Reviews of The Islands at the End of the World by Austin Aslan

The Islands at the End of the World

by Austin Aslan

The Islands at the End of the World by Austin Aslan X
The Islands at the End of the World by Austin Aslan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2014, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2015, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Ellis Smith
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

In this fast-paced survival story set in Hawaii, electronics fail worldwide, the islands become completely isolated, and a strange starscape fills the sky. Leilani and her father embark on a nightmare odyssey from Oahu to their home on the Big Island. Leilani's epilepsy holds a clue to the disaster, if only they can survive as the islands revert to earlier ways. 

A powerful story enriched by fascinating elements of Hawaiian ecology, culture, and warfare, this captivating and dramatic debut from Austin Aslan is the first of two novels. The author has a master's degree in tropical conservation biology from the University of Hawaii at Hilo.

16 year–old Leilani, an epileptic, and her father are visiting Oahu, Hawaii, when global disaster strikes due to a cosmic event. Technology and power fail, and Hawaii is cut off from the world. Paradise disappears as the islands revert to traditional ways of survival. Chapter 10 opens as Waikiki disintegrates into chaos and Lei and Dad escape from their hotel.

CHAPTER 10

A piercing buzz rockets through my ears. White, flashing lights batter my eyelids. Oh, no, again? Already?

"Leilani, wake up! Come on." I can barely hear words over the buzz.

I'm being gently shaken. Dad is standing over me. It's still dark, but white lights

flicker on and off at regular intervals. The lanai door is wide open, and a gentle breeze soothes my sweaty face. I hear nothing but the ungodly alarm. A fire alarm?

"Time to go," he says. "Now!"

I sit up, scrambling up the muddy walls of the dark, murky pit where my mind has crouched. "What time is it? What day?"

"Nearly five o'...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Aslan writes with a great sense of suspense. Narrow escapes, chases and action-packed confrontations flow across the pages of the novel. But there is more here, too, than just adventure. Aslan creates a real bond between Leilani and her father, and a great respect grows between them as they trek through the islands to try to get home. "We're doing this together, okay?" Dad says. "We're right here with each other all the way through." So you root for them, not just because they are the good guys (which they are), but also because they are a symbol of the way love can expand and deepen, even under harsh circumstances...continued

Full Review (720 words).

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Tamara Ellis Smith).

Media Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. Aslan's debut honors Hawaii's unique cultural strengths - family ties and love of home, amplified by geography and history - while remaining true to a genre that affirms the mysterious grandeur of the universe waiting to be discovered. Ages 12+

Publishers Weekly
Starred Review. First in a planned two-book series, it's an exceptional adventure and survival story that's intimately tied to its setting. Ages 12–up.

School Library Journal
Starred Review. Aslan's debut is a riveting tale of belonging, family, overcoming perceived limitations, and finding a home.

Reader Reviews

student

Amazing
Book was so interesting and the action is unbearable.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Pele, Fire Goddess Of Hawaii

In The Islands at the End of the World, Leilani's grandfather tells her, "Pele's your guardian spirit, yeah? Goddess of lightning." Leilani, who suffers from epilepsy, replies, "Yeah. Goddess of the lightning in my head."

Pele Pele (pronounced "pell-ay") is the fire goddess of Hawaii, and is powerful and even destructive. According to legend, she resides in a crater in the volcano of Kilauea on Hawaii's Big Island. The story goes that she was one of six daughters and seven sons. She came from Tahiti, but the reasons for her travel from there to Hawaii vary from legend to legend. One says that she was restless and needed to move. Another says that she left Tahiti to flee from her sister, an ocean goddess, whose husband she had stolen. And ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Read-alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Islands at the End of the World, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search read-alikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of the Flower Fragrant Garden
    by Zhuqing Li

    A beautifully woven family memoir that coalesces into a vivid history of two very different Chinas.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.