Reviews of Rain Reign by Ann Martin

Rain Reign

by Ann M. Martin

Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin X
Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Oct 2014, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Hearts will break and spirits will soar for this powerful story, brilliantly told.

Rose Howard is obsessed with homonyms. She's thrilled that her own name is a homonym, and she purposely gave her dog Rain a name with two homonyms (Reign, Rein), which, according to Rose's rules of homonyms, is very special. Not everyone understands Rose's obsessions, her rules, and the other things that make her different – not her teachers, not other kids, and not her single father.

When a storm hits their rural town, rivers overflow, the roads are flooded, and Rain goes missing. Rose's father shouldn't have let Rain out. Now Rose has to find her dog, even if it means leaving her routines and safe places to search.

Hearts will break and spirits will soar for this powerful story, brilliantly told from Rose's point of view.

1

Who I Am—A Girl Named Rose (Rows)

I am Rose Howard and my first name has a homonym. To be accurate, it has a homophone, which is a word that's pronounced the same as another word but spelled differently. My homophone name is Rows.

Most people say homonym when they mean homophone. My teacher, Mrs. Kushel, says this is a common mistake.

"What's the difference between making a mistake and breaking a rule?" I want to know.

"Making a mistake is accidental. Breaking a rule is deliberate."

"But if—" I start to say.

Mrs. Kushel rushes on. "It's all right to say 'homonym' when we mean 'homophone.' That's called a colloquialism."

"'Breaking' has a homonym," I tell her. "'Braking.'"

I like homonyms a lot. And I like words. Rules and numbers too. Here is the order in which I like these things:

1. Words (especially homonyms)

2. Rules

3. Numbers (especially prime numbers)

I'm going to tell you a story. It's a true ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
  1. Rose Howard narrates her own story. Discuss with students the difference between a "reliable" narrator and an "unreliable" one. Which is Rose? Why?

  2. Rose's list of homonyms is one of her most important possessions. Why do you think she keeps this list? There are probably easier ways to update it (on a computer, for instance). Why is Rose's list handwritten?

  3. Everyone is different; every person has particular habits and interests. And some people have differences that others see as "disabilities." What makes Rose different? Are her outbursts in class something she does on purpose?

  4. How does Rain help Rose? Describe the roles that pets play in the lives of people who love them.

  5. Do you believe Rose's father let ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Rose is the kind of fictional character that anyone would want to know. I realize Rain Reign is a young adult book, but some of the finest fiction of all time has been written for young adult audiences. This is one of them. There is something here that all readers – adults and young people – can benefit from. Should benefit from. I know I have...continued

Full Review (741 words).

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Donna Chavez).

Media Reviews

Booklist
Starred Review. Simplicity, clarity, and emotional resonance are hallmarks of Rose's first-person narrative, which offers an unflinching view of her world from her perspective... A strong story told in a nuanced, highly accessible way.

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. Martin has penned a riveting, seamless narrative in which each word sings and each scene counts.

School Library Journal
Starred Review. Though Rose's story is often heartbreaking, her matter-of-face narration provides moments of humor. Readers will empathize with Rose, who finds strength and empowerment through her unique way of looking at the world.

The Horn Book
Starred Review. Rose is a character we root for every step of the way. She is resilient, honest, and, in her own odd way, very perceptive; a most reliable narrator.

Reader Reviews

Riley (11 year old review I’m sorry lol)

Rain Reign
I think this book is great for kids because it teaches them people who have autism are just as equal. I watched a show about someone with autism and I learned a lot. Reading this book taught me more and I had a lot of empathy for Rose. This book is ...   Read More
Gypsy1192

Favorite Book EVER!!!
I love this book, and use it for almost every book report I write. This book helps show the meaning of how pets truly help and connect with their owners, and it also shows how much strength it takes to let go of our old ways and thinking strategies.
molly E. B.

The Story Of Beauty
This book was so good! I was crying in class and everyone just stared at me.
Hayli C.

amazing book but very sad.
To be honest i hate to read. But when i read this i wish there is a Reign Rain 2. Its a very sad book but i loved it. It made me cry.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Living With Someone With Autistic Disorder

For parents, siblings and partners of people who have been diagnosed with autistic disorder, something as simple as stopping at the quick mart for milk can be a challenge. Depending upon the person's level of tolerance for changes in routine, and conditions on the day, his/her response could range from nothing out of the ordinary; to minimal – perhaps rocking back and forth or mumbling – all the way to loud, progressively violent screaming, hitting, and worse. Of course every person with autistic disorder is unique, and will respond uniquely to situations, but even happy occasions such as birthday parties or dining out can devolve instantly and without warning into vehement, disruptive behaviors. Because autistic disorder (the ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Read-alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Rain Reign, try these:

  • Best Boy jacket

    Best Boy

    by Eli Gottlieb

    Published 2016

    About this book

    More by this author

    For fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time comes this landmark novel about autism, memory, and, ultimately, redemption.

  • Tall Story jacket

    Tall Story

    by Candy Gourlay

    Published 2012

    About this book

    In a novel packed with quirkiness and humor, Gourlay explores a touching sibling relationship and the clash of two very different cultures.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search read-alikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.