Reviews of Dog Run Moon by Callan Wink

Dog Run Moon

Stories

by Callan Wink

Dog Run Moon by Callan Wink X
Dog Run Moon by Callan Wink
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Feb 2016, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

In the tradition of Richard Ford, Annie Proulx, and Kent Haruf comes a dazzling debut story collection by a young writer from the American West who has been published in The New Yorker, Granta, and The Best American Short Stories.

A construction worker on the run from the shady local businessman whose dog he has stolen; a Custer's Last Stand reenactor engaged in a long-running affair with the Native American woman who slays him on the battlefield every year; a middle-aged high school janitor caught in a scary dispute over land and cattle with her former stepson: Callan Wink's characters are often confronted with predicaments few of us can imagine. But thanks to the humor and remarkable empathy of this supremely gifted writer, the nine stories gathered in Dog Run Moon are universally transporting and resonant.

Set mostly in Montana and Wyoming, near the borders of Yellowstone National Park, this revelatory collection combines unforgettable insight into the fierce beauty of the West with a powerful understanding of human beings. Tender, frequently hilarious, and always electrifying, Dog Run Moon announces the arrival of a bold new talent writing deep in the American grain.

Excerpt
Dog Run Moon

Even in his current predicament Sid couldn't help but admire the dog. A magnificent bird dog for broken country such as this, no two ways about it. Sid kept going, hobbling, feeling the sharp rimrock make raw hamburger out of the soles of his feet. When he turned he could see smears of his blood on the flat rock shining black under the moon. And then, the shafts of headlights stabbing the jutting sandstone outcroppings. He could hear the shouts of Montana Bob and Charlie Chaplin as they piloted their ATV over the rough ground.


Sid hadn't stolen the dog. He'd liberated the dog. He firmly believed this and this belief was the fundamental basis for the disagreement between himself and Montana Bob. Montana Bob thought ownership meant simple possession. Sid thought otherwise. He'd been in town for two months and his path to and from work took him twice daily through the alley. The dog would follow his passing through the chain- link and Sid would ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

There's plenty of grim material in these nine stories, making them suitable for fans of David Vann or Cormac McCarthy. The book's most memorable image for me is a pretty darn macabre one: a vulture sits on a man's shoulder "like some hideous overgrown parrot," pecking at the shotgun hole he blew in his head. At the same time, I could appreciate the rough beauty of Wink's prose. A few in this collection are a bit less compelling, but the stand-outs I've highlighted more than make up for them...continued

Full Review (830 words).

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Rebecca Foster).

Media Reviews

Kirkus
Starred Review. Myth and history color these highly satisfying fictions about the way men and women struggle to shape their lives.

Publishers Weekly
...through the transparency of his writing, at once delicate and brutally precise, the author gifts us with the wonderful feeling of knowing someone you've only met in a book.

Author Blurb Jim Harrison, author of Legends of the Fall
Callan Wink's debut is impressive indeed. Fine, oldfashioned, rich and juicy fiction. Weeks later I'm still living with the characters.

Author Blurb Joy Williams, author of The Visiting Privilege
Callan Wink seems to know well the stratagems and delusions of men's hearts. He also seems born and bred to shortstory mastery.

Author Blurb Ron Rash, author of Above the Waterfall
Callan Wink's stories remind me of expertly tied trout flies beautifully crafted, true to reality, and barbed. What a fine young writer.

Author Blurb Smith Henderson, author of Fourth of July Creek
Callan Wink has the wisdom to write only of the things that matter, and the talent to make these stories as fresh as the literary headwaters from which they come.

Author Blurb Thomas McGuane, author of Crow Fair
Callan Wink's fresh, urgent stories have an energy and propulsion that set them well apart from the cerebral finger painting of so much literary fiction. Here is a writer with a great big horizon.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

A Montana Reading List

Big Sky Country, Montana


Dog Run Moon is mostly set in Montana. Here is a selection of recommended books also set in Big Sky Country.


Winter: Notes from Montana by Rick Bass
Winter: Notes from Montana This is a memoir of the author's first winter spent in Yaak Valley, Montana with his wife, the artist Elizabeth Hughes, whose line drawings illuminate the book. With their dogs and alongside other isolated neighbors, they faced a hostile yet beautiful world and went back to the basics of survival: finding wood, and chopping and burning it. Like Annie Dillard's Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, Winter is full of lyrical passages about the sanctity of a simple life: "This valley shakes with mystery, with beauty, with secrets – and yet it gives up no answers."

Painted Horses by Malcolm...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Read-alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Dog Run Moon, try these:

  • Wyoming jacket

    Wyoming

    by JP Gritton

    Published 2019

    About this book

    A cross between Daniel Woodrell and Annie Proulx, Wyoming is about the stubborn grip of inertia and whether or not it is possible to live without accepting oneself.

  • Breaking Wild jacket

    Breaking Wild

    by Diane Les Becquets

    Published 2017

    About this book

    More by this author

    In captivating prose, Diane Les Becquets tells the story of one woman missing in the Colorado wilderness and another bent on discovering the missing woman's whereabouts, in an unforgettably moving and thrilling literary debut.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search read-alikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    by Sidik Fofana
    'Everybody got a story, everybody got a tale / Question is: Is it despair or prevail?' ...
  • Book Jacket: Fire Season
    Fire Season
    by Leyna Krow
    Fire Season is a thoroughly enjoyable novel that touches upon multiple genres and themes. It ...
  • Book Jacket: The Story of Russia
    The Story of Russia
    by Orlando Figes
    In The Story of Russia, British historian and writer Orlando Figes shares panoramic and ...
  • Book Jacket: Moth
    Moth
    by Melody Razak
    On August 15, 1947, India gained independence from the United Kingdom, and on that same day the ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Book Club Giveaway!
Win A Minor Chorus

A Minor Chorus

A debut novel from a rising literary star that brings the modern queer and Indigenous experience into sharp relief.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.