Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of On Savage Shores by Caroline Pennock

On Savage Shores

How Indigenous Americans Discovered Europe

by Caroline Dodds Pennock

On Savage Shores by Caroline Dodds  Pennock X
On Savage Shores by Caroline Dodds  Pennock
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Jan 2023, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Peggy Kurkowski
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A landmark work of narrative history that shatters our previous Eurocentric understanding of the Age of Discovery by telling the story of the Indigenous Americans who journeyed across the Atlantic to Europe after 1492

We have long been taught to presume that modern global history began when the "Old World" encountered the "New", when Christopher Columbus "discovered" America in 1492. But, as Caroline Dodds Pennock conclusively shows in this groundbreaking book, for tens of thousands of Aztecs, Maya, Totonacs, Inuit and others —enslaved people, diplomats, explorers, servants, traders—the reverse was true: they discovered Europe. For them, Europe comprised savage shores, a land of riches and marvels, yet perplexing for its brutal disparities of wealth and quality of life, and its baffling beliefs.

The story of these Indigenous Americans abroad is a story of abduction, loss, cultural appropriation, and, as they saw it, of apocalypse—a story that has largely been absent from our collective imagination of the times. From the Brazilian king who met Henry VIII to the Aztecs who mocked up human sacrifice at the court of Charles V; from the Inuk baby who was put on show in a London pub to the mestizo children of Spaniards who returned "home" with their fathers; from the Inuit who harpooned ducks on the Avon river to the many servants employed by Europeans of every rank: here are a people who were rendered exotic, demeaned, and marginalized, but whose worldviews and cultures had a profound impact on European civilization.

Drawing on their surviving literature and poetry and subtly layering European eyewitness accounts against the grain, Pennock gives us a sweeping account of the Indigenous American presence in, and impact on, early modern Europe.

Chapter 1
Slavery

From the earliest encounters, Native peoples were seen by Europeans as a commodity to be exploited. On 11 October 1492, Columbus's crew 'discovered America', or more accurately, they first sighted the Taíno island of Guanahaní, which they 'took possession of ... in the names of the King and Queen', undeterred by the fact the island was quite obviously 'possessed' already. That day, Columbus concluded his diary: '[The people] ought to make good slaves for they are of quick intelligence since I notice that they are quick to repeat what is said to them, and I believe that they could very easily become Christians, for it seemed to me that they had no religion of their own. God willing, when I come to leave I will bring six of them to Your Highnesses so that they may learn to speak. And take them he did.

Exactly a month after Columbus's crew first spied land, five young Indigenous men who had paddled a canoe out to his flagship, the Santa María, found ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The "savage shore" Pennock writes about is Europe, as experienced by various Indigenous travelers. This upends and reframes popular conceptions of the word "savage" and who or what the appellation is often applied to. Along with the travels of Indigenous people, Pennock also exhaustively details the "stuff of life" that traveled from the Americas back to Europe, influencing its culture and pastimes. The relative lack of first-person Indigenous accounts in the book — both current and historical — is a limitation that results in a narrative frequently peppered with the author's own questions about what Native travelers might have seen, felt or thought about their interactions. The reader is invited to wonder, to imagine, but not necessarily to know what the experience of Indigenous people at this time was truly like...continued

Full Review (877 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Peggy Kurkowski).

Media Reviews

Financial Times (UK)
In On Savage Shores, Dodds Pennock has performed a monumental work of historical excavation. Beautifully written and painstakingly researched, this is first-rate scholarship.

History Today
Inspiring and important ... Expertly researched, convincingly argued, erudite yet readable, and introduces new readers to the reality of Indigenous American experience.

The Guardian (UK), Book of the Day
On Savage Shores is a work of historical recovery ... few books make as compelling a case for such a reimagining

The Independent (UK)
On Savage Shores offers a welcome non-Eurocentric narrative about how the great civilisations of the Americas discovered Europe ... an important book.

The Times (UK)
Dodds Pennock's unpeeling of the indigenous experience from obscure manuscripts ... is a much-needed and refreshing take on our all-too Eurocentric telling of the past.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
In this fascinating and fluidly written revisionist history, Dodds Pennock, a senior lecturer in international history at the University of Sheffield, pieces together a 'mosaic of glimmering fragments' to explore how Indigenous people encountered and perceived European colonizers.

Kirkus Reviews
A convincing history of Indigenous peoples' deep integration into—and surprising influence on—European politics and culture.

Library Journal
Will fit well in public and academic libraries with collections in the history of the Americas.

Author Blurb Brett Rushforth, author of Bonds of Alliance: Indigenous and Atlantic Slaveries in New France
Caroline Dodds Pennock offers a remarkably fresh and compelling account of the so-called Age of Discovery. Whether arriving as ambassadors or enslaved, these travellers experienced Europe as a new and disorienting world: a place of shocking violence and perplexing social norms. Pennock, a leading authority on Indigenous Mexico, tells their stories with insight and humanity. A must read.

Author Blurb Catherine Fletcher, author of The Beauty and the Terror
Pennock has pieced together hundreds of fragments to create a new and remarkable portrait of the travellers who crossed the Atlantic not to the Americas but from them, and who found in Europe a strange, often hostile, sometimes intriguing society, vastly different from their own.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

The Spread of Indigenous American Foods to Europe

Photograph of a variety of potatoes in a market in Peru, displayed with colorful price signs One of the more flavorful influences of the New World on the Old in the age of Christopher Columbus was the impact Indigenous Americans had on the food of Europe. This occurred as part of what is popularly known as the "Columbian Exchange," or the general mixing of goods and culture (as well as disease) between Indigenous peoples in the Americas and Europeans, and it changed the world forever.

Caroline Dodds Pennock notes in her book On Savage Shores that "before contact with the Americas, Europe (and indeed the rest of the world) had no potatoes, squash, maize, or beans." The flow of crops and cuisine from the west (the Americas) to the east (Europe and beyond) occurred rapidly. Maize (corn) and potatoes in particular took root (no...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked On Savage Shores, try these:

  • African Europeans jacket

    African Europeans

    by Olivette Otele

    Published 2023

    About this book

    A dazzling history of Africans in Europe, revealing their unacknowledged role in shaping the continent.

  • The Dawn of Everything jacket

    The Dawn of Everything

    by David Graeber, David Wengrow

    Published 2023

    About this book

    A dramatically new understanding of human history, challenging our most fundamental assumptions about social evolution―from the development of agriculture and cities to the origins of the state, democracy, and inequality―and revealing new possibilities for human emancipation.

We have 4 read-alikes for On Savage Shores, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Who Said...

The truth does not change according to our ability to stomach it

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.