Reviews of Atlantis Found by Clive Cussler

Atlantis Found

A Dirk Pitt Novel

by Clive Cussler

Atlantis Found by Clive Cussler X
Atlantis Found by Clive Cussler
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 1999, 544 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2001, 600 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A research ship manned by Dirk Pitt and members of the U.S. National Underwater Marine Agency is set upon and nearly sunk by and impossibility - a vessel that should have died fifty-six years before.

I've always had tremendous fun with Dirk Pitt, but nothing has given me more pleasure than the opportunity to send him to that most fabled of lost lands, Atlantis, and virtually reinvent aspects of its civilization. I hope you have as good a time reading ATLANTIS FOUND as I had writing it!" ---Clive Cussler

September 1858: An Antarctic whaler stumbles upon an aged wreck, its grisly frozen crew guarding crates of odd antiquities---and a skull carved from black obsidian.

March 2001: A team of anthropologists gazes in awe at a wall of strange inscriptions, moments before a blast seals them deep within the Colorado rock.

April 2001: A research ship manned by Dirk Pitt and members of the U.S. National Underwater Marine Agency is set upon and nearly sunk by and impossibility---a vessel that should have died fifty-six years before.

Pitt knows that somehow all these incidents are connected, and his investigations soon land him deep into an ancient mystery with very modern consequences, up against a diabolical enemy unlike any he has ever known, and racing to save not only his own life but the future of the world itself.

The trap is set. The clock is ticking. And only one man stands between Earth and Armageddon...

Impact
7120 B.C.
What is now Hudson Bay, Canada

The intruder came from BEYOND. A nebulous celestial body as old as the universe itself, it had been born in a vast cloud of ice, rocks, dust, and gas when the outer planets of the solar system were formed 4.6 billion years ago. Soon after its scattered particles had frozen into a solid mass one mile in diameter, it began streaking silently through the emptiness of space on an orbital voyage that carried it around a distant sun and halfway to the nearest stars again, a journey lasting many thousands of years from start to finish.

The comet's core, or nucleus, was a conglomeration of frozen water, carbon monoxide, methane gas, and jagged blocks of metallic rocks. It might accurately be described as a dirty snowball hurled through space by the hand of God. But as it whirled past the sun and swung around on its return path beyond the outer reaches of the solar system, the solar radiation reacted with its nucleus and a ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

School Library Journal
There are plenty of technologically advanced gadgets and machines, along with secretive movements to add a thriller quality to the plot. Cussler writes himself into the story as a minor player in the mayhem, poking fun at his own writing. This book provides plenty of adventure, as well as top-rate entertainment.

Kirkus Reviews
..... Cussler knows how to distract us from bad prose and ludicrous protagonists with lots of maritime facts, albeit many of them imaginary. He begins splendidly here, with a comet wiping out nearly all human life 7,000 years ago, shifting the tectonic plates, bringing on the second Ice Age, and leading to the sinking of Atlantis in Antarctica. Dirk Pitt, naturally, rediscovers the lost island while, in a second plotline, undercover Nazis reappear with hopes of establishing the Fourth Reich. Need we mention that Pitt's longstanding love affair with dazzling, cinnamon-haired Loren Smith reignites? Cussler fans will have no complaint as the Master revs up his novel to 40 knots per hour and sweeps the reader into the fabled past.

Publishers Weekly
Cussler's 15th Pitt adventure (after Flood Tide) is a rampaging story of history, technology and heroism, written with Cussler's typical make-no-apologies enthusiasm. For muscle-flexing, flag-waving, belief-suspending fare, he has no equal.

Reader Reviews

Tonya

Not Quite done but...
I am still reading this book, and I find it fun, thrilling, and an intriguely written story. It keeps you reading from chapter to chapter. If I didn't have such a busy life, I would be done by now. If you like the legends of Atlantis, along with ...   Read More
Ashley Anne Brown

This was my first Clive Cussler book, and I couldn't put it down. I've always been in love with myths and legends, and stories about Atlantis is no exception. I'm in love with reading and Clive Cussler has a brand new fan.
I've always dreamed of ...   Read More
Nick forshaw

This book is yet another remarkable piece of work by mr Cussler. As with all his works (with an exception or 2) I was completely absorbed from the begining to the end.All the other reviews say it all......So I shall move on to GOLDEN BUDDHA the first...   Read More
Sean Johanasburg

It's Tops, if you haven't read this bok you have got a problem, READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Read-alikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Clive Cussler

If you liked Atlantis Found, try these:

  • Cuba jacket

    Cuba

    by Stephen Coonts

    Published 2000

    About this book

    More by this author

    A succession struggle ignited by the impending death of Fidel Castro is the catalyst for Stephen Coonts' latest suspense thriller.

  • Rainbow Six jacket

    Rainbow Six

    by Tom Clancy

    Published 1999

    About this book

    More by this author

    A group of terrorists like none the world has ever encountered before - so extreme that their success could literally mean the end of life on this earth as we know it.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search read-alikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.