Summary and book reviews of The Fighting Agents by W.E.B. Griffin

The Fighting Agents

by W.E.B. Griffin

The Fighting Agents
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2000, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2001, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The fourth volume of W. E. B. Griffin's electrifying bestselling saga of the OSS during World War.

Originally published under the pen name Alex Baldwin and never before available in hardcover, the Men at War novels have proven every bit as popular as Griffin's other spectacular series.


The time is early l943: In the Philippines, a ragtag American guerrilla army battles the Japanese, under a most unusual commander. In Budapest, an agent must keep two key prisoners from being interrogated by the Gestapo, his only choices being to rescue them -- or kill them. In Washington, an Army Air Corps captain suddenly finds himself assigned deep under the sea, his mission an improbable one of submarines, supplies, arms, and gold. And in Cairo, an undistinguished pilot named Darmstadter wonders why in the world the OSS is interested in his services, only to find out in the most dramatic way possible --and become a hero in the process.

Excerpt will be available approx 3rd July.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Phoenix Gazette

Everywhere adventure crackles, fueled by the narrative realism, rich characters, and special flair for the military heart and mind that have always made Griffin's novels unique. The Fighting Agents is further proof that Griffin rates among the best storytellers in any genre.

Reader Reviews

stinky

its awesome

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Fighting Agents, try these:

  • Jackdaws jacket

    Jackdaws

    by Ken Follett

    Published 2006

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    'Follett delivers a very entertaining, very cinematic thriller about a ragtag, all-female band of British agents, code-named Jackdaws, sent to blow up a key telephone exchange in France on the eve of D-Day.'

  • The Company jacket

    The Company

    by Robert Littell

    Published 2003

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    An engrossing, multigenerational, wickedly nostalgic yet utterly candid saga, bringing to life through a host of characters--historical and imagined-- over 40 years of the CIA--"the Company" to insiders.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.