether you are a parent or a teacher, or both

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Parents' & Teachers' Guide to Helping Young Children Learn, try these:

  • How We Learn jacket

    How We Learn

    by Benedict Carey

    Published 2015

    About this book

    In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives.

  • Queen Bee Moms & Kingpin Dads jacket

    Queen Bee Moms & Kingpin Dads

    by Rosalind Wiseman, Elizabeth Rapoport

    Published 2007

    About this book

    More books by this author

    Essential reading for parents today. Offering us the tools to become wiser, more relaxed parents – and the inspiration to speak out, act according to our values, show humility, and set the kind of example that will make a real difference in our children's lives.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.