Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Carolina Moon by Nora Roberts

Carolina Moon

by Nora Roberts

Carolina Moon by Nora Roberts X
Carolina Moon by Nora Roberts
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2000, 438 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2001, 480 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Doyenne of the bestseller lists, Roberts may have achieved her personal best in this tense Southern gothic. This is romantic drama at its best.

In Carolina Moon, beloved author Nora Roberts spins her finest, most evocative tale yet, in a novel rich with the secrets and romance of the South. In a starred review, Publishers Weekly notes, "Doyenne of the bestseller lists, Roberts may have achieved her personal best in this tense Southern gothic. This is romantic drama at its best."

Tory Bodeen grew up in a small, rundown house where her father ruled with an iron fist and a leather belt--and where her dreams and talents had no room to flourish. But she had Hope--who lived in the big house, just a short skip away, and whose friendship allowed Tory to be something she wasn't allowed to be at home: a child.

After young Hope's brutal murder, unsolved to this day, Tory's life began to fall apart. And now, as she returns to the tiny town of Progress, South Carolina, with plans to settle in and open a stylish home-design shop, she is determined to find a measure of peace and free herself from the haunting visions of that terrible night. As she forges a new bond with Cade Lavelle--Hope's older brother and the heir to the Lavelle fortune--she isn't sure whether the tragic loss they share will unite them or drive them apart. But she is willing to open her heart, just a little, and try. But living so close to those unhappy memories will be more difficult and frightening than she ever expected. Because the killer of Hope is nearby as well.

Tory

To me, fair friend, you never can be old,
For as you were when first your eye I eyed,
Such seems your beauty still.

-William Shakespeare

Chapter One

She woke in the body of a dead friend. She was eight, tall for her age, fragile of bone, delicate of feature. Her hair was the color of corn silk, and slid prettily down her narrow back. Her mother loved to brush it every night, one hundred strokes with the soft-bristled, silver-backed brush that sat on the graceful cherrywood vanity.

The child's body remembered this, felt this, each long, sustained beat with the brush and how it made her imagine herself a cat being petted. How the light slanted over the pin boxes and the bottles of crystal and cobalt, and struck the silver back of the brush as it flashed over her hair.

She remembered the scent of the room, smelled it even now. Gardenia. Always gardenia for Mama.

And in the mirror, by lamplight, she could see the pale oval of her face, so young, so pretty, ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

San Francisco Chronicle
Has the elements of a mystery, a comedy and a small town soap opera. In fact, it's all three and more, a book about loss and recovery, grief and resolution, meddling and responsibility.

The Washington Post
Delightful characters, lively dialogue and good storytelling.

Publishers Weekly
[Nora Roberst] may have achieved her personal best in this tense Southern gothic.... This is romantic drama at its best.

Reader Reviews

Tori

Great!
The whole idea of the book made me feel like I was watching every little part. There were no physical details like hair color but yet i still seemed to see it crystal clear. I loved the book and was shocked at the results. I am only 13 years old and ...   Read More
Ciara

On the edge of my seat
I started reading this book only the other day and i am just hooked. I have been reading it every moment i get. I am almost finished but i just want to know what happens. This book contains a good mix of romance, trajedy and horror. It offers ...   Read More
Wanda G

This is the first book that I read by Nora Roberts, but not the last. I was hooked after the first page, longing to read what was going to happen next. It was so good I would read on the beach, at the pool, in the car going to eat, and could not go ...   Read More
brown books

First book I read by Nora Roberts and still the best. Romance, horror but aso exceptionally funny. Love how its supporting characters are completely fleshed out. Especially liked the story of Wade and Faith. Made me go out and buy her entire back...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Carolina Moon, try these:

We have 4 read-alikes for Carolina Moon, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Nora Roberts
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.