Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of The Brotherhood of Book Hunters by Raphael Jerusalmy

The Brotherhood of Book Hunters

by Raphael Jerusalmy

The Brotherhood of Book Hunters by Raphael Jerusalmy X
The Brotherhood of Book Hunters by Raphael Jerusalmy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2014, 256 pages

    Paperback:
    Nov 2014, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Davida Chazan
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A riveting tale of plots and counter-plots that takes place in Jerusalem, France, and Italy in the time of Louis XI.

The poet Francois Villon has been condemned to death by Louis XI, and to escape execution, he enters into a questionable relationship with a bishop in the pay of Louis XI. All Villon has to do to earn his freedom is to convince a printer and bookseller to move from Mayence to Paris, telling him that by doing so he'll be better able to circulate progressive ideas that aren't approved of in Rome. But, not surprisingly, Villon's task is not as simple as it sounds.

In this riveting tale of plots and counter-plots that takes place in Jerusalem, France, and Italy, Raphael Jerusalmy leaves readers out of breath and with their heads spinning.

THE BROTHERHOOD OF BOOK HUNTERS

The poet François Villon has been condemned to death by Louis XI, and to escape execution, he enters into a questionable relationship with a bishop in the pay of Louis XI. All Villon has to do to earn his freedom is to convince a printer and bookseller to move from Mayence to Paris, telling him that by doing so he'll be better able to circulate progressive ideas that aren't approved of in Rome. But, not surprisingly, Villon's task is not as simple as it sounds.

Excerpt from Chapter Three:

The Bishop of Paris crossed the street, cursing and grumbling, hopping to avoid the puddles. Two hooded clerics trotted beside him, trying in vain to protect him from the rain beneath a canvas canopy that the wind twisted and shook in all directions. The gutters of Rue Saint-Jacques carried mire and refuse, which the disgusted prelate prodded away with his episcopal crozier. Johann Fust rushed to open the door of his new shop while ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

In short, The Brotherhood of Book Hunters is one wild and ancient ride - emotionally, physically (for the characters) and literarily. I did find the characters hard to keep track of at times, and the many twists and schemes did get somewhat confusing. Aside from that, this is a beautifully written novel and a truly compelling read. I'd certainly recommend it to anyone who likes historical fiction with a good quest (religious or otherwise) and doesn't mind some poetry thrown in for good measure...continued

Full Review (576 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Davida Chazan).

Media Reviews

L'Express (France)
A strong novel of thrilling adventures, full of energy, of malice, of insolence, and of scholarship . . . The journey is epic.

L'Humanité (France)
This book is simply remarkable.

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. Literate. Brilliant. Entertaining.

Library Journal
[A] fabulously entertaining picaresque and a great portrait of Villon.

Publishers Weekly
[A]lthough the plot is cinematic and full of twists, the novel trips over its erratic prose, which can be hackneyed and difficult to follow. This is an ambitious second novel that never quite lives up to its potential.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Enigmas of the mid-15th Century

Throughout The Brotherhood of Book Hunters, Raphaël Jerusalmy makes his protagonist puzzle through conflicting evidence and deal with contradictory information. He also both doubts and finds reinforcements for his personal faith and beliefs. All of this fits nicely with the religious enigmas of the mid-15th Century, which is a particularly fascinating era.

Pope Paul IIOn the one hand, we have the invention of the printing press by Johannes Gutenberg (~1450) and Pope Paul II, who promoted the printing of books and documents, making education more accessible. However, alongside the religious texts produced, were works that could (and would) threaten the Catholic Church's core doctrines. With the ability to produce and distribute books on math, ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Brotherhood of Book Hunters, try these:

  • The Photographer's Wife jacket

    The Photographer's Wife

    by Suzanne Joinson

    Published 2017

    About this book

    More by this author

    A powerful story of betrayal: between father and daughter, between husband and wife, and between nations and people, set in the complex period between the two world wars.

  • The Death of Caesar jacket

    The Death of Caesar

    by Barry Strauss

    Published 2016

    About this book

    The exciting, dramatic story of one of history's most famous events—the death of Julius Caesar—now placed in full context of Rome's civil wars by eminent historian Barry Strauss.

We have 7 read-alikes for The Brotherhood of Book Hunters, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Real Americans
    Real Americans
    by Rachel Khong
    Rachel Khong's sophomore novel Real Americans is an intergenerational saga that questions racial and...
  • Book Jacket: A Short Walk Through a Wide World
    A Short Walk Through a Wide World
    by Douglas Westerbeke
    From the very first page of A Short Walk Through a Wide World, debut novelist (and librarian!) ...
  • Book Jacket: The Swans of Harlem
    The Swans of Harlem
    by Karen Valby
    Journalist Karen Valby's first book, The Swans of Harlem, introduces readers to the little-known ...
  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Who Said...

There is no science without fancy and no art without fact

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

R is a D B S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.