Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022

Reviews of Dinosaurs by Lydia Millet

Dinosaurs

A Novel

by Lydia Millet

Dinosaurs by Lydia Millet X
Dinosaurs by Lydia Millet
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Oct 2022, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Over twelve novels and two collections Lydia Millet has emerged as a major American novelist. Hailed as "a writer without limits" (Karen Russell) and "a stone-cold genius" (Jenny Offill), Millet makes fiction that vividly evokes the ties between people and other animals and the crisis of extinction.

Dinosaurs is the story of a man named Gil who walks from New York to Arizona to recover from a failed love. After he arrives, new neighbors move into the glass-walled house next door and his life begins to mesh with theirs. In this warmly textured, drily funny, and philosophical account of Gil's unexpected devotion to the family, Millet explores the uncanny territory where the self ends and community begins―what one person can do in a world beset by emergencies. In the shadow of existential threat, where does hope live?

MOURNING

WHEN HE DECIDED to leave New York, he chose Arizona because of some drone footage he'd seen. It wove through the canyons of red-rock mountain foothills, over sage-green scrub and towering cacti with their arms outstretched. Then up into the higher elevations, where there were forests of ponderosa pine.

Sky islands, was what they called those desert mountains.

Gil was keenly aware, watching the video, that he himself would never glide over the rolling landscape with that hypnotic steadiness. Would never coast over trees as the metal bird did—close enough to see the clusters of green needles on the pine boughs dip and sway in the wind.

He was also aware of the artifice of the soaring choral music the footage was set to. No landscape came with that.

Still it captured him. The desert had an alien beauty that seemed as different as you could get, within the lower forty-eight. The opposite of Manhattan.

He recognized the pattern. He went to new places because they ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!
  • award image

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Millet is a beautiful writer, with a calm and expansive style. She ties up some loose ends of the story, but not all, so that the reader will find it pleasing to contemplate what may happen to these characters down the road (Susan K). Gil is a rather quiet man, but very kind and big-hearted. The story is about relationships he forms with his new neighbors, and others. I ended up falling a little bit in love with Gil by the end of the book (Jennie R). This is a simple story — dryly funny, insightful and emotionally moving. I enjoy Millet's writing and would also recommend A Children's Bible and Mermaids in Paradise (Catharine L). The story, while rather simple, is rich with material to discuss and ponder. The allegory of the castle next to the glass house, the birds of the desert evolved from dinosaurs, friendships and life and death are all woven into this lovely story (Sharon J)...continued

Full Review (685 words).

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers).

Media Reviews

Vogue
Tender but never sentimental, wearing its intelligence in a low-slung style, Dinosaurs is a garden of earthly delights.

Booklist (starred review)
[A]n intriguing portrait of a lonesome man trying to do good in a grim world.

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
[A] gentle, meditative novel...Another life-affirming work from a writer who always carves her own literary path.

Library Journal
More tender and less mercurial than anything Lydia Millet has written before, this is an elegant, subtle novel of profound emotional heft and deceptively simple prose of immense power, ending on a grace note that marks a high point in the author's career.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Millet returns with a brilliant story of survival, one subtler and more effective than the NBA-shortlisted A Children's Bible (2020)...Her character work—notably of the men—is precise and stunning, as she locates their foibles and virtues, and injects a surprisingly moving dose of optimism into Gil and the married couple as they try to endure. This wonderful and dynamic writer is at the top of her game.

New York Times
Millet keeps thwarting the reader's expectations of drama, and offers instead a subdued portrait of a wounded middle-aged man's journey toward wholeness... Millet may have thought that, in a time of widespread hatred, bigotry and violence, this is the kind of fiction we need: a comforting story about decency and simple human goodness. But she doesn't avoid the well-known problem of how to make goodness compelling.

The Washington Post
Millet has explored this species of existential despair more powerfully before. For instance, How the Dead Dream followed a rich real estate developer who suddenly began communing with animals hurtling toward extinction... Such poignancy and quirkiness have been effectively domesticated in Dinosaurs, which asks us to care but doesn't give us much reason to.

Reader Reviews

Claire M. (Wrentham, MA)

Survival Depends on This
A jewel of a book, Dinosaurs is a novel of a carefully shaped life. Gil keeps a low profile, calling little attention to himself amidst a showboat culture. He uses his powers for good, and therefore has the leisure to notice. He makes a quiet study ...   Read More
Catharine L. (Petoskey, MI)

Dinasours
Gil, independently wealthy at 45, has few friends and no family. He feels guilty about the money and spends his time volunteering. The book is about his developing relationship with the family next door. This is a simple story - dryly funny, ...   Read More
Lynn D. (Kingston, NY)

People in glass houses
I really enjoyed this quiet, thoughtful novel. The main character, Gil, is looking for a new start and for purpose in his life, having no need to 'make a living.' Along the way he exemplifies his humanity in his daily life with his neighbors and ...   Read More
Eileen C. (New York, NY)

Life-affirming
In this gentle novel, Lydia Millet uses deceptively simple prose to explore the psychological intricacies of a wealthy, 45-year-old white man, uncomfortable with his privilege, who is trying to do good in the world. This seemingly quiet novel is ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Novels About Trying to Do Good

Covers of novels about trying to do good: The Wrong End of the Telescope, The Silence That Binds Us, Barn 8, Watch Us Rise In Lydia Millet's Dinosaurs, independently wealthy Gil grapples with the guilt brought on by his privilege and financial abundance. He tries to find ways to give back to those around him, through volunteer work and other means. A character's choice to actively attempt to do good deeds, or to change the world for the better, is one rich with narrative possibilities. It raises questions about what it means to be in a position to improve the lives of others, who gets to decide what is best for who else, and what type of work is most important or substantial. Below are a few other novels in which the motivations and morality of those trying to do good are explored. You can find more related novels in our Activism and Volunteering category. ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Read-alikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Lydia Millet

If you liked Dinosaurs, try these:

  • The Wrong End of the Telescope jacket

    The Wrong End of the Telescope

    by Rabih Alameddine

    Published 2022

    About this book

    More by this author

    By National Book Award and the National Book Critics' Circle Award finalist for An Unnecessary Woman, Rabih Alameddine, comes a transporting new novel about an Arab American trans woman's journey among Syrian refugees on Lesbos island.

  • Brood jacket

    Brood

    by Jackie Polzin

    Published 2022

    About this book

    An exquisite new literary voice - wryly funny, nakedly honest, beautifully observational, in the vein of Jenny Offill and Elizabeth Strout - depicts one woman's attempt to keep her four chickens alive while reflecting on a recent loss.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search read-alikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Bewilderment
    by Richard Powers
    In 2019, Richard Powers won the Pulitzer Prize for The Overstory, a sprawling novel whose characters...
  • Book Jacket: I'm the Girl
    I'm the Girl
    by Courtney Summers
    YA author Courtney Summers doesn't believe in shielding her teenage readers from the world's darkest...
  • Book Jacket: They're Going to Love You
    They're Going to Love You
    by Meg Howrey
    Teenage Carlisle lives with her mother in Ohio, but their relationship has never felt particularly ...
  • Book Jacket: The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    by Isaac Blum
    That irreplaceable feeling of everyone knowing your name. The yearning to be anonymous. Parents ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W N, W Not

and be entered to win..

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Cradles of the Reich
by Jennifer Coburn
Three women, a nation seduced by a madman, and the Nazi breeding program to create a so-called master race.
Who Said...

More Anagrams

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.