BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

Reviews of Night of Fire by Colin Thubron

Night of Fire by Colin Thubron

Night of Fire

by Colin Thubron
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  •  Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
  • Jan 17, 2017
  • Paperback:
  • Jan 2018
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Book Summary

Award-winning, bestselling novelist and travel writer Colin Thubron returns to fiction with his first novel in more than a decade, a searing, poetic masterwork of memory.

A house is burning, threatening the existence of its six tenants—including a failed priest; a naturalist; a neurosurgeon; an invalid dreaming of his anxious boyhood; and their landlord, whose relationship to the tenants is both intimate and shadowy. At times, he shares their preoccupations and memories. He will also share their fate.

In Night of Fire, the passions and obsessions in a dying house loom and shift, from those of the hallucinating drug addict in the basement to the landlord training his rooftop telescope on the night skies. As the novel progresses, the tenants' diverse stories take us through an African refugee camp, Greek Orthodox monasteries, and the cremation grounds of India. Haunting the edges of their lives are memories. Will these remembrances be consumed forever by the flames? Or can they survive in some form?

Night of Fire is Colin Thubron's fictive masterpiece: a novel of exquisite beauty, philosophical depth, and lingering mystery that is a brilliant meditation on life itself.

1
Landlord

It began with a spark, an electrical break like the first murmur of a weakening heart that would soon unhinge the body, until its conflagration at last consumed the whole building. Years ago, at the end of the Victorian century, the house had been built in dignified isolation, but later developers split its storeys into separate flats, and the once-grand staircases now ascended past empty landings and closed doors. It was slipping into stately old age. Its balconies sagged behind their wrought-iron balustrades, and chunks of stucco pediment were dropping off on to the dustbins fifty feet below. The garden behind, which had once been the landlord's pride, lay half forgotten, and its shrubs – photinia, daphne, rosemary – burgeoned unclipped over the lawn.

Somewhere in the bowels of the building, behind a damp wall, a kink in a carbonised wire had become a tiny furnace. Down this half-blocked artery it travelled to a worn Bakelite socket, and the tenant asleep in ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Memories, like butterflies, flutter throughout the pages, constantly reminding us of the brevity and ephemeral nature of our existence. Live your life. Love those around you. Be kind. This seems to be what Thubron is saying. He does so in a manner so elegant and poetic that if I could just read one book this year, I would absolutely pick this one...continued

Full Review (718 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Zoë Fairtlough).

Media Reviews

Radio Times (UK)
A compelling, lyrical tale of how a single spark unravels seven entwined lives.

The Daily Mail (UK)
Gradually the stories interweave in a way that is both mysterious and mystical, until in the end we are left in a kind of dream world… Veteran travel author and novelist Colin Thubron has produced an engrossing, unsettling and brutally beautiful masterpiece.

The Spectator (UK)
[Thubron's] novels and classic travelogues do not seem to spring from disparate parts of the imagination, but rather enjoy a symbiotic relationship that, as he matures, results in increasingly fascinating work…This outstanding novel confirms that there is nowhere Thubron fears to tread.

The Sunday Telegraph (UK)
Thubron pushes gently at great mysteries…the idea of a catastrophe at the centre of a web of lives recalls Thornton Wilder's The Bridge of San Luis Rey; the occult connections between characters across time feels closer to David Mitchell's Cloud Atlas. But this intensely moving book is its own creature, and Thubron is sure-footed amid its profundities.

The Sunday TImes (UK)
He combines curiosity with erudition, and stylishness with gravitas… The novel slowly builds into a haunting study of memory, identity and loss… His calm, contemplative tone and his mastery of imagery are on full display here.

The Times (UK)
In his first novel for 14 years, Thubron returns with what might be his masterpiece…Thubron's prose shines a penetrating light on the nature of memory and being human. Sublime.

The Guardian (UK)
The novel displays the sensitive curiosity about other lives, and keen observation of how people differ, that distinguishes his travel writing…complex and skillful, yet transparent, without trickery.

Booklist
Starred Review. As a master travel writer, Thubron (To a Mountain in Tibet, 2011) is remarkable for his supple, nuanced prose and concentration on individual personalities as well as place. This evocative and philosophical novel reminds us that such qualities make for powerful fiction as well.

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. Thubron isn't subtle in his themes or structure, but he intrigues with his many resonances and takes the reader on a journey through life's essential questions.

Publishers Weekly
A Victorian house somewhere near the sea, ruined over time, is burning down. Chapter by chapter, room by smoky room, Thubron's remarkable novel journeys into the lives of the house's six occupants, mining their pasts and the places they've traveled for answers to questions that have plagued mankind since Socrates.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book



Breathtaking Butterflies

Night of Fire frequently references butterflies, often ethereal, almost infinite in variation, and miraculous in their metamorphosis: "...the butterfly's resurrection was different: the winged angel risen from a worm...It showed that anything could become anything." It's as though Thubron wants to remind us time and again that we can change, we don't have to be worms.

The word butterfly literally means a fly that's attracted to butter. A German name, "milchdieb," means milk-thief. In places where ancient farming methods are still practiced, it's not uncommon to find butterflies hovering over buttermilk left to settle.

Here are but five of the many butterfly species that appear in the book:

Glasswing butterfly Glasswings (Greta oto) are ethereal ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Night of Fire, try these:

We have 7 read-alikes for Night of Fire, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Colin Thubron
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!