Summary and book reviews of Magee's Blue #3 by Donald Whittington

Magee's Blue #3

by Donald Whittington

Magee's Blue #3 by Donald Whittington X
Magee's Blue #3 by Donald Whittington
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Apr 2000, 291 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The touching story of a rural family struggling to stick together against all odds, and of a young boy's battle against self-blame for his family's flaws.

Magee's Blue #3 tells the touching story of a rural family struggling to stick together against all odds, and of a young boy's battle against self-blame for his family's flaws.

The story follows young Cleve Magee as his life turns upside down in the space of a few short months. Funny and moving, it is a novel about family and faith, and being young enough to think you are the center of the world, and learning to adapt when you find you are not.

Chapter One

Grousing and grumbling like a badger with the redass, I stumbled out of the house into the pre-dawn gloom. Buddy's old squirrel dog Oscar thumped his tail but didn't bother opening his eyes. A seasoned veteran of these early mornings, Oscar knew the drill and would catch his extra winks while he could.

Now Oscar's a pretty stupid name for a dog, I know, but then he ain't my dog, so there you go.

I fetched my Wolverines from the utility shed alongside the carport and took my time sitting on the back door steps to struggle into them. The hogs weren't going anywhere, and I needed to wake up better. The boots didn't fit worth a damn, but I'd bought and paid for them myself and was determined to wear them out. Mamma thought me ignorant for spending so much money on a pair of work boots, but I'd bought into all their ads and had to learn for myself.

Boots done, I took a minute to lean my head back against the storm door and close my ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Midwest Book Review
Reviewer's Choice. Cleve Magee's life turns upside down in the space of a few short months. Funny and moving, Magee's Blue #3 is a novel about family and faith, and of being young enough to think you are the center of the world -- then learning to adapt when it turns out that your not. Author Donald Whittington spins a thoroughly entertaining story that is engaging, exceptionally well written, and reader friendly as we settle in for the ride and thoroughly enjoy the trip. Magee's Blue #3 will send its readers in a dedicated search for Whittington's twelve other novels.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Magee's Blue #3, try these:

  • The Sleeping Father jacket

    The Sleeping Father

    by Matthew Sharpe

    Published 2003

    About this book

    'At once tragic and madcap, Sharpe's second novel offers an acidly funny portrait of a 'diminished nuclear unit' coping with its patriarch's pharmacologically induced stroke.'

  • Standing In The Rainbow jacket

    Standing In The Rainbow

    by Fannie Flagg

    Published 2003

    About this book

    More books by this author

    The time is 1946 until the present. The town is Elmwood Springs, Missouri. Once again, Flagg gives us a story of richly human characters, the saving graces of the once-maligned middle classes and small-town life, and the daily contest between laughter and tears.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Fly Girls
by Keith O'Brien

How five daring women defied all odds and made aviation history.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.