Summary and book reviews of Winning Ways by Dick Lyles

Winning Ways

Four Secrets for Getting Great Results by Working Well With People

by Dick Lyles

Winning Ways by Dick Lyles X
Winning Ways by Dick Lyles
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2000, 93 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2001, 93 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Four simple yet powerful secrets that can transform anyone's style, resulting in more profitable relationships and more profits.

The greatest challenge for today's executives--and aspiring executives--isn't learning the latest software or mastering the global market. It's working with people--the crucial skill for anyone in business, whether they're in the mailroom or the boardroom, the customer-service desk or company headquarters.

Now Dick Lyles--a distinguished entrepreneur, author, and speaker--shares the "winning ways" that have made his own enterprises, including his work with bestselling business author Ken Blanchard, such a success. His four simple yet powerful secrets can transform anyone's style, resulting in more profitable relationships and more profits.

Filled with the kind of wisdom that is gained with decades of experience, this charming parable can make a tremendous difference anywhere that people have to work together.

Albert was livid. Absolutely livid.

"How could they?" he said to himself. "How could they ask me, how could they ask anyone with any intelligence whatsoever, to put up with this kind of treatment?"

The young man was seething as he slammed into his chair and assaulted his computer. If the mouse had been a live one, it surely would have suffered whiplash from Albert's jerking as he whipped it back and forth across the mouse pad to disengage his computer's screen saver and cause the menu display to pop onto the screen.

Albert quickly scrolled the cursor to his Internet browser icon and double clicked. He tapped his right heel up and down and glared off into the opposite side of his office cubicle, fuming as he waited for the computer to bring up his designated home page.

His anger slowly gave way to fear and a deep, gut-wrenching anxiety as he continued to reflect on what had just happened. His stomach began to tie up in knots as he realized that his second experience ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Author Blurb Spencer Johnson, Author, Who Moved My Cheese
In Winning Ways, Dick Lyles showed us how to work well with people. Now, in Winning Habits, he gives us the secrets to a lifetime of fulfillment.

Author Blurb Art Bauer, President and CEO, American Media Incorporated
The best book ever written about how to work well with others. All new employees should receive a copy the first day on the job.

Author Blurb Dr. Stephen R. Covey, Bestselling Author, Seven Habits of Highly Effective People
Dick Lyles brings a wealth of corporate experience and business savvy to his latest innovation, Winning Habits. Uniquely written through the eyes of fiction, this book does far more than entertain - it inductively teaches many profound and practical principles embodied in habits.

Author Blurb Ken Blanchard, Co-author, The One Minute Manager
Dick Lyles has done it again. In Winning Habits he has given us a simple but powerful message that can make us more effective not only at work, but also in our personal lives. Read it and start winning more.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Winning Ways, try these:

  • Good To Great jacket

    Good To Great

    by Jim Collins

    Published 2001

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    To find the keys to greatness, Collins's 21-person research team read and coded 6,000 articles, generated more than 2,000 pages of interview transcripts and created 384 megabytes of computer data in a five-year project. The findings will surprise many readers and, quite frankly, upset others.

  • Working With Emotional Intelligence jacket

    Working With Emotional Intelligence

    by Daniel Goleman

    Published 2000

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Goleman reveals the skills that distinguish star performers in every field, from entry-level jobs to top executive positions.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.