Summary and book reviews of Blackout by John Nance

Blackout

by John J. Nance

Blackout
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2000, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2001, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A Boeing 747 rises through a beautiful Hong Kong sunset, but within minutes, the plane is rocked by an explosion. The huge jet shudders through its descent while hundreds of passengers hold on for their lives.

Reviewers have called John J. Nance "a wonderful storyteller" (Chicago Tribune) who gives readers the kind of book they want: "so compelling it's tough to look away" (People), "more addictive than morphine" (The Dallas Morning News), "the non-stop read of your life" (Rocky Mountain News).

As his new thriller Blackout begins, a Boeing 747-400 rises through a beautiful Hong Kong sunset on its way to Los Angeles. But within minutes, the plane is rocked by an explosion outside the cockpit that leaves one pilot dead and another blinded. The huge jet shudders through its descent while hundreds of passengers hold on for their lives.

Kat Bronsky, an FBI agent and terrorism specialist, is assigned the hunt for a Global Express business jet seen nearby prior to the attack. Could the explosion have been a cruel twist of fate? Or could the phantom Global Express have employed some new kind of weapon? Bronsky tracks the Global Express crew across the Pacific to the American Northwest and a breathless, edge-of-the-seat showdown.

Prologue

Aboard SeaAir 122, in flight, over the Gulf of Mexico, 180 miles southwest of Tampa, Florida 11:43 A.M. local/1643 Zulu

Karen Briant suppressed a smile as she watched Jim Olson struggle. His athletic body was stretched to its six-foot limit, his jeans just inches from her face as he stood on tiptoe and yanked again at the door of the overhead compartment. It opened at last, and she heard him unzip his carry-on bag and rummage around. He grunted with satisfaction and reclosed the bag before looking down at her.

"Good. I feel better now," he said, snapping the compartment shut.

"And what, exactly," she began as he slid back into the window seat, "were you afraid you'd forgotten, Sir?" She ruffled her shoulder-length auburn hair and looked at him with mock suspicion. "Not another self-indulgent gift from Victoria's Secret, I hope?" Another bikini would be too much. She was already feeling overexposed in the revealing sundress that he'd bought for her. ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Nance continues to craft brilliantly hair-raising in-flight emergency scenes and brings this turbulent ride to a rousing, well-developed finale that comes together smoothly on final approach.

Kirkus Reviews

Nances hand for crackling intensity remains peerless. Once on the ground, the standard figures of melodrama emerge in the forms of deep-dyed villains, law-enforcement fieldworkers, and the harassed US president. If this saga is ever filmed, the screenwriter should toss its second half.

School Library Journal

A fast-paced adventure with many ups and downs ending in a surprise, edge-of-your-seat showdown.

Booklist

In effect a glorified chase scene stretched from Hong Kong to Idaho, Nance's new airliner adventure rides on his stock-in-trade of plane crashes, pilot jargon, and airport protocol. ...This will be popular with the aviation-minded, if not with those who expect finesse in their thrillers.

Reader Reviews

Corrine JJ

Aviation facts add to the plot, brilliant book, unputdownable

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Blackout, try these:

  • Havana jacket

    Havana

    by Stephen Hunter

    Published 2005

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Havana, the sultry spring of 1953. Earl Swagger knows only one thing for certain: that he's a pawn in somebody else's game, but a pawn with a Colt Super .38 and the skill and will to use it fast.

  • The Lion's Game jacket

    The Lion's Game

    by Nelson DeMille

    Published 2000

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    DeMille delivers the signature plot twists and sardonic humor his readers have come to expect.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.