Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of All of Us Villains by Amanda Foody

All of Us Villains

All of Us Villains #1

by Amanda Foody, Christine Herman

All of Us Villains by Amanda Foody, Christine Herman X
All of Us Villains by Amanda Foody, Christine Herman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2021, 400 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2022, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
David Bahia
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The blockbuster co-writing debut of Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman, All of Us Villains begins a dark tale of ambition and magick...

You Fell in Love with the Victors of the Hunger Games.
Now Prepare to Meet the Villains of the Blood Veil.

The Blood Moon rises. The Blood Veil falls. The Tournament begins.

Every generation, at the coming of the Blood Moon, seven families in the remote city of Ilvernath each name a champion to compete in a tournament to the death.

The prize? Exclusive control over a secret wellspring of high magick, the most powerful resource in the world―one thought long depleted.

This year, thanks to a salacious tell-all book, the seven champions are thrust into the worldwide spotlight, granting each of them new information, new means to win, and most importantly, a choice: accept their fate or rewrite their story.

But this is a story that must be penned in blood.

ALISTAIR LOWE

The Lowes shaped cruelty into a crown, and oh, they wear it well.

A Tradition of Tragedy: The True Story of the Town that Sends its Children to Die

The Lowe family had always been the undisputed villains of their town's ancient, bloodstained story, and no one understood that better than the Lowe brothers.

The family lived on an isolated estate of centuries-worn stone, swathed in moss and shadowed in weeping trees. On mischief nights, children from Ilvernath sometimes crept up to its towering wrought iron fence, daring their friends to touch the famous padlock chained around the gate—the one engraved with a scythe.

Grins like goblins, the children murmured, because the children in Ilvernath loved fairy tales—especially real ones. Pale as plague and silent as spirits. They'll tear your throat and drink your soul.

All these tales were deserved.

These days, the Lowe brothers knew better than to tempt the town's wrath, but that didn't stop them from sneaking over the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Notwithstanding the centrality of magick, spells and curses, All of Us Villains is foremost a teenage drama backed by heavy character development. It is a tale of constantly shifting alliances, ineluctable betrayal and inconvenient secrets that hold potential sway in the tournament's outcome. Readers should not expect the atmospheric charm of Hogwarts or the romanticism of Isengard. Thematically, the narrative embodies to a large extent a retelling of the classic plot of the tragic hero, in this case subverted to fit the titular villains. These champions of the story are groomed by their families from birth to become unremorseful agents of death. The disconnect between the characters' free will and fate inevitably leads to conflicts of personal identity, which the book explores at length...continued

Full Review (1021 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by David Bahia).

Media Reviews

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
[E]xquisite worldbuilding...So bespelling that the cliffhanger ending will feel like a painful curse.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Nuanced, exceptionally well-drawn characters and a carefully considered mythology add dimension to the sturdy Hunger Games–meets–Harry Potter premise, while unexpected attractions and shifting alliances add drama.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Nuanced, exceptionally well-drawn characters and a carefully considered mythology add dimension to the sturdy Hunger Games–meets–Harry Potter premise, while unexpected attractions and shifting alliances add drama.

School Library Journal
Foody and Herman team up in this duology starter to deliver a fast-paced, morally gray story of ambition and survival. A strong choice for all YA collections.

Author Blurb Adalyn Grace, New York Times bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth
Positively wicked in all the right ways. This series is my new obsession, and I cannot wait to devour the next one. With its innovative magic system, a twisted cast of characters you somehow can't help but love, and a plot that will leave you on the edge of your seat, All of Us Villains is addicting from start to finish. I'm obsessed.

Author Blurb Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series
Magical, clever and cutthroat, All of Us Villains sets out to make it impossible to know who to root for.... A fun, twisty ride through a world full of spells and family secrets.

Author Blurb Sara Holland, New York Times bestselling author of Everless
Both glittering with magic and drenched in blood, All of Us Villains kept me up at night with its heart-pounding pace and layered mysteries. I'll be waiting for Book Two with bated breath and bitten nails.

Author Blurb Tara Sim, author of Scavenge the Stars
Foody and Herman's collaboration offers a fun yet brutal tale of sacrifice, betrayal, and ever-shifting loyalties. From twists that'll make you gasp to believably flawed characters you can't help but cheer for and curse in the same breath, this one will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

Reader Reviews

Arnav

Decent story
I liked it! what a book.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

High and Common "Magick" in Past and Present Narratives

Red-tinged blood moon, partly visible against black night sky Of all the commanding aspects of All of Us Villains, the concept of "magick" arguably stands as the story's most significant. The residents of Ilvernath treat its existence much as they would electricity and running water, and in many ways are just as reliant on its practical applications as we in the real world are on our smartphones. An examination into the impact of magick on the roles of the central characters reveals parallels in its symbolism to an array of other stories in history and the present.

In All of Us Villains, "magick" is divided into two subsets: "common (low) magick" and "high magick."

Common magick is described in its "raw" form as a white, glittering substance that can be harvested from the deceased. An ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked All of Us Villains, try these:

  • The Book Eaters jacket

    The Book Eaters

    by Sunyi Dean

    Published 2023

    About this book

    Sunyi Dean's The Book Eaters is "a darkly sweet pastry of a book about family, betrayal, and the lengths we go to for the ones we love. A delicious modern fairy tale." - Christopher Buehlman, Shirley Jackson Award-winning author.

  • The Gilded Ones jacket

    The Gilded Ones

    by Namina Forna

    Published 2022

    About this book

    The most anticipated fantasy of 2021. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice. Get ready for battle.

We have 4 read-alikes for All of Us Villains, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Cecilia
    by K-Ming Chang
    In the first few pages of K-Ming Chang's bizarre yet engrossing novella Cecilia, Seven, the ...
  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.