Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Secret Honor by W.E.B. Griffin

Secret Honor

by W.E.B. Griffin

Secret Honor by W.E.B. Griffin X
Secret Honor by W.E.B. Griffin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2000, 497 pages

    Paperback:
    Dec 2000, 624 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

In Wolf's Lair, a German general works toward the assassination of Adolf Hitler. In Buenos Aires, the general's son, codenamed Galahad, falls under suspicion by the SS after a Nazi operation suddenly goes bad...

As with his three enormously popular series--Brotherhood of War, The Corps, and Badge of Honor--Honor Bound and Blood and Honor, W. E. B. Griffin's novels of World War II espionage in Germany and Argentina, became immediate bestsellers. These are "immensely entertaining adventures" (Kirkus Reviews), "superior war stories" (Library Journal) "whose twists and turns keep readers guessing until the last page" (Publishers Weekly). Now, in Secret Honor, Griffin creates his most rousing novel yet.

In Wolf's Lair, a German general works toward the assassination of Adolf Hitler. In Buenos Aires, the general's son, codenamed Galahad, falls under suspicion by the SS after a Nazi operation suddenly goes bad. In the middle of it all is OSS agent Cletus Frade, who knows the identity of them both and what they will do next - if they can survive that long. For not only are SS and Abwehr officers hot on their trails in both countries, but the OSS has branded Frade a rogue agent and is determined to shake the truth from him, at whatever cost. If Frade can't figure out a way to hold them all off, then the futures of all three men may be very short indeed...

Written with all the special flair that Griffin's readers expect, filled with high drama and real heroes, Secret Honor is further proof, in Tom Clancy's words, that "Griffin is a storyteller in the grand tradition."

ONE
Near Sidi Mansour, Tunisia
7 April 1943

A solitary Afrika Korps staff car - a small Mercedes convertible sedan - moved as quickly as it could across the desert. It had of course been painted in the Afrika Korps desert scheme: tan paint mimicked the color of the Tunisian desert, and crooked black lines on the hood and doors were intended to break up the form of the vehicle and make it harder to spot at a distance.

Nothing could be done, however, to keep the dust of the Tunisian desert road from boiling up beneath the wheels of the Mercedes and raising a cloud scores of feet into the air. If anyone was looking, the dust cloud formed an arrow pointing to the Mercedes.

And someone was looking - an American pilot in a P-51 Mustang.

The North American P51-C and -D aircraft used in the North African campaign were powered by a Packard version of the British Merlin engine. They had a top speed of 440 knots, and were armed with four .50-caliber Browning machine guns. ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Griffin's strong eye for detail and rousing ability to keep real earth under his hero's heels give surprising lift to what otherwise might seem (like some early WWII movie set in Casablanca) dull stuff. After all, Cletus and Dorotea will always have Buenos Aires.

Publishers Weekly
This third entry in the military/espionage Honor Bound series, focusing on the Argentine-German connection during WWII, will intrigue newcomers and have Griffin's long-time fans queuing up for the next installment.

Booklist
The dialogue is a bit stereotyped--the word jawohl appears on just about every other page--but the plot moves at a brisk pace, which his fans appreciate.

Reader Reviews

Sven Raymond

Simply fascinating and filled with lots of suspense. Very entertaining.
Erma Sullivan

I love all the Honor Bound series. They are all well done and
they are also addictive. I am waiting for the next in the series.
Not too long I hope, I am 77 and want to keep reading Griffin p to the last. I have read everything that Mr Griffin has ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Secret Honor, try these:

We have 7 read-alikes for Secret Honor, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by W.E.B. Griffin
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...
  • Book Jacket: All Fours
    All Fours
    by Miranda July
    The premise of her second novel All Fours is simple enough but also as strange as one would expect ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.