Reviews of A Snake Falls to Earth by Darcie Little Badger

A Snake Falls to Earth

by Darcie Little Badger

A Snake Falls to Earth by Darcie Little Badger X
A Snake Falls to Earth by Darcie Little Badger
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Nov 2021, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Althea Draper
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Nina is a Lipan girl in our world. She's always felt there was something more out there. She still believes in the old stories.

Oli is a cottonmouth kid, from the land of spirits and monsters. Like all cottonmouths, he's been cast from home. He's found a new one on the banks of the bottomless lake.

Nina and Oli have no idea the other exists. But a catastrophic event on Earth, and a strange sickness that befalls Oli's best friend, will drive their worlds together in ways they haven't been in centuries.

And there are some who will kill to keep them apart.

Darcie Little Badger introduced herself to the world with Elatsoe. In A Snake Falls to Earth, she draws on traditional Lipan Apache storytelling structure to weave another unforgettable tale of monsters, magic, and family. It is not to be missed.

Coming Soon.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Nina's quest to understand her heritage through Rosita's story is crucial to the plot, and the author's lyrical and whimsical writing is reminiscent of the fairy tales and folklore of childhood, bringing a sense of nostalgia to this fantastical book. The existence of two worlds in A Snake Falls to Earth — one where animal people thrive in their true forms, and one where humans live — gives the reader a chance to delve into an exciting fantasy. And because the two worlds are interconnected — for example, some animal people face extinction due to humanity's carelessness and the effects of climate change on Earth — the book offers insight into how our actions affect the world around us and gives a voice to the animals that are endangered by overconsumption and greed...continued

Full Review Members Only (644 words).

(Reviewed by Althea Draper).

Media Reviews

Booklist (starred review)
Magical, stunning, and wholly original.

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Little Badger alternates between two distinct, well-realized voices...highlighting critical issues of language revitalization and climate change. The story leads readers through two richly constructed worlds using a style that evokes the timeless feeling of listening to traditional oral storytelling. A coming-of-age story that beautifully combines tradition and technology for modern audiences.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
The second novel by Lipan Apache author Little Badger is a smartly intertwined, shifting-perspective story about two characters in worlds that diverged thousands of years ago: Earth-living Nina, who is nine, and Reflecting World–living Oli, 15...Fun, imaginative, and deeply immersive, this story will be long in the minds of readers.

School Library Connection
A highly descriptive story with open dialogue which absorbs the audience into its world, readers will become invested in reading until the very end.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Contemporary YA Literature by Indigenous Authors

Darcie Little Badger's second young adult book, A Snake Falls to Earth, contains cultural elements from the Lipan Apache tribe, of which both the author and the book's main character, Nina, are members. The book references the animal people who appear in the Lipan Apache creation story, and it is inspired by traditional Indigenous storytelling. It is one of a number of contemporary young adult books by Indigenous authors that feature representation of Indigenous cultures and people in their many forms.

YA Books by Indigenous Authors

Of course, when looking at some of the exciting new titles with Indigenous main characters in YA, Little Badger's debut novel Elatsoe is a real standout, having been nominated for and awarded several literary prizes, including a ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Read-alikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Darcie Little Badger

If you liked A Snake Falls to Earth, try these:

  • Firekeeper's Daughter jacket

    Firekeeper's Daughter

    by Angeline Boulley

    Published 2023

    About this book

    Winner of the 2021 BookBrowse Award for Best Young Adult Novel

    In Firekeeper's Daughter, debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

  • Blood Like Magic jacket

    Blood Like Magic

    by Liselle Sambury

    Published 2022

    About this book

    A rich, dark urban fantasy debut following a teen witch who is given a horrifying task: sacrificing her first love to save her family's magic. The problem is, she's never been in love - she'll have to find the perfect guy before she can kill him.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search read-alikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Most Precious Substance on Earth
    The Most Precious Substance on Earth
    by Shashi Bhat
    Think of all the worst parts of puberty — all the moments you partially miss or brood about ...
  • Book Jacket
    Lightning Strike
    by William Kent Krueger
    It is the summer of 1963 in Tamarack County, Minnesota. Just outside the small town of Aurora, ...
  • Book Jacket: Bitch
    Bitch
    by Lucy Cooke
    In middle school biology class, many of us were told that men hunt and women nest, that testosterone...
  • Book Jacket: Jackie & Me
    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard
    Louis Bayard's Jackie & Me offers a fictionalized version of the early relationship between John F. ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Widowland
    by C. J. Carey

    A thrilling feminist dystopian novel set in an alternate 1950s Britain under the control of the Third Reich.

  • Book Jacket

    Some of It Was Real
    by Nan Fischer

    A psychic on the verge of stardom and a cynical journalist are brought together by secrets that threaten to tear them apart.

Who Said...

Great literature cannot grow from a neglected or impoverished soil...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wishes W H B W R

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.